We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Delle Stelline
Ranked #207 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I picked this hotel from the reviews mainly based on convienence. If you don't mind walking, everything in the major attractions can be reached. The Last Supper is across the street by 1/2 block and the Museum of Science and Technology is two blocks around the corner. And the Malpensa Express to the airport is two long blocks away as is the Cadorna hub for the subway.
But as one reviewer mentioned the A/C is an old style and what I found is it is shut off sometime in the evening, like 11 or 12, and turned back on at 6:00 AM. That means the fan control in the room does not work either! Makes it difficult to sleep.
Some of the front desk, reception was never air conditioned, were helpful. Others, as was in a review were cold.
Breakfast had a fairly large selection of choices. Eggs - scrambled or do it yourself soft boiled, pancakes - premade, cold cereal, cold cuts and cheese. There was an automatic machine for coffees or hot water, etc. And they would make you espresso if someone was at the machine and you asked. One server seemed to be bothered by may asking in English. The espresso was much better than anything I had from the machine. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and croissants and other sweet cakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank joes704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

just stayed here with the family. We has a clean adequate and comfortable room which was quiet and overlooked lovely gardens. The area is safe and well serviced and easy walking distance for all the key sites, or the tram just outside. Book the Last Supper viewing just opposite at least a week before arrival. The old chuch opposite is splendid. The staff are old style professionals helpful and proud. Ciao Stelline

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

the building is beautiful but not very well refurbished into a business/tourist hotel with convention center. It's in a very good location to visit the city, next ti the "Last Supper".
The receptionist was friendly speaking many languages. Unfortunately our double room number 217 was right above the breakfast room and we could hear the noise from 7am. The decor is from the 80's, no stule nor interior design. They forgot to give us back an ID but managed to send us a taxi to the airport fast enough to be able to get our plane.

Room Tip: avoid rooms above the breakfast room (which is on the first floor, left side coming from the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Palazzo delle Stelline. I disagree that the hotel lacks charm and individuality, I bet it has. The old building has been renovated and now forms a convenient hotel with touch of ancient history. In the same building there are some galleries with ancient and contemporary art masterpieces.

Location very convenient to explore the city. To the left in about 10 minutes walk there is a shopping area. Right across the road from palazzo the Santa Maria delle Grazie church with the Last Supper. 5-7 minutes walk to the Milano Cadorna station from there the Malpensa express goes to the airport, and about 15 minutes in narrow cozy streets to the Dome.

Rooms are quite basic, but still spacious (comparing to most of Scandinavian hotels, my single room was a huge one indeed), and clean. I had the own balcony with the view to the second patio and Santa Maria church. Aircon is an old one (better to say ventilation system), but functioned very well.

The only drawback I would like to mention is the sound proofness which is very low. I heard nearly all the talks in the room to the left and in the corridor. Luckily I got quiet neighbours!

Breakfast is ok, though I would add some boiled sausages or something, to the scrambled eggs offered together with bacon. Good selection of fruits and youghurts, and lots of pastry! Try to come before 9 am to get better variety.

Overall, the hotel is recommended for a short stay, but quite pricey if you stay a week or something.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenka_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The sound proofing in this place is horrible. Interesting to note that the website says that the rooms are 'totally sound proof' http://www.hotelpalazzostelline.it/en/hotel-3-stars-milan-italy/rooms-suite. The walls are so thin that I could hear everything that was going on in the next room. I heard them as they were going at it, could hear every word of the the post-coital conversation, could hear them when they decided to bring the conversation out onto the shared balcony, could hear their phone ring after I rang reception to ask if they could ask them to keep it down, could hear the male of the couple say 'We weren't even loud". Truth be told they weren't even excessively loud for what would be consider within the normal limits of a hotel room. It's just that the sound proofing was that bad.

Breakfast is advertised as 'an area reserved for those following special diets, free from gluten or sugar' (http://www.hotelpalazzostelline.it/en/hotel-3-stars-milan-italy/breakfast-room#sthash.xKUJv9Mv.dpuf). This is accompanied by a misleading photograph suggesting a large array of gluten free options. The reality is one type of gluten free crispbread and one type of gluten free sweet biscuit. These though in their own packaging are not displayed in an area separate from the other gluten containing foods. This is an issue for those with allergies.

Not enough breakfast tables and very slow to clear the tables so end up eating at a table with dirty plates left by others who had used the table previously.

Services substandard. I rang up reception to report problems with the internet and got a very curt reply.

Great location but I was rather miffed to find out having returned home that DaVinci's last supper was only across the street. My fault I know but would have been nice if someone or a sign had pointed that out within the hotel.

Not easy to find. The sign is small and the entrance doesn't look like it is the hotel so actually walked passed it.

Quite expensive for what you get. I walked in thinking it looked like a rather nice hotel with a lovely courtyard and wonderful marble floors in the foyer. The rooms are reasonably large but need refurbishing. Pity, this place could have potential. Will definitely stay somewhere else next time though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room was clean,small and balcony was shared with next room which meant having to always lock the door. Bit sterile and disjointed, lacking focal point and charm. Got stuck inside shower recess with no handle to get out!!!!!! Breakfast moderate. Good location though few locations for small good shopping. Restaurants not cheap. Front desk men very gruff indeed. Another hotel for me next time.
Sassy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fliss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
B&B Hotel Milano Sant'Ambrogio
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#352 of 429 in Milan
516 reviews
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#121 of 429 in Milan
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#182 of 429 in Milan
506 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#234 of 429 in Milan
429 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Pierre Milano
Hotel Pierre Milano
#191 of 429 in Milan
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Delle Stelline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Delle Stelline

Address: Corso Magenta 61, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £67 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Delle Stelline 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Delle Stelline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Delle Stelline Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing