We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with a good location”
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Uptown Palace
Ranked #56 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank silbayle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uptownpalace, Operations Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

The location is not great, an off back street about 15 min walk from the dome. The room was cold (18.5 oC) and despite telling the staff 3-4 times, it did not improve. It was really poor since it affected our romantic weekend. The room was modern and fresh but one of our pillows had stains on it. Even if it is a permanent stain and the pillow was "clean" it is not something you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was excellent. The shower started pouring water now and then, sometimes in the early morning making noise and since it is one of those big jungle showers, it made quite some noise. One of the milk cartons for the instant coffee was bad and made the coffee a black and white slurry (could have been due to the high temperature of the boiling water though). Only two elevators in a large hotel meant that we had to wait sometimes 5 minutes. We tried to find the stairs, but they seem to run outside the building(!). Not cheap either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jens f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your constructive comments as it is through comments such as yours that we can gauge our services and facilities in order to make the necessary improvements.
I do apology that you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel ,our services and the technical issue regarding the air conditioning and the shower.
We never hid about the location of the hotel which is not adjacent the Duomo, but 10 to 15 minutes walking distance.
I am sorry that our staff was not able to manage the situation offering an alternative accommodation for the temperature and shower issue, as we always do in these circumstances.
Please allow me to specify that hotel has four elevators in service and two internal stairs which lead to the ground floor .
Once again please accept our deepest apologizes for the inconvenient , rest assured that our focus has always been our Guests' satisfaction and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and to show you the effective standard of our hotel and that the wonderful comments we have received until now on Tripadvisor are deserved and what happened was just an isolated case.

Best regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for two nights at the UP hotel on a long weekend trip to Milan.
Was pleasantly surprised by the location of this hotel, just a 10 minute walk to the Duomo and main shopping streets. The ideal location for walking around the downtown area, with major sights in comfortable walking distance. Trams and metro stations also serve the area well.
The hotel itself is very modern and stylish inside. We stayed in a classic room which although slightly on the small side, was perfectly presented and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Reception and concierge staff are friendly, welcoming and super helpful.
Would highly recommend & stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emcka0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uptownpalace, Operations Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Emcka0,

we are delighted by your very nice feedback.

Your satisfaction is our goal therefore we are very glad we have fully met your expectations.
The strategic location, just a few steps from the center of the city, is one of our most important assets.

We hope to welcoming you back soon at Uptown Palace.

Kindest Regards,

Alfredo Petrone
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had booked a standard double room for 3 nights. after we checked in, we found some fly in the bathroom, we got angry, because the main reason for booking this hotel was it's cleanliness, so we immediately informed reception and they changed the room in friendly manner. the new room was very clean. the other thing which made me angry was about room service; although we stick "do not disturb" but house keeping had entered the room.
in generally the room was clean, tiny and modern.sleep quality was excellent. breakfast was good but it can be improved to american breakfast. we had dinner in the hotel restaurant, it was delicious. wifi was free for an hour in lobby. Location was good; only 15 minutes walk to milan city center. they put some cookies and a card for my husband birthday in room, it surprised us very much. we enjoy staying this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uptownpalace, Operations Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Nazila N,

we thank you very much for your kind feedback.
Glad to read your satisfaction with our rooms, breakfast, restaurant and the efficient Reception service; everyday our staff is putting its best effort in order to provide you with the best experience ever.
We are so sorry for the “do not disturb” matter but we guarantee that our housekeeping service is always very professional.
We thank you as well for your suggestion about the breakfast (we will surely take it in consideration) and for having stressed the importance of our location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Alfredo Petrone
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed as part of our honeymoon in October. All staff we encountered were so friendly and welcoming and congratulated us which was so nice. Angela kindly showed us to our room where they had given us an upgrade which was really appreciated.
We sat with Riccardo in the bar who far exceeded our expectations to welcome us and teach us about Italy and the language. I really reccommend this hotel as the service is second to none and the rooms themselves are absolutely beautiful. Not to mention the amazing breakfast buffet! Special thanks to Angela & Riccardo for making our stay so perfect

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. Very spacious rooms, huge bathroom, modern and well kept. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good, just a very doable walk from the Duomo square, otherwise there was a metro stop just around the corner. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jaxomsyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a long drive we were keen to rest up in the hotel. Uptown Palace was a modern, clean and stylish hotel in a very convenient location, only 10 - 15 minutes walking distance to the main shopping precincts and sights.

We had a larger room on a higher floor, which looked out onto the main street. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and lovely decor and amenities. The bed was super comfortable and conducive to a good nights sleep. The bathroom included a bath which was a welcome relief as a pregnant traveller.

The concierge staff and reception staff were helpful with explaining the car parking and directions to various points of interest around the city.

The breakfast restaurant was impressive, a great selection of pastries, cereals, hot items and juices. All very tasty and well presented.

We would highly recommend this hotel, but might pay to upgrade if your looking for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyofleisureisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#104 of 431 in Milan
1,523 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 431 in Milan
1,112 reviews
nhow Milano
#29 of 431 in Milan
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Milan
#44 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#50 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £124 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 165 fully soundproofed rooms. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing