We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Ranked #46 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in hotel many times, the hotel is in a great location in front of metro line and right on Corso Buenes Aires which is great for a stroll and shopping, ten minute walk to the central station.
Some of the rooms and corridors are pretty cramped and it seems that some rooms are old andin need of a refurbishment. The hotel has developed from a converted traditional housing apartment block and as its not a purpose built hotel block - hence the maze of corridors and varing rooms. Rooms are functional with everything you need, decor is " traditional style" you can ask for shower or rooms with bathtub, restaurant can be very busy for breakfast but the breakfast itself is very good by Italian hotel standards , good choice and variety. Hotel seems to always have a very mixed clientele from tourists of every nationality to business travellers, during events and trade fairs prices are expensive but it seems every hotel in Milan is. In summary, good location, good service, recommendable if you need accomodation in Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that your recent stay was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you very soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

great hotel great location just in front of the metro, free wifi in the rooms and in the common areas, free access to the gym, to the indoor pool and fitness center facilities, great food... what to ask more?? my favourite hotel in Italy I'll come back soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear such praise from you and we are happy to know that the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles met your expectations. We would love to have you back very soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for those who want to shop and take the metro to see the sights. For joggers there is a good gym with one running mat and nearby there is park Pubblici Indro Montanelli with a 1.6 km track around the park. From the airport take the train to the central station, and then metro to Lima station. The hotel is on the station - meaning that you can hear the trains arriving and departing which you may want to take into account by asking for a room in the upper floors. The hotel has been converted from a palace, so ot has character, and feels Italian in a positive way. They have occasional heating/ air conditioning challenges like other Italian hotels, but at least they try their very best to accomodate changes in weather conditions. There is a lovely restaurant nearby, Noblesse Oblige, locanda del mare, in the corner of Via Franchino Gaffurio and Via Errico Petrella, with delicious Italian food, and tasty decorations.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank meriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Proprietario at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are very pleased to know that you had a very good stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. The hotel is well located indeed next to the subway station. All of the hotel’s rooms are soundproofed in order to allow good night sleep. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities to enjoy to including a Fitness Centre & SPA, Wi-Fi, iPad Corner, Internet Point, and many more. We are happy that you liked our services.
The hotel also offers an outstanding panoramic restaurant La Terrazza located on the 6th floor of the hotel where you can enjoy excellent Italian dishes ( fresh meat, fish, home-made pasta and delicious home-made desserts) prepared by our expert Chef Moreno. It’s a pity that you missed it. Try it next time you visit us and we are sure you will be satisfied.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

stayed here for the furniture fair ,excellent location right outside lima station on m1 metro line . staff is excellent in the entire hotel , cristina at reception and max at bar ,

rooms are seriously out dated and need renovations urgently

pricing is ridiculous during the fair and all hotels in milan are in a rip off mode !!

great to have free wifi .

breakfast was good considering the other hotels i have stayed earlier in milan and stunning views ( although distant ) of alps was nice .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a good stay in Milan. We will surely share you nice feedback about our staff members with the rest of team as we are pleased that they delivered an outstanding service. Location is very good indeed, right in front of the subway station to get easy access around the city. The hotel has been recently renovated. Each room has been individually decorated with classic style and Italian furniture. We are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectation.
We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our free Wi-fi service and breakfast.
Thank you for having chosen the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

great hotel in Milan best hotel i stayed in Italy ever...very clean room with coffee and tea maker, helpful staff, excellent breakfast served in the roof top terrace, free wifi access, I took advantage of the free laundry service as well...great jobs guys!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us in Milan and we really hope you choose us again on your next visit to the fashion city.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I booked three nights, but was extremely disappointed:
1. The room was obviously a transformed broom closet, it was so tiny, I could barely move.
2. The room was not properly cleaned. I found a used chewing gum on my desk and left it there to see, if they would remove it. It stayed there all three days! Same goes for the floor, which was never clean.
3. I had a so called very calm room facing the courtyard. The noise did not come from the yard, but from the neighbouring room, from where you could hear every fart. Furthermore, I had to witness a date between two employees; the noise came from the linen closet next door and was obviously of sexual origin.
4. The breakfast was ok, but no cut fresh fruit, no margarine for people with cholesterol problems. The cheeses were of cheapest quality, so was the ham. This did not drive me wild to book dinner in the restaurant.
5. The employees were friendly in a professional way with no commitments. Rather unitalian, according to my experience. Italians are usually very warm-hearted people.
6. After breakfast, you had to wait at least 5 minutes for the elevator. There was only one small elevator to and from there.
7. After payment and checkout, nobody said goodbye, forget about thank you
One positive aspect: There W_LAN was working 100% without any problem.

Room Tip: My suggestion: Don't be demanding, you have to be modest in thsi hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meisen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles and for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear that you stay did not entirely meet your expectations.
The architecture of the hotel dates back to the 19th century. The hotel has been completely renovated few years ago while preserving the original structure. Each room is sound proof, has been individually designed and differs per color and size. We have a very strict cleaning policy as we do understand the importance of it.
For breakfast you can enjoy fresh fruits and local cheese and ham. We are sorry that the choice did not satisfy your taste. Thank you for your recommendation about margarine, we will definitely take it into consideration.
Our skilled Chef Moreno Ungaretti prepares every day some of the finest dishes with fresh and home made ingredients. It is a pity that you couldn’t try as we are sure you would have enjoyed it.
The hotel has 3 elevators on the 6th floor where the restaurant is located in order to allow easy in & out access to the breakfast room.
We place great emphasis on delivering an outstanding service as we truly believe that a smile can make a difference. We do apologize if we were not able to do so.
We do hope to welcome you again to Milan.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I travelled to Milan in March 2013, it quickly became apparent that the hotel choices in Milan were either 5 star and expensive or 4 stars and below which in our opinion all looked as though a 1 to 2 star description would have been far more accurate for what the hotels were offering for their prices.

The Best Western Hotel Galles was a rare find. An excellent location to the subway, short walk (10-15mins) to a wine store, restaurants, markets, other retail stores. The staff were friendly and assisted us in day trips to Turin and things to do in Milan city. The breakfast was particularly good, with a mix of traditional western (bacon, eggs etc) with an Italian twist by adding Italian sausages as well as a large selection of pastries and a variety of croissants and the biggest jar of Nutella we have seen in our lives - complete with a ladle! The view from our table of the Italian Alps were stunning!

The negatives; ambulance sirens can be heard of an afternoon/evening and it's not in the heart of the city, however with the subway station so close, you are able to get there within 10-15 mins (including the walk to the station and the journey to the attractions and walking out of the subway at the destination).

This hotel is the great combination of price, value and service. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakshami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles and we hope to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,848 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 426 in Milan
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#81 of 426 in Milan
2,659 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 426 in Milan
1,332 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#17 Spa Hotel in Milan
#40 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Family Hotel in Milan
#56 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £90 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles is located in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important and lively shopping street of Milan, just in front of the Metro Lima and only 10 minutes walking from Central Station. Situated in an elegant fully restored eighteenth-century building, the hotel has 200 rooms among classic, superior, suite and family, each one individually designed with its own particular style, elegance and unique personality to make your stay as comfortable as ever before. The hotel is perfect for business and leisure guests, thanks to its many facilities offered: enjoy a rich buffet breakfast with a wonderful view over Milan, in our restaurant "La Terrazza," to start a brand new day in the most perfect way or enjoy a full relaxing day in our Fitness Centre & SPA with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and massage centre. Furthermore, there are free Wi-Fi and Sky in all rooms and common areas and a useful Internet Point and iPad Corner located in the Lobby. On sunny days, you can enjoy a drink of our American Bar in the garden or relax on our roof-top terraces, perfect for sunbathing or for an aperitif with your friends. Upon request and at extra charge, garage, meeting centre, bike rental and special rooms for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing