We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monopole de la Gare
Nearby Hotels
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Berna(Milan)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Yard Hotel(Milan)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan(Milan)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Monfort(Milan)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo(Milan)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
25
91
105
50
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
91
105
50
59
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Hotel Monopole in Milan is in a great location around the corner from the Central Train Station. It is easy to find, priced very well, has a wonderful breakfast buffett which is included in the cost of the room, and allows free WiFi in every room. From here, one can get anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes. The Metro is below the station so if you are staying in the city, all parts of it are easily accessable. If you are leaving for other parts of Italy or Europe, tickets can be purchased via kiosk or travel bureaus on site with trains going everywhere just a flight or two above you. Trams, buses, taxis are also avialable at the station as are shops, banks, ATM machines, and restaurants. By staying at the Hotel Monopole, all of Milan is close to you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRichards_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staff was very helpful. You can choose between the newly refurbished ones or the cheaper older ones. We opted for the older ones. Very spatious rooms. Furniture was old but the bathroom was good. Very very clean. Location is excellent being just a couple of minutes walk from the main train station Milano Centrale. We had to leave before they would start serving breakfast so they offered to prepare a breakfast bag to go for us (juice, biscuits, croissant/muffin, fruit, jam and toasted bread) and they remembered I am coeliac and packed a gluten-free muffin in the breakfast bag. Thanks again! We'll definetely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PacalitaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was really not a very pleasant experience.
Me and my friend chose the "economic" room which is like in a normal hostel. Not very clean, noisy and the staff wasn't very friendly either. The only "thing" that separated us from the other room was a door which couldn't be close entirely and therefore we understood everything our neighbours did. Also, we weren't allow to speak very loudly because our neighbours were sleeping on a Saturday night and they came to our door to tell us to shut up.

But worst of all was the hotel's location. Ok, it's close to the metro station but it's near the train station and we arrived at night and there were males and females hookers at every corner of the street. And group of "strange" and dangerous-looking people next to them. I was feeling like in a ghetto.
Me and my friend (2 females) were really scared to go out after a certain hour or even to check in our hotel when we arrived.
Also, there is a ENORMOUS difference between the "economic" rooms and the normal rooms. Anyway, this hotel does not deserve the 3 stars because an economic room in a 3star hotel doesn't look like this one.

I would never return here and I think the price is too high for what they can offer. I prefer to go to a B&B rather than here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreeaP257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We needed a room for just one night and we wanted to stay near the Central station. And we got that... The elevator to the room was frightening, it reminded me of horror movies. The room was basic and had a strange smell. The toilet and shower were disastrous!!! I didn't want to touch anything as is was so dirty and full of mold. It's definitely overpriced and you are asked to pay a tax of 4€ per person per night in cash upon your arrival.
It was ok for one night but that's it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mala_maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I don't like staying near the Stazione Centrale when I am in Milan, but there are times when my travel schedule calls to be near the station. In this case, the Monopole was a last-minute decision and I could have done a lot worse. Ask for a superior room in the new wing - they're a lot more modern and surprizingly larger than expect - worth shelving out the extra Euro's. Although I preferred breakfast in a typical Italian cafe, the breakfast (typical continental-style) seemed good. It appears that tour groups are using the hotel and this is always a good sign if you are not staying at a boutique style property.

Room Tip: Try the new wing and ask for a superior room upgrade if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews