We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot”
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #181 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Easy to get to from the train station. Inexpensive. Quiet, clean, large room on top floor. No ac. This was a problem since the windows could not be left open due to the mosquitoes. Breakfast was not included, but breakfast was served (perhaps included with other rooms?). Staff was polite and professional. I'd recommend this hotel if you're on a tight budget, otherwise, I'd find someplace with ac.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked this hotel based on Rick Steve's Italy book which suggested it as being close to the Central train station. We were getting in to Milan on the train at 10:30 PM after a long day of travel and we had booked two rooms for our family of 5. When we got to the hotel the night deskman got a panicked look on his his face and started claiming he did not have a reservation. I saw a sheet of paper on his desk that had our names and room numbers clearly listed. When I pointed that out he got really panicked and started calling people and shuffling papers everywhere. I could not understand what he said because it was in Italian but basically I gathered they had given our room to someone else. Instead of just admitting that he spent the next HOUR on the phone getting instructions to go into the website and cancel our reservation. At that point he said "see it was not my fault your reservation was cancelled." Meanwhile my family including 3 tired kids sat miserably in the lobby. They did get the entertainment of several other guest of the hotel come up and scream at the guy for his rude service. I can't believe Rick Steve's listed this place. We ended up going to the next door Flora Hotel with nicer rooms for the same rate (Flora also included a great breakfast which was not included here).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ColeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

At 120 Euro, the hotel provides average quality of stay. We visited in the hot month of July...the Aircon was an issue and the room had mosquitos. So we shifted next doors to Hotel Berna....more expensive, but great quality at Berna. Most 3 star hotels have centralized aircons, that they switch off at night... which is an issue in the hot months (we are not aware of this). Not recommended for a family with kids; good if you are on average budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Arriving at Milan Centrale we was greeted by rain. It was quiet a messy day, as we were in terrible jetlag. This hotel is located a couple of minutes away from the centrale main entrance. Along the route to the hotel, we came across multiple Italian restaurant, we have spent most of our time enjoying pizza and risotto, yummy. Walking passed the main entrance of Garda Hotel we was greeted by Roberto, a tall friendly Italian guy, of course Italian as we were in Milan. Without hesitation he pronounced my name correctly and the check in process was flawless. The room is quite small but very clean and tidy. The aroma of macchiato in the restaurant was one of the best coffee aroma ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - close to the train station and a half hour walk from central Milan (Sforza Castle). My room was fairly clean, but the decor is a bit dated. Front desk staff are friendly. For the price, I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good location just 3 minute walk from the Central station, small but clean hotel, we were satisfied with the services. The only problem was, that the ventillation system at the beathroom was not the best, but it did not bother us to much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Satisfied with its convenient location. Reception could speak English well. We booked a double-bed room for one night. The room was large and clean, yet it was quite dark as the light inside the room was too soft. The elevator was small which could barely carry two persons plus two luggage. Overall we was satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#146 of 426 in Milan
584 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#153 of 426 in Milan
533 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#217 of 426 in Milan
442 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#57 of 426 in Milan
982 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Address: Via Napo Torriani 21, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £56 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing