We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel City
Ranked #89 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and very nice hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have read through a few of the reviews here and disagree slightly with a few but here is what I found.....the hotel is in a great location if you like the more affordable shopping of Corso Buenos Aires. A few mins and you are at Lima Metro station which takes you directly into the Duomo main part of the city. Also a good range of nice restaurants close by (the one around the corner that is advertised in the foyer is very nice). We stayed as a group of 10, so had 4 rooms which gave us a good idea of what rooms are like here. We had one room on the top floor which was more like an apartment and looked brand new, was very very nice and a huge big sunny terrace as well. Bathroom was very modern and new. the other rooms were only slightly older and were still quite nice and very comfortable, in keeping with other Best Western hotels I have stayed at. Staff friendly. Wifi, free, slow but still useable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 578cassc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive comments, we are happy that you disagree with the few negative reviews we have got.
As you wrote, we are placed in an ideal location to move around the city, thanks to the undergound station too.
Our rooms will be soon renovated, so you have a good reason to come back with all your friends and have a look at the brand new accomodations!

Kind regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    296
    134
    36
    20
See reviews for
135
217
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lets get rid of the negatives to start with! From the outside it doesn't look too good - just a neon sign fronting on to a busy main street. It is a good 15 minute walk from the station and about 40 minutes into the main Piazza del Duomo. My single room was very small and the view from the window was awful however ....... I can recommend this hotel if you want a couple of nights in this lovely city.

I had a warm welcome and the reception staff throughout my stay were very pleasant and helpful and spoke very good English. My room was spotlessly clean and I had 2 good nights sleep as it was quiet. There was a good selection at breakfast and plenty of it!

Although quite a long way from the centre it was straightforward and down a busy main road so quite OK for a female travelling on her own as I was. The distance from the centre was reflected in the price as it was much cheaper to stay here than closer in (although still expensive at just under £200 for 2 nights) Oh and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is unusual for Italian hotels.

Room Tip: I requested a room at the back away from the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Carole,

thank you for you positive review!
We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and with Milano.

Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you again soon, I send you my best regards.

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would say this is a very good 3 to 3.5 star hotel. It's definitely not fancy, but is well-maintained, well-managed, relatively up-to-date style-wise and very clean. Overall, I had a pleasant stay.
I usually try not to stay at Best Westerns, but Milan was pretty much sold out the weekend I was here, to the point that most regular hotel rooms were about $550 per night. I mean, insane prices. I managed to get the last room here on a reservation website for about $300 (including tax). That amount of money is NUTS for a hotel like this. Still, it was the best deal in town and I'm VERY glad I got it. I think if you're paying around $125 to $150, you'd be much happier with your experience. There was nothing wrong here, except maybe for weak A/C.
The hotel is located on the treeless, charmless Corso Buenos Aires, a busy but not especially fancy shopping street (think H&M, not Louis Vuitton). It is, however, incredibly convenient. It's just 100 feet to the Lima subway stop. The Duomo and Milan's high-end shopping area are three subway stops away. You can also get here easily (with one transfer) from the Central Train Station. It's not that long a walk to that station, but the area between the Corso B.A. and Central Station is one of the sketchier in central Milan, pretty run down with lots of graffiti.
SUBWAY TIP: Definitely buy the 24 hour ticket... it's a real deal. We got our tickets at the Central Station. It's the only place we had to be wary of street people. There are a few guys trying to make a buck (or euro) by "helping" you buy your tickets... which is not necessary since all ticket booths have touch screens in English. I told them to get lost, but they are persistent and ignored me. This unpleasantness could easily be avoided by better policing. The machines are really slow and the guys distract you so I forgot to pick up my change, which you get after the tickets are issued. I lost 1 euro. No big deal, but still annoying. Get a one-day pass and bypass these con men.
Arriving at the hotel, you will feel like you're slumming it just a little. The modest entrance is on a pass-through shopping arcade about 50 feet from the street. The pleasant night front desk clerk (a woman) tried to accommodate our request for a higher floor, but we checked in late and got a low room facing the street. You could hear some street noise (from an atypical street festival), but it wasn't too bad. The room was smallish but okay, the bed was fine, the bathroom ridiculously small but functional. The next day, we moved to a room in the back of the hotel, thinking it would be quieter. Mistake. The A/C didn't work as well (on a coolish spring day) and it faced an ugly apartment courtyard.
The wifi was free and worked well and the self-serve breakfast (included in our rate) was surprisingly good and the high point of our stay. It was held in a large, bright, clean dining room and had a very good selection of food. There was lots of seating, a friendly staff and a super-quick coffee machine that makes great coffee.
This is a nice, modest, well-run hotel. For what it is, it's good.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew,

thank you for your detailed comments, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel by appreciating our service, position and value for price paid.
Sorry for the inconvenience of the room on a lower floor, if you might have the opportunity to come back in town, we will promise you a room on the 7th floor, with a nice balcony and a comfortable bathroom.

Kind regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel has a great location. Corso Buenos Aires is a street with very attractive shops and goes directly to the center of the city (the Duomo) if you choose to walk - changes name to Corso Venezia. The hotel is very near two metro stops which makes getting around the city very easy. It is near the central train station and a 20-30 minute cab ride to Linate airport. 20-minutes for early (7 am flight).
Hotel was clean and in good repair. I had a single with one twin bed. It was small but well planned and had French doors onto a small balcony – on the back side of hotel.
A non-slip mat was provided for use in the shower. In single room the placement of the toilet in the bathroom was very close to the wall - might cause an issue if person has mobility issues.
Electric kettle, coffee and tea provided in the room. The only convenient place to plug it in was in the bathroom – using the provided stool as a surface on which to place the kettle.
The hotel uses Villeroy/Boch in the breakfast area and for the coffee mug in the room.
For the allergy conscious – there was NO strong smell of cleaning products or fragrance. Additionally this room had the option of a window in the bathroom and French-door mentioned above.
Staff was excellent - very professional and helpful. There was a noise issue in a nearby room late into the evening. The front desk clerk took care of it immediately with professionalism and authority. This type of action helps a guest feel safe in the environment.
Breakfast buffet was generous and had variety. Breakfast room was modern, bright and well-kept.
This is an ideal location for exploring Milan.

Room Tip: There is a side that faces the major street or the opposite side that faces apartment building. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Elana,

thank you so much for your comments, your positive experience and your detailed description shows that we're going in the right direction.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again among our guests.

With my kindest regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Clean, modern, small rooms, smaller bathrooms. Usual European 4*, certainly not luxury, but not bad. Touristy bars are overpriced with skimpy happy hour food. Go to a regular bar, during happy hour they will feed you to the gills with junk food. Many places have a free buffet too.
Pros:
1. Great location. Metro stop 50 meters.
2. Great shopping for Milanese shopping for clothes, shoes, purses. Not too pricy, not cheap. Mostly good quality made in Italy. Ladies, you WILL overspend!
3. Located in a shopping mall, hair-dresser.
4. Grocery chain store only a few blocks (ask for directions). Several cafés on the street.
5. Attractions @ 2 miles to walk, convenient. Excellent metro access.
6. Good breakfast... well... for Best Western
Cons:
1.Staff is good, but understaffed, so usual indifferent European service
2. Reluctant to help with luggage, the tiny elevator is 1/2 floor up. So beware.
3. No parking
4. Poor water pressure in shower, AC just adequate

Room Tip: Floor 5 is said to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodLuck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your detailed review!
Of course we love to reed "pros"... but "cons" are more important because they help us improving our service; therefor thank you twice!
Just some remarks: please note that we offer a very convenient and close parking solution at the daily rate of € 14.00; moreover, usually we don't have problems with A/C and water pressure, if you would have told us about we could have certainly solved the matter.

We hope to have you again among our guests.

Kind regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff very helpful and courteous. Great location near cheaper shopping outlets and bus stops. The best buffet breakfast we had in 4 cities in Italy - sausages, eggs, fresh fruit salad, cereal, rolls, ham, cheese, fresh fruit etc etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Robyn,

thank you so much for your comments!
We are so happy to hear that you were so positively impressed by our breakfast buffet.
Believe me, we really pay attention on it because we think that the way you start your morning affects the rest of the entire day.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellagio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Extremely, helpful welcoming staff. So quiet in the room but centrally located, near metro train and great shopping strip. Happy hour was great. We were able to check in early 1pm no need to out until 12 the next day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar S, Direttore at Best Western Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Janie,

thank you for your review!

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our Hotel, don't miss Milan's Summer Sales!

Kind regards,

BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Manager
Omar Sozuer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#27 of 428 in Milan
454 reviews
Citta Studi
Starhotels Ritz
Starhotels Ritz
#104 of 428 in Milan
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel City

Property: Best Western Hotel City
Address: Corso Buenos Aires 42/5, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Milan
#73 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#80 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#105 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel City 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Milan
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing