We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a short stay and helpful reception”
Review of Hotel Fenice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fenice
Ranked #122 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good value for a short stay and helpful reception”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Having spent 4 days in Lake Como we were looking for a good value hotel in a central location but without any bells and whistles. We found it in Hotel Fenice. The reburbished room we stayed in was perfectly fine for a 3 night stay, the rate seemed cheap for Milan and the breakfast was ok. So, nothing flash or luxurious but fine if a weekend break to see the sights is what you are after. Bledar on reception was particularly helpful. We got free wifi via our booking which was great but it only lasted for a couple of hours so we had to keep going back for new wifi vouchers. The location is about a 20 min walk from the Duomo but close to the tube network. You can walk to the Central station in around 30 mins if you need to. So, a reasonable location if you don't mind tubing or walking. With some of the prices being quoted by other hotels we felt we had got a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    206
    94
    21
    9
See reviews for
97
164
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our 4-day stay at Fenice was perfect.. The room was spacious and clean.The front office and restaurant staff were very kind and helpful..Great location and lovely breakfast.. Special thanks to Bledar!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I really was suprised to find 4 star trip advisers ratings for this hotel. I was booked in by my company because my first choice was unavailable. €108 per night. The staff where very nice, my room as clean and fittings where fine. Shower only in a odd shaped bathroom unfortunately and the WiFi didn't work at all which was a disaster for business user (no cable available). Small footage with tall ceilings which made it feel a little smaller, perhaps that's just me. The hotel was full of fiery Italians shouting until gone midnight and children crying although of course the hotel had no control of this I was in a poor state the following morning. Breakfast was adequate. Glad to spend a few extra Euro's and move the following day.
4 stars it is not.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Situated in a cool area of Milan, very convenient for shopping, public transportation, dining and museums. Few steps away from the Giardini. Nice old architectural appeal of the facade, and just well remodeled elegant and stylish rooms. The staff is fantastic, a great oiled team with superb attention to every detail. We came back one day and they were putting on newly washed window treatments. The room was always smelling of fresh and clean, very pleasant. A great experience overall and don't forget the generous breakfast buffet with super fresh pastries to die for. Extra compliments to Bleder at the front desk (super nice and reliable, with a vast knowledge of the city) unlike the lady in the morning, and Sara in the breakfast area, these people will go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A very nice stay, we will go back and suggest it to all our friends and clients!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I had asked specifically for a room with a bath rather than a shower and was more than a little disappointed to find that my request had not been complied with ans even more upset that the receptionist(male) appeared to feel that I was being unreasonable in identifying this an issue.As I am 75 years of age with a back problem and had arrived after having travelled since early morning I felt he was being rather unsympathetic in recognising the importance of a bath rather than a shower and he appeared to take very little responsibility for the fact that the booking clearly stated my preference and that the hotel had failed to deliver or inform me at the time that they could not comply so that I would have had the option of booking elsewhere. Moreover, he held out no hope for a camera con vasca being available the next day.
The following morning I spoke to the new receptionist-Maria-Paola who initially continued the argument that I had not specified a bath, but when I pointed out the wording on the reservation letter, her attitude changed completely and she somehow produced an appropriate room within about three minutes and arranged for staff to move our clothes while we were out. She continued to be most helpful during the rest of our stay .
The rooms were rather small but very clean and well appointed. Our first room was at the back and we heard rubbish being collected at about 6.00 but the second room was very quiet.Breakfast was a good selection with good coffee and staff who cleared the tables very efficiently and were very pleasant and helpful.The breakfast room was sufficiently spacious to ensure one did not feel crowded and the atmosphere was very agreeable.
The hotel is very conveniently located a due passi from the Metro and not far from the centre of the city if one would prefer to walk . For Euros 8.30 one can buy a 48 hour biglietto giornato which covers travel by Metro, autobus or tram which provides excellent transport to all parts of the city.
After the first night I was prepared to write a fairly critical review as a result of the unsympathetic response from the first receptionist. After Maria-Paola's intervention I have nothing but praise for my experience from the period following her intervention. Grazie mille Santa Maria!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back if you wish to continue sleeping after about 6 o'clock. After the rubbis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gi0vanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

While the rooms themselves are reasonably clean the complete lack of 'service' from the two ladies at 'reception' leaves a lot to be desired. They really could not be bothered except for the basic fundamentals such as where the hotel is located with respect to the duomo. Garbage collection starts at 5.45 am. - just in case you're interested - very, very noisy. Avoid this hotel if you are on a holiday. May be fine for business people based on location. But that's about the best we could say about this place. Oh, and pillows bear some resemblance to a house brick rather than something Snow White slept on!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gezz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

The room was clean, if a little small and dated. Breakfast was lovely, there lots of choice. The is a Metro station right outside the hotel so it is very easy to get around. The location was great, on a busy shopping street and a 20-30 min stroll to the duomo.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#111 of 428 in Milan
728 reviews
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#85 of 428 in Milan
645 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel St. George
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#25 of 428 in Milan
469 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#178 of 428 in Milan
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenice

Property: Hotel Fenice
Address: Corso Buenos Aires 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenice Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing