We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Ranked #50 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is directly on the Corso Buenos Aires in Milan, a great place for tourists to stay. The hotels closer into the city are great but astronomical prices given the location. Some of the suburbs of Milan look a bit shabby and I imagine some tourists get caught out booking cheaper hotels in these areas. The staff were very helpful, particularly as we had to hire some items when the airline lost our bag. A beautiful bathroom with shower bug enough for two with waterfall shower head. The spa area in the basement was exceptional with 'mood showers' and a Turkish bath. A welcome relief the morning after the night before! For the price we paid, ~£80/night, it was amazing value, particularly as the breakfast included was phenomenal. It's the best range and quality I've come across in a while. The location is also fantastic, literally on top of the subway station at 'Lima' - a few stops/7 mins to the Duomo. The cafes along the Corso Buenos Aires are great for late night drinks & food. Will be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireK87150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while watching a concert at the San Siro. The location of the hotel is perfect for the metro with a station directly outside on the m1 line and 4 stops from the duomo. Central station is a 10 minute walk away. The hotel has fantastic leisure facilities, an medium sized indoor pool and good spa facilities the highlight being the massage chairs. The rooftop terrace is a massive plus, with great views and a fantastic cocktail list. Breakfast provided a fantastic choice and the available times meant there was no need for an early rise!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is very nice with friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities and a good breakfast choice. The location is great with a tube stop right outside which means getting around Milan is very easy! It has a small pleasant swimming pool and fitness area, the highlight being the massage chairs! It is between €5-10 for a taxi from the central train station but its an easy 10 minute walk. We had cocktails on the roof one evening which was lovely (but you do need to remember the insect repellant otherwise you get eaten alive when out a night!)

The only bad side was that you could hear the tube rumbling from our room. It starts at 5-6am ish and goes on fairly late so if you are a light sleeper, this will probably cause you problems. There was also maintenance work going on at the hotel during our stay so there was a lot of noise from that when we went back to the room during the afternoon for any reason.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked a spacious room (for three) in this hotel and had a great time. Could use some better instructions to find the garage (quite expensive at € 26/day). Very large bathroom and a/c works just fine and silently. We were aware of the noise from the street, but after closing the window better that improved. Guess you cannot blame the hotel for Italians cruising the streets with their roaring motor cycles in the midst of night, ... Breakfast is above average, could use some fresh fruits and juices. Friendly staff at the reception and in the hotel bar as well, serving apperitivo (snacks). Metro entrance for red line to e.g. il Duome is just outside the hotel. Hotel is situated facing Corso Buenos Aires which is a busy shopping street. You will find a lot of chain shops and boutiques, ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were guests of the hotel in May 2013. After taking the 5 Euro bus from the Bergamo Airport to the Central Station of Milan, we walked like 800 meters till the hotel. It’s a reasonable distance to cover by foot, with a medium luggage.
The metro station is just 20 meters outside the hotel and basically you can go anywhere from there.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff is very helpful.
The breakfast was great! Starting with the coffee, croissants, fruits etc...all of them were great. The breakfast room is located at the 6th floor and gives you some views to the mountains.
My room was at the 2nd floor facing the main street. I could hear the metro every 30 second after 7 pm, but if you are tired you will not even notice it. It’s not that the building is shaking; it’s just something that you have to get accustomed to.

So, plus points go to: location, easy access to public transportation, staff, breakfast, free Wi-Fi, clean rooms.
Minuses: the heating in the room was just not working properly. I couldn’t adjust the temperature from the panel. At the reception they have put the temperature to 26 Celsius, but the room was still just at 20 degrees, which is a little bit too cold for my needs. You can just adjust the AC from the room...
At the breakfast we had tomatoes just once in 5 days...

I haven’t used the spa and the pool so I can’t say anything about that.

I would stay there if going in Milan, that’s for sure!

Room Tip: good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rareswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read your lovely comment. We are always eager to hear what guests enjoy during their stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles so we can improve the service we deliver. We do understand the inconvenience you experienced with the AC/heating system. Unfortunately as per Italian Law, the heating system must be switch off by mid- April as the weather during that season in Milan starts to heat up. However this year Milan underwent a very unpredictable season and in May the weather was still quite cold. We really do hope to welcoming you in the future with better weather conditions so you can enjoy a lovely spring in Milan. Warmest Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is very very good and recommend it to anybody The staff are very welcoming and always happy to help Place is immaculate clean The breakfast is very good The spa facilities and swimming pool is fantastic Very close to the Metro Which is very easy to use Only costs €1.50 to use. I would recommend going to Lake Como Train takes about one hour and costs €4.50 Over all had a great time in Milan in Lake Como and the hotel very good

Stayed: July 2013
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to know that our staff deliver an outstanding service. Thank you again for your kind words and We look forward to your next visit to Milan. Sincerely, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived at this hotel the checkin/reception staff were rude & made checkin extremely difficult & time consuming. The young woman at reception needs a lesson & manners & how to speak with clients. She was very rude, unhelpful & didn't answer my questions about parking my car etc. Good luck trying to find the parking area for this hotel...very difficult! The room was clean & big enough however the breakfast buffet was ordinary & the 2 coffee/cappuccino machines didn't work. The hotel is close to a train subway which is convenient. I would not stay here again because of the rude staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPaul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sbarretti, Direttore at Best Western Plus Hotel Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. We always receive very positive feedback regarding our front office staff’s kindness and helpfulness from our guests’. At check-in we always give guests a map of the garage’s location as well as the direction on how to reach it. Moreover our staff is always at disposal for accompanying guests to reach the garage. We do thank you for sharing with us your comments and I kindly ask you to contact me directly with more details on your stay so I can investigate on this matter further and act consequently, if necessary. We do care for excellency in service and we do hope to continue to deliver high standards and quality that we are well known for. In the hope of receiving your kind reply, I send my Warmest Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#9 of 431 in Milan
6,864 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#35 of 431 in Milan
1,390 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#61 of 431 in Milan
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#17 Spa Hotel in Milan
#25 Family Hotel in Milan
#44 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#56 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £91 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles is located in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important and lively shopping street of Milan, just in front of the Metro Lima and only 10 minutes walking from Central Station. Situated in an elegant fully restored eighteenth-century building, the hotel has 200 rooms among classic, superior, suite and family, each one individually designed with its own particular style, elegance and unique personality to make your stay as comfortable as ever before. The hotel is perfect for business and leisure guests, thanks to its many facilities offered: enjoy a rich buffet breakfast with a wonderful view over Milan, in our restaurant "La Terrazza," to start a brand new day in the most perfect way or enjoy a full relaxing day in our Fitness Centre & SPA with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and massage centre. Furthermore, there are free Wi-Fi and Sky in all rooms and common areas and a useful Internet Point and iPad Corner located in the Lobby. On sunny days, you can enjoy a drink of our American Bar in the garden or relax on our roof-top terraces, perfect for sunbathing or for an aperitif with your friends. Upon request and at extra charge, garage, meeting centre, bike rental and special rooms for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing