We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two halves of one hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monopole de la Gare
Ranked #363 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 22 March 2008

How your stay is in this hotel all seems to depend on whether you get allocated a refurbished room, or an old one! I had read reports on here of nice rooms with flat-screen TVs, good facilities etc, and also reports of scruffy rooms, sleepless nights due to trams outside, old TVs and fridges that didn't work.... Unfortunately we got the latter!

Having said that, the room was very clean, the en-suite facilities were adequate, the safe in our room was free and seemed secure as we set the code ourselvces, and the room basic but could have been worse. But we were right above the front door so it was very noisy, and the trams thundered past outside until the early hours and from about 5am. The PC with free internet in the hall wasn't working either, which was a bit annoying, and the staff didn’t know what to do about the error message we kept getting.

We were there for breakfast the first morning and it was fine - quite a bit of choice and buffet-style so you could have what you wanted. The next day we had to leave very early. We told the reception staff that beforehand and they kindly made us up takeaway breakfast packs, which was nice of them.

The staff on the desk we met were friendly and tried to help. Most spoke English very well. It was just a shame about the room - I just wanted to go home for the first hour, although I was glad I didn't in the end. But for 230 Euros a night, I did expect better overall!

So, a mixed experience all-in-all!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liver_bird_lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2008

Our Stay at the Monopole was very good. The Hotel was clean and value for money. the room was adequate for our stay. Some of the reviews do not give justice to this hotel. The staff were very helpful and spoke english. They helped us when ever we had any questions..

The hotel is near central station and is a very good base to explore Milan. I would reccommend this hotel. The area was ok too.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Ok hotel for the money, clean and everything worked - very close to the central station.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Wilson76Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I agree with Kay from Edinburgh entirely.Room average but did have two sinks which was nice as four of us staying in there. Area was a bit grotty & we were reluctant to venture out after dark with kids. Saying that I'm sure we would have been fine as didn't feel unsafe at any time here, only when we got to train station but thats another story... Reception very helpful & even made us all up a breakfast package as we were leaving very early in the morning. We also took advantage of free internet. It was quite a long walk to the Duomo, so if we go again we would stay a little closer that.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

An average hotel situated 1 min walk from Central Station which was its only real benefit. The area at night has a dodgy feel about it with prostitues and gangs of men on various street corners, in daylight it feels safer. Cheaper and tasty restaurants in this area compared to the city centre. The hotel itself is fine, comfortable and clean rooms/beds and pleasant staff. Lovely breakfast and free wi-fi connection. It is about a 30min walk from the Duomo and main tourist attractions. There however is a subway station nearby but beware of pick-pocketers trying to help you get a tourist ticket out of the machines. All in all a good cheap base for those looking for no frills.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kay639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

It's in the average of 3 stars hotel, the only surprise is the wi-fi connection for free at the first fllor! Even if u have a room at an higher floor, just bring your pc there and u can confortably be sitting and check on the net as much time as u need!
Room was big and clean. It's very close to the main station too.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carmen0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

This is a great NO FRILLS hotel very close to Centrale Station
I stayed for one night and paid 50 Euros Bed and Breakfast
This is a bargain price for Milan

the hotel was efficient
Had a free Wifi Access in the 1st floor lobby which I could access from my room on second floor - it was efficient and worked find

staff was good and spoke good english
the experience was good

only problem is that on reservation (through bookings.com) they charge credit cards and debit them back again to check that they are valid - when they did that the exchange rate changed and i paid the difference for no real reason

all in all
a good no frills experience that delivered what it said on the tin

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#254 of 428 in Milan
206 reviews
Stazione Centrale
43 Station Hotel
43 Station Hotel
#145 of 428 in Milan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#155 of 428 in Milan
599 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#62 of 428 in Milan
994 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#298 of 428 in Milan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole de la Gare

Address: Via Fabio Filzi 43, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopole de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monopole in Milano is a transit place, few steps away from central station, the most important crossroad in town. People lodge in our place for short or long stays creating a mix of different energies. There are two typologies of rooms, in order to accomplish different tastes and needs: the economy rooms and the superior rooms. All rooms have private facilities, air conditioning, safety box, tvsat and direct dialing telephone. Superior rooms havefree wi-fi and lan connection in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Monopole de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole De La Gare Hotel Milan
Monopole De La Gare Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing