We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok-ish for 1 night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monopole de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monopole de la Gare
Ranked #360 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok-ish for 1 night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Looking at the price we paid the expectations were not high and that was a good thing.

When arriving I had to pay my bill immediately allthough I had given my CC-details and the tone the receptionist had at the moment wasn't very nice and give me more the impression that I was a hobo or something checking in.

Anyway, for the rest we were in the old part of the hotel and well, it's old.
Breakfast wasn't much and the cleanliness of the room could be better too.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viky1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    91
    103
    50
    59
See reviews for
39
94
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Personally, I would not recommend this hotel until they have finished the construction on the building next door. If the sound which resemlbed the floor underneath us being demolished had not woken us, the maid vacuming outside our room at 8.30am would have.
We did enjoy the wireless and the closeness to the central train station but that was about it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

STL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

... because this hotel is a funny one. On one side it's got renovated rooms, on the other rooms are old. We had to find a room for our solo friend for a night nearby our hotel (Crowne Plaza) and it had a great deal.. So for the money we paid for that room, it's ok.

However if you are paying anything above eur 50, make sure that they don't book you in an old room. It's got the worst that the hotel industry in Milan has to offer (or at least close to it) - old flaky furniture, terrible mattress, stinky bathroom that gives off a sewage flavor into the room, old windows that can well keep you up at night, etc, etc...

Real budget hotel, but if you are looking for a cheap accomodation, it's ok I guess.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aceq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

I’ve staid in the newly remodeled part of the hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable: 27” LCD on the wall, controlled air conditioning and fancy bathroom. The room was not big – just right to put the luggage and walk around. Breakfast had choice of two juices, several cereals, 3-4 types of pastries, boiled eggs and few choices of cold meat cuts, cheeses and yogurts as well as hot drinks. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Milan Central Rail Station – less then 5 minutes away. Friendly stuff.

  • Liked — location, confort, cleanness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JacquesPaganel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

How your stay is in this hotel all seems to depend on whether you get allocated a refurbished room, or an old one! I had read reports on here of nice rooms with flat-screen TVs, good facilities etc, and also reports of scruffy rooms, sleepless nights due to trams outside, old TVs and fridges that didn't work.... Unfortunately we got the latter!

Having said that, the room was very clean, the en-suite facilities were adequate, the safe in our room was free and seemed secure as we set the code ourselvces, and the room basic but could have been worse. But we were right above the front door so it was very noisy, and the trams thundered past outside until the early hours and from about 5am. The PC with free internet in the hall wasn't working either, which was a bit annoying, and the staff didn’t know what to do about the error message we kept getting.

We were there for breakfast the first morning and it was fine - quite a bit of choice and buffet-style so you could have what you wanted. The next day we had to leave very early. We told the reception staff that beforehand and they kindly made us up takeaway breakfast packs, which was nice of them.

The staff on the desk we met were friendly and tried to help. Most spoke English very well. It was just a shame about the room - I just wanted to go home for the first hour, although I was glad I didn't in the end. But for 230 Euros a night, I did expect better overall!

So, a mixed experience all-in-all!

  • Liked — Proximity to the main railway station - under 5 mins walk, which was great.
  • Disliked — Our room was basic for the cost
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liver_bird_lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

Our Stay at the Monopole was very good. The Hotel was clean and value for money. the room was adequate for our stay. Some of the reviews do not give justice to this hotel. The staff were very helpful and spoke english. They helped us when ever we had any questions..

The hotel is near central station and is a very good base to explore Milan. I would reccommend this hotel. The area was ok too.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

Ok hotel for the money, clean and everything worked - very close to the central station.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Wilson76Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#263 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#93 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Bicocca
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#286 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
B&B I AM Here - Central Station
Stazione Centrale
Residence de la Gare
Residence de la Gare
#27 of 263 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Bicocca
Il Cortiletto Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole de la Gare

Property: Monopole de la Gare
Address: Via Fabio Filzi 43, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopole de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monopole in Milano is a transit place, few steps away from central station, the most important crossroad in town. People lodge in our place for short or long stays creating a mix of different energies. There are two typologies of rooms, in order to accomplish different tastes and needs: the economy rooms and the superior rooms. All rooms have private facilities, air conditioning, safety box, tvsat and direct dialing telephone. Superior rooms havefree wi-fi and lan connection in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Monopole de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole De La Gare Hotel Milan
Monopole De La Gare Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing