We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - close to train station”
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #187 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location - close to train station”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great hotel, 5 min. walk from the train (Stazione Centrale). Small room but very clean, everything you need. Breakfast looked good but we had an early flight before it was served.
Eat at Nico's Quick Bites (same street) wonderful pizza & great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    297
    184
    60
    33
See reviews for
96
207
151
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Clean -- great location if you're traveling in by train -- professional staff -- clean room -- nice breakfast.

The single room I stayed in was clean and relatively new. The bathroom was larger than what I expected, and was clean and had available all the things you could possibly need.

I arrived early from the airport on the day of check in, and the hotel staff allowed me to take my room earlier than was typically allowed. That was a great way to start my overnight stay in Milan.

The only minor issue I had was with the WiFi charge -- still not sure if in fact it's free or there is a fee. At first I was told it was 5 euros for 24 hours, but then at checkout it was either dropped off or incorporated into my bill. Bottom line is: I paid exactly the amount I expected so I wasn't concerned.

Another point: the great price for the room (great for Milan) was conditional on paying cash and not using a credit card. Not a problem for me -- especially with an ATM right around the corner -- but it might be for others.

For a one or two night stay in Milan -- just passing through or getting an impression of the city -- this Hotel delivers. It's a bit of a walk to the center square but if you're reasonably fit, or don't mind getting to know the public transit, that shouldn't be a factor at all.

The neighborhood was tolerable given it's close to the central station. This was a concern of mine, but it was never a problem and the surroundings were nothing to be concerned about.

Room Tip: If you're someone who can't sleep because of street noise, mention that at the front desk be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuUsa-RobDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a room for 3 and stayed 3 times in a month. Room was a decent size, clean (a bit of mould in the bathroom) and the staff was friendly. The train terminal was close which as helpful and the subway station was close by and easy to navigate. my issue was the "city tax". my confirmation said 3E per day but they insisted at 4E per day-- per person. We stayed in Florence and a town in Tuscany and in both cases it was 3E per day per ROOM, not per person! Did not make sense, but what can you do!

Room Tip: Don't leave windows open, mosquitos will eat you alive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of a 2-week vacation in Italy. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Centrale train station, which was nice. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean - though the design of the shower was very bad. There was pretty much no way to take a shower without a bunch of water ending up on the floor (it is not a good sign when there is a drain in the middle of the bathroom floor!) You buy WiFi time by the hour (of usage, not running time - which is actually kind of nice) and it worked well. We did not eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnstruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Expensive room but yet not the basic things can be found, breakfast very limited choices. Wifi cost extra as well.
Room and toilet however are clean.

Only reason you stay there is that it's near the central rail station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hinterzarten, Germany
Level Contributor
273 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Due to the Shoe - Fashion fair Most affordable Hotels were Overdrives. So we Chose this tiny charming Hotel happy to the Last room left. As we Travel with our small dog it was Not a Problem. The Concierge was very friendly. Room was small but very clean. All you expect from ***hotels . Room only was €170 Fair Season. Off Season Rates Night be as Little as € 100-125 or so. Room was to the quiet Backyard but also rooms the small Street seems quiet.nearby is a Safe Underground Parking. Metro Station 50 m very conveniant to citycentre and shopping . we did not have breakfast in the hotel. there are a lot of cafeterias around and a gelateria with more than 50 kinds of ice cream .At all Good vaLue for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only had 1 night here on the way through, but it was clean, reasonable value and nice room.
Service was also good here and it is very close to the railway station ( about 4 min walk) and had a range of economy restaurants nearby.
Handy for train travellers.
Milano airport is about 55 minutes by train and they run about every 20 minutes. They go to terminal 1 and you need to catch the free bus outside the Malpensa airport terminal 1 if your flight is from terminal 2.
If you are flying eazyjet, allow 30-50 minutes to check your bags into this airline, they are very slow.
Cheers....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#161 of 428 in Milan
552 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#148 of 428 in Milan
519 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#201 of 428 in Milan
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bolzano
Hotel Bolzano
#309 of 428 in Milan
425 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#83 of 428 in Milan
207 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Property: Hotel Garda
Address: Via Napo Torriani 21, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing