We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, strategic location, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #80 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, strategic location, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Hotel Cavour is just a walking distance from the shopping district in Milan. We only stayed there for one night during our transit home from Venice.

I was surprised that the hotel room was quite spacious compared to other same class of hotel in other european cities. The food was good, service was not bad and close to shopping area, eateries and most importantly its value for money. I highly recommend for those who are in Milan for a shopping trip to stay at Hotel Cavour.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakeem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    290
    112
    35
    12
See reviews for
90
202
33
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed one night at the hotel Cavour since I had exams at the British Council which is just at its doorstep. The location is very good, near the fashion district - so ended up shopping rather than revising!
The hotel is ok, clean, the staff is friendly, bar services available but costly, the overall cost for the night was fair given the location.
The breakfast is included and better than the Italian average, it included eggs and (stricky) bacon, lovely fresh fruit salad and pastries.
My only complaint is that the bed and pillows were far too hard - for my taste at least - and the room a bit cold, despite the heating

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalliWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

we stayed for 3 nites last week-very nice room(a little small but fine for 3 nites) great breakfast and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel previously and was there again for a quick business meeting. Good comfortable hotel - close to all the amenities and tram stop / Metro. Checked in late - but the service was great efficient and swift. Nice room, clean and comfortable - had a nice sleepful night.

In the morning the breakfast was good - good selection of cheese / meat / breads / cereals / fruits / juices and yogurts - plentiful choice. Can have any types of coffees - Americano / Capucho / Expresso - and you can have as many as you want.


Had a good experience - if you get a good deal at this hotel - definately book it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed with 3 University friends. 2 had single rooms and I shared a twin room. The twin room was a good size and quiet. The bathroom was clean with over bath shower. There were plenty hangers and space to hang clothes. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. The bar area had comfortable seating and was a good place for cup of tea or drinks. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel as excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cavour in late April 2011. We were flying out the next day but wanted to stay closer to city center as opposed to near the airport with nothing to do. This was the 6th hotel we'd stayed in during our 2 week trip (4 cities). I read the reviews about the rooms being dated and small but, having traveled in Europe before, I was not concerned with the size of the room/bath. The room was actually not as small as I'd envisioned. The actual accommodations, while definitely dated, were more than adequate. The only downside to the room was the stale cigarette smell. Our problem was with the gentlemen at the reception desk. There was no offer to take our bags upon check in. There was no offer of an area map. The only internet was at a computer in the lobby, but it was not working at the time. Any time we left or returned, we were not greeted. No one asked us if we would like recommendations. When we checked out the next morning, no one offered to call a cab or asked if we needed help with transportation. Just in general, we felt that we were an inconvenience and a bother to any of the gentlemen behind the desk. And, with travel down and stiff competition for tourist dollars, I would not think that the hotel could continue to employ staff who aren't presenting a welcoming atmosphere. We definitely would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Sirs,
you are right. We doubled our computer in the lobby and changed into a more stabel system, we also doubled the no smoking room but our reception, that is very efficient about precision in his work, is not proactive and not welcoming as it should be.
We promise to work on it.

Thank you for help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I had been told that the Milanese were snobbish--of course, we were told this by Venetians, so. . . the staff behind the reception desk at the Cavour proved to be friendly and helpful, giving us excellent directions to restaurants close by and allowing us late check-out since one of our tours was scheduled to end later than the check-out time allowed. The restaurant staff didn't prove quite as friendly. We arrived at the restaurant after a really long day of sightseeing, and although it was pretty much empty, we were asked if we had reservations. When we said, "No," the host looked down his nose at us and then proceeded to seat us. The food wasn't that great and the service was bad. I had heard that the waiters at European restaurants don't approach the table unless they are summoned because they want to give the guests their privacy, and that was certainly true here despite the fact that there were only about three tables occupied. Prices in the restaurant and bar were high. Breakfast, which was included in our reservation, was good though, and the waiters much more attentive. However, breakfast is served in a different location than dinner.
Oh yes, and the room itself, while nothing special was comfortable, not great, but about what you expect from an Italian hotel, which means clean if somewhat old, large enough for a couple to comfortably move around, an adequate bathroom, nothing special.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff at the reception desk--they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
We thank you very much for your suggestions. We are sorry about service in restaurant. What happened is very unusual and we absolutely want to investigate about you. We thank you again for your help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Manin
Hotel Manin
#84 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#62 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#58 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#93 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Manzoni
Hotel Manzoni
#36 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#76 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 125 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing