We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on so many levels”
Review of Hotel Carrobbio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carrobbio
Ranked #233 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We arrived after navigating Milan's challenging downtown. You will be charged an absurd 30 euros per night to park in their garage. The bellman helped us to our room with our luggage; it was terribly warm. He adjusted the thermostat to the coolest setting but it made no difference in the temperature. We had to open the windows throughout our stay to cool down.

We decided to get cleaned up a bit and look for a market. Take note that the toilets do not flush that well (#1 or #2 for that matter). We returned from the market with a few cheeses and sliced meats and found a quiet nook with a few tables and chairs near the lobby. After opening our packages, an employee (we later were informed this was Fabrizio the bartender) stormed in and told us we had to return to our room to eat. We attempted to discuss this with him but he stomped out of the room. This dreadful service was reflected throughout our stay. This hotel had no restaurant so we were not impacting their income.

We attempted to use the "high-speed internet" but it was useless. We came to the lobby with our laptops and the employee said the problem was with our computers (we had no problems at the previous hotel in Venice). We had two IT executives in our group so this was especially insulting. He later said that many guests complained about the lack of internet access and offered us the name of a cafe with wi-fi access. We attempted to watch TV but less than 10 channels were available. The front desk said it would be upgraded soon (but many other reviews reference the lack of internet access).

The bathroom had an absurdly small modular shower that is too small for an adult. Be prepared to bang your elbows and knees while showering. There were also ashtrays on each of our bedside tables. Are they seriously encouraging guests to smoke in bed? Perhaps they would rather burn this hotel than upgrade the employees and amenities.

While passing though the lobby during our stay, we noticed more guests with their laptops at the front desk. I assume the employees blamed the lack of access on the guests' computers. We also received more surly glares from Fabrizio the bartender. I can't believe that someone with such poor interpersonal communication skills is employed in a service industry.

While checking out, the credit card machine wasn't working and took several swipes to complete. This dysfunction was a fitting end to a stay plagued with so many problems.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinNightOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carrobbio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

I slept a night at the hotel Carrobbio, Via Medici, Milano.
This hotel has 1 unique good point, that is the location. The rest was poor.
First of all, we arrive in a room which was really old fashion and when we went to bed, we discover that the room was extremely noisy. Indeed, we had the view on the street, 1 floor. The isolation is pretty bad and it was like we were sleeping outside)
Also, the aircon of the room was switched of ... but... was still noisy.
The day after, we went for breakfast (which was normally included) and we finally had to pay it.
Last thing, the price was pretty high for the quality it is : Around € 160.- for 1 night.
I was really disappointed.
This hotel does not deserve 4* and needs a complete restyling.

Room Tip: Take a room in the center of the hotel and not the external rooms. Especially not room 101!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Carrobbio for five nights in May 2013. I have been to Italy many times before but this was my first visit to Milan.

First the plus side: The staff were very polite and helpful, spoke good English, and answered all my enquiries well. The room was small but more than adequate, with a comfortable bed and a small but very clean and well-designed bathroom.

The in-house wifi was free and very efficient (except for one 12-hour period when it was down; not the hotel's fault).

The hotel is well-located for getting to the Duomo (about ten minutes' brisk walk) and other attractions such as the da Vinci Last Supper, the Castello Sforza and La Scala. It's four stops on the underground Metro from the Central railway station to the Duomo, so it's not a good hotel if you want to be close to the station. However I caught a cab from and to the station and including a tip it was only 15 euros each way.

Now the negative side: While the breakfast was fine (I had the continental each morning for only 6 euros), there is no actual restaurant for dinner. This despite what is said in the in-room manual. There is a bar open in the evenings and they provide light snacks to have with your drinks but that's it. If you want a real meal you need to eat out in the evenings. There are plenty of places nearby so that's not a problem.

The other issue is noise. I had a room facing the street, and Via Medici is very, very narrow. It can only take one car in one direction. If you have a room facing the street you hear every vehicle, every conversation, every delivery, every garbage service and every suitcase on wheeels that goes past, even with the windows and shutters closed. The most noisy thing though was a bar in a nearby hostel which had lost of people standing, talking and drinking in the street only 50m away until it closed at midnight. I managed to deal with the noise soemhow but if noise is an issue, insist on a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel has all you can ask for, it is clean and nicely kept. Staff is very helpful and kind. They have hairdryer, tv, internet connection (not sure if always free), and is centrally located near one of the best streets of shopping in Milano (Via Torino). Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Gone back and will choose it again for my next stay. Warm welcome from the minute you walk in. Top clean. Top location. Top service. I would recommend to anyone visiting Milan for business or just leisure. A little gem in the heart of Milan

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XT4Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

wonderful small hotel with excellent location at the heart of Milan, two blocks from the Duomo, Europe at its best. Attended by its owner! cozy patio for breakfast, nice details with antiques and beautiful rugs

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrobbio M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Carrobbio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Mrs. Ines,

I would like to thank you for the nice feedback you have shared, I really appreciate that you have liked our antique furnitures and our rugs as well.
Our classy hotel is owned by a hotellerie's family and our mission has always been to make our guests feel at home.
I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and I really hope you could come back in the future.
I remain at your total disposal for any further help you might need and please don't hesitate to contact me directly in the Hotel.
I take this occasion to send you my very best regards.

Iacopo Blanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

the hotel is located in the middle of the city only a few minutes of walking from all the main attratctions in milano .

but...be awar if you arrive with a car! there are no parking space around the hotel and if you want to use the hotel's parking space its gonna cost you 30 euro per night (!!) the room me and and my GF got was very small and felt very crouded the service was ok at best the receptionist was abit snobish but not offensive

i would not reccomend this hotel if you are traveling on a budget the breakfest (didnt try it) cost alot and we only stayed there one night that was no more than meh..ok i guess i was in 3-2 stars hotels i liked better

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#160 of 426 in Milan
489 reviews
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#335 of 426 in Milan
202 reviews
Navigli
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#150 of 426 in Milan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#338 of 426 in Milan
502 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#343 of 426 in Milan
291 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#170 of 426 in Milan
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carrobbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carrobbio

Address: Via Medici 3, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £78 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carrobbio 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carrobbio is a classy 4 star hotel in Milan that pays great attention to all details. Set in the heart of Milan, just 5 minutes walking from Dome Square, in a quite side street of Via Torino, which is a charming corner of the Old Milan, once full of carriages, from which it takes its name "Carrobbio". Our Hotel is located just 10 minutes walking from the Expo Gate, the headquarter of the Universal Exposition that will start in Milan on May 1st 2015. Our city centre Hotel is very well connected being very close to the main subway stations of the city like Duomo, Sant'Ambrogio and Missori. The Hotel has 56 rooms, some rooms with large terraces and two with a private garden. Connecting rooms upon request, perfect for families and friends. The buffet brekfast, rich of homemade products is not included in the rates on the website, it costs € 13,00 per day, per person. Our Private automated Garage, has to be booked in advance, it costs € 30,00 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carrobbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrobbio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing