We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfair treatment of Hotel guests, if the room was booked thru travel agency”
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Uptown Palace
Ranked #58 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Location is on the street, where parking is possible virtually anytime (in close proximity to Hotel) and vety very close to Duomo, La Scala etc.
Rooms with Santa Sofia view are extreamly noisy, especially during nighttime. Frequent emergency medical care cars rides with loud signals during the night make sleeping hardly possible.
Rooms are well equipped, but extreamly low in size. There is only appx 30 cm spaces between walls and bed on both sides.
Breakfast is only acceptable, nothing special. Breakfast room in not big enouph, what leads to frequent queing, up to 15 min waiting time.
We faced two strange situations in this hotel - first, all our requests concerning bedding, rooms location etc was omitted in reservation list in Hotel's computer system. Reception stuff informed us, that they had not received this information from our british travel agency. It seems very strange, considering the fact, that 2 other hotels in our trip, booked thru the same agency obviously had received our requests from agency and allocated us as requsted.
Second, upon arrival we were informed that requested extra bed for child costs 20€. We argued, that Hotel description on Booking.com indicated that children up to 12 years stay free for extrabeds. Reception firstly agreed with us, but then after internal conversation said, that free child bed is available only if the room has been booked thru booking.com.
We are frequent travellers, but we faces such unequal treatment of guests in european city hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room with NO view to Sanra Sofia street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

A Great 4 night stay at the uptown palace. comfy rooms. great service. perfect location. tasty buffet breakfast. would recommend to anyone. one negative is the internet service which is slow and only available in the Lobby. I'm not sure if this is the same through out milan or just a poor service here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Everything was perfect... for a very fair price ! Locaton is very good, near the most interesting attractions in Milan, just about 10 minute walk. The hotel is very nice: our room was very clean and well decorated. It is "hotel-boutique" style. The staff (front desk, room service, restaurent, bar) is really nice and gives a very good service. The breakfast buffet is really good with a lot of food choices and the staff serves you the coffee you want i.e. expresso, cappucino...We really enjoyed our stay, which was 6 nights, and we would go back to this hotel anytime and we do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada_514_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I have been to this hotel many times and always the service is perfect,the rooms are super clean,I am satified.
the locations is not just in the center but it is 5-10 minutes walking to duomo.
recommend this hotel for all people going on business trip to milano

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valiaveselinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Perfect place to stay in Milan, next to the center for shopping or restaurants. Fair price for cozy and modern accommodations. Internet service is bad, charged for device/day and expensive, better to buy a pre-paid phone operator chip. All other services are great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apeterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and had a perfect stay.

We booked the accommodation quite awhile in advance, and as we had been planning our trip for awhile had counted on booking the special "60 day advance rate" policy. We originally looked at this rate (~5 months before our trip) and it worked out okay, but when it came time for us to book, the rate wouldn't work for these dates! This was a heavily discounted rate and there were no black-out dates advertised so I emailed the hotel, to be replied with an offer of a different, more expensive rate. As I was frustrated, I rang the hotel and was offered a different rate again - this time cheaper than the email but more expensive than the advance purchase rate. More frustrated, I emailed the hotel back and finally secured the advance rate and purchased via email. The payment didn't actually go through until quite recently when I noticed and emailed again to remind the hotel, whence it went through straight away.

Anyway! The hotel was 5 - 10 minutes taxi ride from Cadorna Station (we travelled here from Malpensa) and a lovely warm welcome to the city. We had booked a Classic room, but on check-in we were upgraded two-fold to a Deluxe room! The room was incredibly spacious with excellent facilities and the staff were very lovely and eager to help us in any way possible. We found during the entirety of our stay that they were incredibly courteous and lovely. It was such a lovely, warm, welcoming hotel to come back to at the end of long days of sightseeing and I would definitely stay there again - especially at such a reasonable rate. We chose to walk almost everywhere in Milan and it is within reasonable walking distance to the Duomo (15 - 20 minutes) and the Last Supper (15 - 20 minutes).

A few not-as-nice points --
1) Breakfast: very crowded and hotel obviously not equipped to deal with so many people in the space. On our first morning we only had 20 minutes to spare but after arriving on the floor for breakfast and seeing the queue, we just left. The second morning we got there a lot earlier, but again - a massive queue! It was difficult enough getting a table for two, trying to get a table for a family would have been an absolute nightmare. The selection was okay but not outstanding - and it is advertised on the website that there is a dedicated gluten free section (my partner is a Coeliac) but we could not find this (unless they meant the antipasto section...)

2) Wifi in the room costs E9 - E12 per 24 hours (12 for decent speed) and to get free access in the lobby you need to enquire for username, password etc. Not too big a deal but still!

Anyway, a wonderful hotel with really lovely staff in an excellent location - great value for money. Room was very spacious, bathroom was massive and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Would love to return to Milan and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are amazing and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice-and-Alex-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

My stay at the Uptown Palace was just awesome - the location of the hotel's just great.. Just 3 mins by taxi to the cathedral - staff was really nice - just right for a weekend-getaway. I really recommend this hotel - we even got upgraded to a better room - u will definitely enjoy your stay at this hotel :-) Matt

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4dze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
nhow Milano
#28 of 430 in Milan
2,015 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 430 in Milan
1,908 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#105 of 430 in Milan
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 430 in Milan
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Milan
#44 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#52 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £111 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 165 fully soundproofed rooms. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing