We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cavour
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
210
343
135
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
343
135
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom mirrorpremium roomfashion districtbrera districta short taxi ridehigh techwithin walking distanceexcellent locationrooms are comfortablemajor attractionsenjoyable staythe breakfast arearecommend this hotelnice hotelstayed two nightseach morningil duomo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cavour in late April 2011. We were flying out the next day but wanted to stay closer to city center as opposed to near the airport with nothing to do. This was the 6th hotel we'd stayed in during our 2 week trip (4 cities). I read the reviews about the rooms being dated and small but, having traveled in Europe before, I was not concerned with the size of the room/bath. The room was actually not as small as I'd envisioned. The actual accommodations, while definitely dated, were more than adequate. The only downside to the room was the stale cigarette smell. Our problem was with the gentlemen at the reception desk. There was no offer to take our bags upon check in. There was no offer of an area map. The only internet was at a computer in the lobby, but it was not working at the time. Any time we left or returned, we were not greeted. No one asked us if we would like recommendations. When we checked out the next morning, no one offered to call a cab or asked if we needed help with transportation. Just in general, we felt that we were an inconvenience and a bother to any of the gentlemen behind the desk. And, with travel down and stiff competition for tourist dollars, I would not think that the hotel could continue to employ staff who aren't presenting a welcoming atmosphere. We definitely would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Sirs,
you are right. We doubled our computer in the lobby and changed into a more stabel system, we also doubled the no smoking room but our reception, that is very efficient about precision in his work, is not proactive and not welcoming as it should be.
We promise to work on it.

Thank you for help

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I had been told that the Milanese were snobbish--of course, we were told this by Venetians, so. . . the staff behind the reception desk at the Cavour proved to be friendly and helpful, giving us excellent directions to restaurants close by and allowing us late check-out since one of our tours was scheduled to end later than the check-out time allowed. The restaurant staff didn't prove quite as friendly. We arrived at the restaurant after a really long day of sightseeing, and although it was pretty much empty, we were asked if we had reservations. When we said, "No," the host looked down his nose at us and then proceeded to seat us. The food wasn't that great and the service was bad. I had heard that the waiters at European restaurants don't approach the table unless they are summoned because they want to give the guests their privacy, and that was certainly true here despite the fact that there were only about three tables occupied. Prices in the restaurant and bar were high. Breakfast, which was included in our reservation, was good though, and the waiters much more attentive. However, breakfast is served in a different location than dinner.
Oh yes, and the room itself, while nothing special was comfortable, not great, but about what you expect from an Italian hotel, which means clean if somewhat old, large enough for a couple to comfortably move around, an adequate bathroom, nothing special.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff at the reception desk--they are very accommodating.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

We thank you very much for your suggestions. We are sorry about service in restaurant. What happened is very unusual and we absolutely want to investigate about you. We thank you again for your help

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

More "modern" style hotel which the kids loved. Rooms small but very clean. Only downside is that they seemed to smell of Lysol and smoke.

Breakfast was very good. First place we stayed that brought each coffee drinker a small pot of coffee AND a pot of steamed milk!! So good!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuraMater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

We thank you very much for your review from where We try to learn more and more. We are very happy you appreciated our service at breakfast. Our family managed important luxury hotel and we are very happy when somebody is able to appreciate some particular

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel offers comfortable accommodation with large and comfortable beds. The bathroom was good (if a little small). The hotel is undergoing restoration so the room we stayed in had a slightly worn carpet but overall the room was highly satisfactory. Breakfast was good, particularly the coffee. It takes about 10mins walk to the Duomo and main shopping district. Look out for the little restaurants close by in particular Cafe Manzoni and La Baguetta which offer better value for money than the restaurants located near the Duomo and in the main shopping quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenMclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel was good enough. We stayed in a hypo allergenic room and it was very clean. The breakfast was good and the location of the hotel is excellent for the shoppers:)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Cavour and we hope to have some new services to surprise you during your next stay in Milan

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews