We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice people and yummy meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Montina

Trattoria Montina
Ranked #1,150 of 8,031 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$32 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice people and yummy meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice restaurant small and private, run by the twins Montina, the cook and the maitre. They're fun and professional at the same time. the fish and the meat are the best that you can find in town. and the prices are honest considering you're in the center of Milan.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    107
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb, one of the finest in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I dined ate Montina on a recent trip to Milan.
It was the clear winner from all the restaurants that I ate in.
A menu that will satisfy all palates and some great specials offered on the evening I dined there.
Professional service and reasonably priced IMHO
Full of locals which is always a good sign, owner appeared to know most of the diners.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Arrogant attitude, average food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointer by Trattoria Montina. The food is average quality and the service not up to standard. In addition the staff was rude. The owner should learn to treat the customers in the proper way. Trattoria Montina is one of those places where at the best you get engored if they don't know you.
Overall an unpleasant experience not worth the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fairworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trattoriamontina, Proprietario at Trattoria Montina, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
Sono molto dispiaciuto per l'esperienza negativa vissuta alla Trattoria Montina.
Le chiedo scusa e se ci fosse un'altra occasione gradirei averla ospite alla Trattoria Montina.

Cordiali saluti,
Maurizio Montina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Its one of the best spaghetti's I've ever eater, can be compared to even the best i've eaten in the south of italy. Maurizio and his brother team up to really make one of the coolest places to eat. He has a huge selection of grappa's. Service is great, maurizio entertains and his brother really cooks. Reserve, can be hard to get a table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ehvoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very rude attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We did not eat there. I've booked the restaurant over the phone. We were late about 30 min because of the bad traffic. When we came in we were rudly explained that our table is busy. There were 2 people sitting in the restaurant, all other places were empty. I thought he was joking. He did not even say, he was sorry. I was shocked. Luckily we found the other restaurant with happy people and good atmosphere and superb food the same evening. Would not recommend. You do not want to feel as I felt just because they overestimate themselves and do not respect the customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasute_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trattoriamontina, Proprietario at Trattoria Montina, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
Faccio parte di una realtà di ristoratori i quali ricevono prenotazioni e spesso senza avviso il cliente non si presenta.
Questo atteggiamento danneggia la nostra attività e ci costringe, eventualmente, a rifiutare altri potenziali clienti.
Basterebbe una semplice telefonata per comunicare l'eventuale ritardo.

Distinti Saluti,
Maurizio Montina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Montina also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Montina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing