We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marconi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marconi Hotel
Ranked #93 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Out of all the hotels we stayed at during our trip, I was by far the most nervous for this one since the reviews were sort of all over the place -- some great, some not so great. Personally, we ended up having a very good experience!

Rooms are basic, but a pretty good size. They also get very cool which is good because Milan is HOT! Very quiet. The staff was helpful -- I just a cut and needed bandaids and they were there to help immediately!

Breakfast is delicious! A HUGE variety to choose from, there is no way you can't find something you like. There is also a little supermarket right across the street with great prices if you need something on the go.

For the price and location, I don't think this can be beat. You cannot walk to much, but the train station is less than 5 minutes away on foot and goes anywhere :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gapgrl4496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    412
    129
    29
    15
See reviews for
141
294
60
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were in Milan for a day and a half and found the Marconi met our needs perfectly. Easy walk to the central train station. Within a block or so of the subway for easy access to the historical sights. Quiet street. Good breakfast. Nice size room. Helpful staff. Our luggage was lost and Rocco spent 25 minutes on the phone tracking it down for us. We found the Marconi to be a good value when compared to the other 5 hotels we stayed at in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaunakeeArwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived on a Tuesday and all seemed good to begin with. We were on the 5th floor which was fine. The room was a reasonable size but there were a number of small holes in a wall where furniture had been bashed against it. We had to attach the tv aerial ourselves! The heating system in the room didn't work, it was either very warm in the room or we had to switch it off completely and in October, we did need some heat. There was actually a poo in the toilet when we arrived in the room!!! BOAK!!! The toilet did not smell clean, more like a public toilet. We had to ask for clean towels one of the days as the cleaner had failed to leave us any. There were only four coat hangers in the wardrobe, hardly enough for two people staying for a number of days. Breakfast was ok and there was a reasonable choice. However, none of the food or drinks were sitting on a cooling system so were probably going "off" as the time passed each morning. The breakfast workers were very nice. We had been given a password for the advertised free wifi but regardless of how many times we asked for this to be given attention, it simply didn't work. One of the receptionists told me it was probably because too many people were using it!! We kept trying different passwords given to us and also tried in different parts of the hotel, but still no joy -absolutely useless. There were other guests in the hotel also having the same problem. The receptionist told me to speak to the general manager so he could understand the problem. However, this general manager was arrogant and simply said it must be my iPad, iPod touch and phone which were not working. They were working as we tested them in other establishments. General Manager was dreadful at his job and sadly is letting the hotel down by treating his customers as if we are less than worthy of a polite "good morning" from him. When we complained, the General Manager simply said, in his bullish manner, no-one else complained so it was just our opinion and we were wrong.. I also ended up with a large number of insect bites on my arms and face - definitely from the room...so, my advice is never stay at this hotel, it certainly is not worthy of four star status.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley1111563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Marconi is not located near the historical area. It's value lies in that it is a 5 minute walk to the Central train station creating easy departures to either airport, Linate or Malpensa, or to catch a train. We stayed there after returning from Santa Margherita Ligure before departing back home the next day. Rooms are of good size.The bathrooms are spacious. The room decor is a little dated but overall was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff helpful. This hotel is in a great location for connections to the airports or train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monami33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova, Liguria, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel was nice but definitively not well maintained. The room walls were full of "colorful"scratches and furniture scraped/damage by wear/use. On the contrary the bathroom was lager and nice, with red marble tiles. Breakfast was not that generous. Staff was fairly gentle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SciarraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Marconi Hotel in June. For us it was a very convenient location for us as we had arrived by train from Venice and were to pick up a car from the Milan (Malpensa) airport the next day. It is only a short walk from the Milan Central station. There was also a Metro station close to the hotel. There were a number of restaurants and a supermarket nearby.

The hotel room was very clean and comfortable, and the amenities were good. Free wifi was provided but was a bit unreliable. The staff were quite helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was good, but dining room could get a bit crowded. Taking into account that breakfast was included, it was certainly considered to be well priced.

We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monetsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
355 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We(2 adults,1 child 13yrs) stayed at hotel 1 night, it met my expectation ,
Staff: polite,helpful
Room: neat, clean, comfortable
Breakfast: simple
Location: 5 min to central train station , 2 min to metro station

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adybeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#46 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#59 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#48 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#52 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marconi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconi Hotel

Property: Marconi Hotel
Address: Via Fabio Filzi 3, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#93 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#95 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marconi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing