We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pompous and Unfriendly Hotel Staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Delle Stelline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Delle Stelline
Ranked #196 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pompous and Unfriendly Hotel Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

First the good news: clean rooms; convenient location to metro and major sites; good sized rooms & functioning bathrooms; great breakfast spread; a safe and a microfridge in the room; a TV with some cable channels; and air conditioning.

Now the bad news: the staff completely look down their noses at you. Whether you're a tourist or business person, the front desk staff are the most pompous, condescending, sneering, loathsome bunch of rats I've ever met. The only nice person was the bellhop who took our bags to our room. He was the only person who said hello to us when he passed us in the hall, and smiled at us. Everyone else there basically acts like they wish you'd drop dead. They look at you like you're something they tried to scrape off the bottom of their shoe, but can't quite get rid of.

If you have thick skin, or are perhaps an [--] yourself, then this is not a bad place to stay.

  • Liked — clean rooms & great breakfast
  • Disliked — worst customer service ever!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    186
    213
    82
    47
See reviews for
74
137
45
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2007

The staff at this hotel were very nice, but my room, a deluxe single, reeked of smoke, had no blanket (only a paper-thin coverlet) and was actually on two levels. Don't believe for a second that this place has any character because of its situation inside a converted convent. The insides are like an American motel. One nice thing, however, is that as a conference hotel, there is a bar and a restuarant onsite. I am sure that the food isn't very good, but if it was pouring rain or you just wanted to grab somethign and get back to work in your room it would be fine. Good location for the Castle and the Duomo, and for the Catholic University.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bedding
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

I arrived in Milan with a reservation at a different hotel that turned out to be such a dump I had to scramble to find something on the spur of the moment. I called the Hotel Palazzo delle Steline and they were incredibly accommodating. Although they could only guarantee me a room for the first night out of the four I needed, the friendly desk staff assured me that if they couldn't accommodate me, they would find me someplace nearby, so that I didn't have to do all the calling myself. In the end, I was able to stay all four nights, and I was very glad I did.

As some of the other reviews have noted, the hotel is rather lacking in character, being part of a conference center. Walking around at night was a bit odd, as there were never any people in the large spaces for the conference center. But my room was very large, clean, with nice ameneties (fridge, safe) and a nice view. Breakfast was very good, with great variety. It was located in a good part of town, near the center, but far enough away that it was nice a quiet.

I would stay here again if traveling on business. For a romantic vacation I might try and find something a bit quainter - but then, if I was in Italy for romance, I wouldn't go to Milan!

  • Liked — very helpful staff
  • Disliked — lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cal_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

There is simply no soul here. The desk people are without warmth, the rooms are weird, the lobby is awful. We stayed there because friends lived around the corner and we had early morning appt to see Last Supper, which is a across the street. We would never stay at Stelline again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2006

As the previous reviewer noted, this is a rather bland hotel. Having said that, the room we had was very spacious, clean and quiet. The room was equipped with a minibar and a safe (the latter is necessary given that this is a conference hotel/office accommodation where everyone can wander in fairly unnoticed). Breakfast was good. We booked our room through Opodo and this is where things went disastrously wrong: when we arrived late in the evening, the hotel management claimed that there was no booking in our name and that the hotel was fully booked that night. When we showed the manager our Opodo voucher, he said he had never heard of Opodo which we found very hard to believe! Even a phone call to Opodo didn't resolve the matter: the manager still denied his hotel had any connection with Opodo. He wasn't exactly very friendly, but he did book us a room in another hotel, which despite having the same star rating, was of a lesser standard and was further away from the city centre. We reluctantly booked a room at the Palazzo for the next two nights but only because we had to be at the hotel for a conference and didn't know if there was another hotel nearby. As for Opodo, they claim they booked this hotel for us through a third party who they thought had received confirmation of our booking. In short, both the hotel and Opodo were keen to blame each other and an unknown third party! Our advice: avoid both Opodo and this hotel if you want to be sure there's a room waiting for you upon your arrival in Milan.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2004

This is a very good hotel with clean, modern and quiet rooms which couldn't be faulted. The hotel was formerly a monastery and our room overlooked the garden and cloister which is a unique experience in Milan. That said, the modernity of the hotel and the fact that it is used largely for business conferences and congresses means that there isn't quite as much atmosphere here as I expected - it's all quite clinical in fact. The staff are polite if somewhat superior and not particularly keen to be helpful but we had quite a good deal on the price so there were no complaints! The location is just fine for sightseeing - it's within 1 km of the Duomo and across the road from the church of Santa Maria delle Grazie (with Leonardo da Vinci's The Last Supper Mural so although the area isn't particularly charming it's quite convenient.I would stay here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#99 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#324 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Navigli
B&B Hotel Milano Sant'Ambrogio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Panizza
#126 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#121 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Delle Stelline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Delle Stelline

Property: Palazzo Delle Stelline
Address: Corso Magenta 61, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Delle Stelline 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Delle Stelline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Delle Stelline Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing