We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Anderson
Ranked #60 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Laois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed in this hotel while visiting the City of Milan for two nights. Personally I did not like Milan City, it was dirty and I felt very unsafe, constantly being bothered and approached by people trying to flog things or beggers.
However, this hotel was a pleasant suprise and looks nothing from the outside. Inside this hotel is hip, moderm and very clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent.
I would however, recommend that you request a room on a high level as per other reviews of this hotel the lower floors do indeed shake when a tram passes. But all in all this is a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    657
    127
    29
    16
See reviews for
151
582
89
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed here for a business and leisure trip for 4 nights. First off, we flew into Bergamo and the bus transfer drops you off just across the square which is very convenient. It is very close to Central Station which as a tourist is not a stunning location but it is well connected by public transport. The hotel looks nothing special from the outside but inside it has a modern boutique style feel to it. The rooms are spacious enough, the bathrooms are fine although perhaps a little too much crammed in (the shower seems to soak the whole room!). One recommendation would be to request a high floor as on the second floor there was some noise from trains underneath but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Being a first time customer with StarHotels, I’m a customer for life. Their inventive Italian design in the room, the sleek Italian woods, and marvelous staff were just the beginning of the amenities that you get at this hotel. Milan is a city that many travel to on business…and not so much for leisure, therefore being close to the rail station is very ideal. The neighborhood is a bit blah, but the train station is literally across the street! The breakfast that is offered each morning and the assortment of newspapers is very inviting and the staff is very multi-lingual and ready to assist you at a moments notice. The air-conditioning was quite exceptional, so was the water pressure in the shower, and the deluxe bathroom with OVERsized full body mirrors!
If you are to stay in Milan – the StarHotels Anderson will cover all of your needs…and do it quite economically!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nateairnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We staied at Andersons for two nights. This is a really nice hotel and the interior of the rooms are super nice. The locetion is not really down town, but if you take the Metro down there it's really no trouble (the central station is right next door). Very clear and seemed very new inside. Can look a little borring from the outside, but once you get inside, it's all forgotten. I have staied there twice and was very happy with staying there both times. Was surprisingly quiet concidering it's placed right next to the station.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravnholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Despite it's lacklustre facade, the anderson is a fantastic looking hotel internally, the lobby is smart, the rooms are simple and classy. The beds comfortable and the quality of products good.

If I had a small gripe the breakfast was very basic.

In many ways the location is ideal, it is right beside the station and directly opposite the shuttle bus stop from Malpensa, which is probably the cheapest and easiest way to get from the airport.

However, it is a good 25 minute walk in to the middle of town and as with a lot of major cities the area around the station is not the best. It is fine during the day but I would have felt a little uneasy after dark, a problem that we solved by using the relatively inexpensive Milanese taxis.

I'd definitely use it again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readingmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was the end of a ten day long trip and at least nine hotels. This was the best by far. AC was cold, room was modern and clean, robes, slippers, different lighting for your mood, multiple varieties of pillows for you comfort offered including certain types of neck contour pillow, bed was GREAT! Breakfast was delicious...eggs, bacon, cereal...the works! We also ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was amazing. We were sad to see there was only one hotel in the US, but we will try the one in Paris...perfect hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachdo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

My stay in this hotel was pretty good but it was more like a three stars rather than four.

Although the bell boys were nice and helpful, it was weird that they are inside downstairs, therefore the hardest part that is the stairs you need to do it by yourself...

Perhaps it’s a standard in Italy but I was shocked when I saw they charge 5 Euros every time you call room service doesn’t matter if you’re ordering a cola or a full meal, the things thru room service are already overpriced, why this fee ?

The buffet breakfast was small and short in choice, but fresh and the staff was nice and helpful!

When I made the reservation they said they had a valet parking that cost 25 Euros per day, when I arrived I discovered they just hire some company to park the car in their deposit 400 meters away (they said), fine by me, what I didn’t appreciated was that they did 3km with the car, It’s not about the distance it’s just that I don’t like lies big or small!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#81 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#69 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#46 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#15 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Anderson

Property: Starhotels Anderson
Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Milan
#46 Business Hotel in Milan
#51 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#54 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Anderson 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Anderson Hotel in Milan is located near the city centre, directly opposite the Centrale Train Station. True to its location, our 4 star hotel in Milan has a metropolitan lounge atmosphere and is a landmark hotel for the Italian fashion industry.Staying here means it's easy for you to reach the historical centre and explore the most exclusive shops and Galleria, fashionable spots and the Navigli. The Starhotels Anderson in Milan features 106 contemporary rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms for up to a total of 70 people. Our Fitness Room is open 24 hours a day. Few restaurants in Milan fuse dining and design quite like the Black Restaurant by Eataly at the Anderson. Take in the cool, minimalist interior as you dip into an artfully prepared menu of international and local dishes, all complemented by an extensive wine selection. Or, for a relaxed morning coffee, a light snack or classic cocktails, the stylish Black Bar is a Milan favourite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Anderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Anderson Milan
Starhotels Anderson Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing