We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Ranked #48 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WEBSTER
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Value, super location”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel is very clean and modern, unlike alot of hotels in Italy. the elevators actually work and our room was well laid out and well furnished.

The hotel staff spoke English very well and provided us with lots of information. It is in a very metropolitan area......much like New York, with lots of shopping and restaurants and patissieres (bakeries). I counted 20 shoe stores in a 5 blocks, (HEAVEN). Very safe to walk around in the evening.

There was fresh fruit at the front desk every day, and a very nice bar with snacks in the main lobby. there is a computer for your use. Breakfast was very good, with lots of fresh fruit and meats, eggs, croissants, etc.

A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravioli39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    944
    247
    71
    42
See reviews for
505
676
85
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Chose Galles hotel after reading the reviews at Tripadvisor and looking at the pictures provided.
The hotel was not a 4 star standard hotel and one of the poorest one we stayed in for a very long time. The rooms were cramped and the decor outdated. The bathroom was small and rund down (see pictures) the shower had no pressure and the water temperarue everchanging. We would have used the fitness/spa centre for showering, but this was closed unil the end of the month, which we did not know upon booking the hotel.
The bed was hard and room was noisy due to tram or metro running outside pretty much once every minute in the morning.
Breakfast was ok, nothing more or less than you got at any other 4 - 5 start hotels.

We had a great time on or holiday and want to recommend Milan as a travel destination, - but make sure you book a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Galles Hotel is situated in the center of Milan, right on Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important shopping street of the city, only 4 metro stops from the Duomo. We stayed there 3 nights, the rooms are quite, very clean. The breakfast is great. The GM Mr Arnaldo Sbarretti is very professional he leads a team of friendly and helpful staff. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamziM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I was very pleased with hotel's service (especially very impressive Francesco at the front desk), room cleaniness and buffet breakfast. Decent location as well for someone who is enjoying shopping but has limited spending budget. I would without the doubt recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agataus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I stayed here on the hotels opening weekend. It's in extremely close proximity to Corso Buenos Aires Lima underground station which is connected to all the most convenient transport lines in Milan.
Now to the hotel! As you'd expect from a brand new hotel, it's extremely well decorated - to a very high standard too!

I booked a Deluxe King room which was brilliant. I've stayed in 5 star hotels that couldn't even scratch the quality of this room.

In terms of bedroom quality, this hotel is by far the best bedroom I've had to stay in, this side Dubai. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were provided with an abundance of pillows and cushions to increase our comfort levels further.

The room had two (yes... 2!) 40" flat screen tv's with freeview channels on both. We didn't spend that long in the room over the weekend to make good use of them unfortunately! Unfortunately, the blu-ray player wasn't in the room even though the website said it should be there. This wasn't really a problem because as I said, we didn't spend enough time in the room to need it.

Unfortunately I didn't use any of the room service or the bar so I cannot comment on these services. However, any requests I made were promptly dealt with and I left the hotel a happy customer!

The free complimentary wifi was also brilliant. I've always had problems getting online with other hotels but the Galles hotel was no problem to access and was always superfast and accessible from my iPhone.

PS: Request room 509 for an excellent room!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saya1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My wife and I completed a 2 week stay at the Galles in June 2010, and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Milan. We requested a ground floor room before our arrival and the staff was able to accommodate our request. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the bath, and we never felt cramped. The room had high ceilings with beautiful moldings and wallpaper, and heavy draperies which, when closed, completely blocked light and the infrequent sounds from Street. Housekeeping kept the room spotless.
The staff at the front desk helped us with planning our sightseeing day, identifying our transportation choices, booking theater tickets, and answering all of our questions. It was personal service, and we loved it.
We booked the "bed and breakfast" rate, which included a breakfast buffet on the weekends and breakfast cooked to order on the weekdays. While we never dined at the hotel for dinner, the dining room was elegantly appointed. Freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit compote, porridge, cereals, and fresh breads were also available. The wait staff was prompt and polite, and always greeted us with a courteous smile.
If you like large hotels with grand entrances, and huge crowds, (and in general, impersonal service), the Galles is not for you. If however, you want a unique hotel experience, with a pleasant and attentive staff, who you will get to know by name, stay at the Galles. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1956London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Unfortunately because of a train strike we called ahead to book this hotel for another night. When we arrived at 10:30 pm we were given a room that had been tried out by someone else. The toilet was not flushed, the soap had been opened, the beds had been sat on, (the first night the beds were like laying on giant pillows, so if you were looking for something on the firmer side this definitely was not it. Then the air conditioning did not work. There was definitely no customer satisfaction as they tried to argue that the air conditioning was working. The hallway was much cooler than the room. We had to pay 160 Euros, and were told there were no more rooms. We were awoken in the morning to jack hammers renovating just a few doors down. They promised to upgrade our room for the next night, but were only given the superior room that we had already booked. There was no upgrade given. The second night the air conditioning worked, but the toilet would only flush once every 6 hours. When we tried to get them to correct the mistakes we only received comments of "sorry". This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. Although the location was good, that is about the only positive comment. I have a feeling that others might have had a better experience if there rooms had already been renovated. We have travelled a lot, but this could only be compared to a 2 star. Finally after asking them to kindly consider giving some kind of discount for the inconvenience two nights running they gave us 30 Euros off. The staff were not overly friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,811 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#77 of 427 in Milan
2,603 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,526 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 427 in Milan
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Galles

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Galles
Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#16 Spa Hotel in Milan
#40 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Family Hotel in Milan
#56 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles is located in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the most important and lively shopping street of Milan, just in front of the Metro Lima and only 10 minutes walking from Central Station. Situated in an elegant fully restored eighteenth-century building, the hotel has 200 rooms among classic, superior, suite and family, each one individually designed with its own particular style, elegance and unique personality to make your stay as comfortable as ever before. The hotel is perfect for business and leisure guests, thanks to its many facilities offered: enjoy a rich buffet breakfast with a wonderful view over Milan, in our restaurant "La Terrazza," to start a brand new day in the most perfect way or enjoy a full relaxing day in our Fitness Centre & SPA with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and massage centre. Furthermore, there are free Wi-Fi and Sky in all rooms and common areas and a useful Internet Point and iPad Corner located in the Lobby. On sunny days, you can enjoy a drink of our American Bar in the garden or relax on our roof-top terraces, perfect for sunbathing or for an aperitif with your friends. Upon request and at extra charge, garage, meeting centre, bike rental and special rooms for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing