We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Delle Stelline
Ranked #202 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We booked this hotel on our last night in Italy, a Sunday, as it was very near to the start of the Malpensa Express which we were going to take to catch an early flight home the following day. Unfortunately I was pick-pocketed on the Metro from Milan Central station to the hotel and my passport and wallet were stolen. The reception we got was a bit cold when I couldn't produce a passport for the check-in and I felt distinctly unhappy about the lack of sympathy for my situation.
However by the time we had returned from taking our luggage to the room there was a real change of heart from the man at the reception desk. I think sometimes as a traveller one misunderstands the no-nonsense way some Mediterranean people speak for brusqueness but underneath this manner of speaking they are actually concerned.
So a taxi was organised to take us to the police station, our stay was extended for the additional night which was required for me to get a new passport although we had been told that the hotel was fully booked for the following few days, there being am exhibition in the hotel conference areas. So all in all we received very good and helpful service from the hotel.
The location of the hotel is good and we were right across the road from the famous Santa Maria della Grazie, home of Leonardo's Last Supper which we couldn't see as we did not have any booking!
No complaints about the room, bathroom or breakfast but then it was the most expensive place we stayed during our 3 week visit to Italy! Quite a long walk to the lifts to take us to our room though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer100CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

First, don't trust the room photos. While the staff is utterly useless and rude, compared to the filthy sinks they call rooms and dare to charge for 130 Euros, they are the best the place has to offer.

I arrived in this awful monstrosity, which is both a conference center and a hotel, to be a speaker at a relevant there. If this is how they treat their speakers, I cannot even imagine how horrid must be arriving here as an individual paying for just a room as opposed to an entire wing for three days.

I had never been in a hotel so filthy. I have slept in much more decent motels. This hole (meters from Leonardo's Last Supper!) received me with a room where a) the carpet has not been cleaned in a decade and the carpet is even in the walls, deeming the entire room nauseating and untouchable b) two blankets impregnated with some mix of think dust and humidity very ugly to touch and smelly but much better than the third blanket and its bodily fluid stains, which the medieval grotesque figures working as some sort of receptionists thought it was not biggie c) a lamp not working and another broken in a way that makes impossible to handle it. d) a TV that only has pay per view porn, which is good unless you like that trash because anyways the TV would have made my late grandma think that her mastodonte of an artifact was modern and working like an LCD screen. e) a broken shower in a shower space that is too small for a small 5.2 person---I mean it, I cannot stand there, have to contort. f) one towel, which seems perfectly natural to gargantua and pantagruel, the staff. g) a replacement blanket that is somehow cleaner in the sense that it is not a filth but not quite better and that itches if you dare try to manipulate it. h) sheets that have been washed too many times (to compensate for the rest, maybe) i) toilet paper that makes McDonalds look like a luxury store j) a mattress that feels like sleeping on rocks, if I could sleep were possible here. k) wallpaper falling apart whenever the filthy carpet ends.

I could embellish with the so many nice little details such as the dirty trash-can-size ashtray below the NO Smoking signal in the corridor right next to the rooms, that get to share the joy of the smoke and its contagious fragance. Or the 500 meters and three stairs one has to walk to talk to the medieval figures meant as customer service. Not that it helps since they'll mostly ignore you or look at you with sympathy, as one may look at a rat about to board the subway in New York. Run away from this thing,

Room Tip: The best room is any room anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank QueridaPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Great location and a very clean and well-appointed hotel. Very nice restaurant. Staff were very nice.
Unfortunately the same can't be said of the staff at reception who were grumpy and unhelpful. They need to lighten up a bit and smile

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

A very unusual architecture....no frills at all....I think they converted a part of a monastery into a hotel...rooms are reasonable size by European standrads...spartan....but have all that one needs...thoughthe safe in my room did not work...and the pricing was very attractive....well located...I might consider making this my consistent business travelhotel in Milan

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayB2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Great, spacious, clean rooms and bathrooms- we even had a balcony overlooking a wonderful private garden. Good location, right across the famous church with Leonardo's Last Supper and close to Cadorna Station which was really convenient for buses, trains and metro. However the gentlemen at the reception were not so gentle. They made no real effort to help us communicate, though we tried to speak their own language. They were even ironic, mocking us, believing we didn't understand italian, because we didn't drink anything from the overpriced mini-bar. They made a terrible impression on us about their hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balkony, especially if you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mntountoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Palazzo Delle Stelline is a business hotel to which the hotel portion is primarily an adjunct. That said, it is situated in a former cloister/convent across the street from the church housing Da Vinci's Last Supper.

The staff were courteous and helpful, if a bit reserved, The rooms are very clean and quiet - the best night's sleep we've had in a hotel for some time. The plumbing and bathroom fixtures could use an update, but there were no major defects. The hotel has a full service restaurant (which we didn't use so cannot judge), as well as a self service restaurant. One disappointment, for a hotel catering to business people, was the lack of broadband access in the rooms. The only access was one terminal in the lobby at 3 Euros an hour.

Apart from the proximity to the Last Supper, the hotel is close to Cadorna Station/Malpensa Airport Express and within walking distance of all major attractions in Milan centre. Good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pisces49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is also a conference centre for businesses and organisations and that's what it felt like. It was completely sterile, even odd, being apparently deserted even though I believe the hotel was almost fully-booked. It's not a place in which to linger. The interior is modern and there were few facilities. The bar was closed, the restaurant was closed and there was no lounge. There is an internet connected computer in the reception.

The website says that the 105 rooms face a cloister. The hotel rooms are on the first and second floors, the others being offices. Some at least of the rooms on the first floor look onto the courtyard, many, if not all of the ones on the upper floor have sliding windows giving onto a terrace completely enclosed on two sides with a four foot high wall on the other side, so you can see the sky but not over the wall unless you're an adult standing up and leaning up onto it. This effectively means you have a windowless room. The website also says that the dining room is beautiful and cozy. It was blue and beige plain corporate and hot and I believe was a large meeting room that had been given over to breakfast.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied, even if pedestrian in quality and soulless.

The hotel is well-located for an easy trip into town and within 3 or 4 minutes' walking distance of atmospheric restaurants. To view the Last Supper book in advance.

Bed comfortable, bathroom worked.
The hotel is adequate as somewhere to sleep or maybe to attend meetings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiverCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#113 of 427 in Milan
399 reviews
Navigli
B&B Hotel Milano Sant'Ambrogio
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#343 of 427 in Milan
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#157 of 427 in Milan
493 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#125 of 427 in Milan
703 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#175 of 427 in Milan
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Delle Stelline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Delle Stelline

Address: Corso Magenta 61, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £87 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Delle Stelline 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Delle Stelline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Delle Stelline Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing