We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a "up and coming neighborhood"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #186 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a "up and coming neighborhood"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The room was lovely, the staff was friendly, the shower and bed was nice. AC worked well, which is not always common in Italy. It's really close to the main train station. Parking is non-existent in the area, though. The red line is close as well, but at night traveling to and from the red line can be sketchy--we passed at least 4 prostitutes during our 2 days there not to mention the "massage" parlors in the surrounding blocks. To be fair, the area actually has improved in the past 10 years or so and the hotel really offered good value for Milan. One other note--the "laundry service" mentioned on venere is only a send-out drycleaning, so don't count on it if you're on a long trip and counting on this place for your laundry needs. Overall, we would stay again, but it's hard out there for a pimp :)

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drewrich1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    290
    181
    60
    31
See reviews for
96
203
149
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armadale, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Very friendly front desk. Ideally situated for the Central Station, Airport buses and City Tour buses. Cosy lounge and bar. Breakfast OK. Coffee good. Bathroom facilities a bit cramped.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Location was great, it was just across the street from Milano Centrale.

Our triple room was pretty spacious and clean, just that the toilet design was inefficient. See, the shower 'cubicle' was teeny tiny, and the short shower curtain meant that the floor would still be soaked, and every time you move, the curtain adheres to your skin and thereby counteracts your efforts to shower. Small issue, but still frustrating on a daily basis.

The staff was friendly, just as long as you don't get into any room booking problems with them (i.e. number of rooms, forget to check out or extend your stay,etc). Because they'd chuck all your belongings into any random compartment of your luggage and leave the entire thing in their hotel lobby, and later try to offer you a room on a floor that we assume was flooded the days before (there were towels lining the staircase leading down from it!) Everything was just handled poorly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamalinalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed at the Garda my first night in Italy and chose it because it is close to Milan's Central Train Station. It was convenient too because the airport shuttle buses all come to the station. The hotel is easy to find. You just walk straight up in the direction of a McDonald's and the Via Napo Torriani is just beyond the McDonald's, to your left. So for a weary jet-lagged traveler, it's great. There are several bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity and because the hotel is located a block or two away from a major thoroughfare, on a quiet one-way street, it is an ideal spot for a weary traveler to recover from jet lag. I can not comment on the quality of the restaurant or room service as I opted not to have breakfast there simply because I wanted to eat outside somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Only 400m from Centrale Statzione, La Gard is in a relatively quiet street, quite unlike hotels near main train stations in most cities. A good breakfast and a reasonably large room for three, made this good value for money. The staff were helful especially when supplying ice daily for an injured knee. Quite a number of good restaurants off Via Pisani. Remeber that there are two main train stations with more local trains leaving for places like Lake Como from Cordona Statzione, easily reached by the metro.

Room Tip: contact the hotel by email in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Hotel Garda was conveniently located near the train station in Milan. The area felt very safe and I had no problem walking around at night. There were plenty of restaurants nearby to grab a bite to eat. The duomo was just a quick ride on the metro away. My dad and I walked back from that area once. It took around 40ish minutes but it was a pleasant walk. The hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. There was a computer you could for some amount of euros. The lobby was very nice and looked like it had been updated recently. The room looked a little dated but it was fine for us. The bathroom was much larger than others I had encountered in Italy. The beds were OK- not bad, but nothing to brag about. If I return to Milan I certainly would not have a problem staying here again if I could get the room for a good price.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blr5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We wanted to show ourn friends from abroad milan and wanted to go shopping its a great Town, but the Hotel Garda is terribble, realy not recommend, they only plus is the location thats all,
The People at the reception were unfriendly, espespially the boss or the owner.
We had made a reservation for 1 Room (3 Persons), later another friend joined and we had to upgrade to 2 Rooms, the reservationsystem did not accept another room, so we had to make a new booking for two rooms, 2 double bed rooms. we had informed the hotel that the first booking needed to be cancelled, they ignored our email. but only, charged our new booking (2 Rooms) on the credit card. As we arrived they whrer really creepy with us the told us we did not cancel the first booking and we had to pay the first night of € 140.- on top of we alleady have beed charged for. Wie explained the boss that we have sent an email, for the cancellation, he totally ignored the facts and said we have to pay it, otherwise he will charge our credit card. He allways said thats the general conditions, and we have to pay it !!! So there was no other option and we had to pay for an unused room. So far to italian corruption.

Also the breakfest was poor. So You schould NOT go to that Hotel. There are other hotels we can recomend in that location, for example check Hotel Genova in Milan its on the same street and also near to the railwaystation.
all other was really bad.
Small Room, bathroom very small.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#178 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#153 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#199 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#231 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#92 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Property: Hotel Garda
Address: Via Napo Torriani 21, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing