We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cavour
Ranked #86 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had bad experience with this hotel. What's worse, I was not alone. From arrival at the hotel we were told that we are in problem. Although we had a great time in Milan and surroundings very thought of hotel and unresolved problem makes us depressed. Worse still, it was weekend. On Monday, the problem is solved, but late enough that we ran off the plane and we had to look for alternative transport, which included not only costs but also the arrival of the next morning. Our impression was that the hotel was the wrong choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your comment. Unfortunately it is not possibile to understand what was wrong so if you like to write to me to manager@hotelcavour.it explainig your eperience we shall be realy greatfull. We also understood there was a transport problem and as transport is not organized by our Hotel we hope, maybe, the problem was in the organization of your journey by your travle agent.
Anyway we remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    304
    117
    35
    13
See reviews for
94
213
38
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Within walking distance to all the visitor attractions. Not far from the main train station. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. I would stay definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onerenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment. We hope to have soon the opportunity to make your stay in Milan a really enjoyable experience. We remain at your disposal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I stayed over new year for 3 nights in an executive suite. Booked through expedia and found rooms were very reasonably priced and only a slight price increase to book an executive suite over a regular room - a decision we will never regret. Fantastic decor, technology and amenities plus immaculately kept and cleaned daily. Unfortunately my partner was unwell during our trip which meant we ordered room service a couple of times rather than going out - the food was average. Presentation seemed to be more important than taste. However there are plenty of alternatives in the local area.
Staff were friendly enough, especially the front desk agents. One gentleman was particularly helpful when our key card to our room stopped working.
Location was great, only a short walk away from pretty much everything.
Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you stay in an executive suite!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahjade2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your kind comment very helpful for us. I promise We shall do our best to improve again our service and we hope to have soon the opportunity to let you have an enjoyable stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The location is quite central thus for visiting Milan center it is very convenient. The breakfast is nice, and the staff is quite friendly. However, the room is tiny, as well as the shower. For the amenities it is better to bring your own kit as the quality offered is quite poor. Overall I think it is quite overpriced and is more qualified for a three star hotel level.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelhabitss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comments and we shall take note for our next renewal works. In the meantime we suggest you to try our new executive rooms. You will find at leat 35 square meters room at 5 stars level.
We hope to have soon the opportunity to make enjoyable your stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a fairly smart hotel in a convenient location not far from the city centre. It was comfortable and reasonably stylish. The staff were helpful and polite. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but the breakfast was good. There is a metro station a short distance away and tram stops almost right ourside, but you can walk to the cathedral and to the castle from here. My only mild complaint was that it was too warm in my room and apparently no way to turn down the heating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodriT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment. we are happy you enjoied your stay at Hotel Cavour. About temperature, every room has a panel control that permit to increase or decerase temperature of 3 celsius grade from default temperature. If you used this control unsuccesfully, please write to me at manager@hotelcavour.it Indicating your room number so we can check if there is a misfunction in the room you occupied.
We hope to have soon and again the opportunity to make enjoyable your staying in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed two nights on business, although we didn't arrive till early on the second day due to travel issues. The staff didn't seems to understand that some people travel outside normal working hours. Went straight to breakfast, which was ok, staff could have been friendlier. Lots of Italians staying at the hotel, I like staying where the locals stay. The hotel felt a bit Ma and Pa, It was clean and tidy but just felt old and warn, even though you couldn't see it. Everything worked, bit funky to get online. It wouldn't be my first choose if we go back to Milan, which is a great city, I love Milan. Go to the south side where the tow canals meet, great for food and drink etc...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your comment that give us the opportunity to understand where we have to improve our service. We hope to have again the chance let you you have a pleasant stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a very good, and very well-located city centre hotel, close to all of the main attractions in Milan. The hotel is very well appointed, and the staff are very polite, helpful and efficient. I had read good reviews of the breakfast previously, and so I was a little underwhelmed by the actual breakfast I had in the hotel, although I would stress the food was always good, with lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Overall this was a very good hotel for a 4-day break in the city and I'd happily consider booking here again if I ever go back to Milan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwiftJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contebenso, Direttore at Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment Always helpfull for us. We are happy you apreciated our service and we promise you to do our best to make more and more enjoyable your stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Manin
Hotel Manin
#89 of 428 in Milan
625 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#50 of 428 in Milan
953 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#39 of 428 in Milan
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#36 of 428 in Milan
172 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#108 of 428 in Milan
654 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#27 of 428 in Milan
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavour

Property: Hotel Cavour
Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#76 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 125 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing