We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinners!”

Ristorante Borromeo
Ranked #2,274 of 8,237 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
buenos aires
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent dinners!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We saw this place when walking to another restaurant and found it crowded, so we decided to return another night during our stay in Milan.
The ambiance, service, menu options, quality of the ingredients and presentation were excellent. The menu offers interesting dishes. The wines are not listed in the menu and suggested by the staff instead. The suggested wines were really good. We decided to go back with my mother and sister who were also visiting Milan and celebrated my mother's birthday there. We had a great time.
I definitely recommend this place if you visit Milan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonstoneBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    46
    23
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler's Ford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem with Excellent Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Who would have thought that such a good restaurant existed so close to the tourist traps near the duomo. We didn't until it was recommended by our hotel. It was busy of the Sunday evening we visited; mainly with locals. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. Although the food was traditional Italian fare, we were surprised to see a NY style burger on the menu! We steered clear of the aberration and throughly enjoyed our meal with a great bottle of merlot. The food was exactly what you'd expect of a good restaurant in the middle of Milan. If you want a cheap meal you can visit Chef Micro in any of the many cafes near the duomo. As always, if you want good food you have to pay for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MutleySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very personal and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Food was good, starter were a bit expensive 14 euro but still it contained several things, so you can try everything. Pica was perfect, also personal welcoming and spoke a good English.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Foreigners are put to the back room”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Typical Trattoria, food reasonable, shotr wine list - but all non italian speaking guests were grouped in the backroom, although the nice tables in front remained unoccupied during the whole evening

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KlausWendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great "neighbourhood" restaurant where locals go!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We didn't know what to expect walking along the little streets away from the touristic Duomo area but it certainly was a great surprise. We were turned away from the first restaurant we approached because it was a Saturday night and we didn't have reservations BUT Piazza Borromeo made room for us and gave us a great table for two. It turned out to be a popular haunt for many locals who appeared to be regulars there. Almost every customer who came into the restaurant were met personally by the owner (we think) and / or his assistant. There were hugs and niceties exchanged and they were obviously familiar with each other - and no wonder, because this would be a restaurant I would keep coming back to if I lived in Milan because the food was great and the atmosphere was relaxed even though the restaurant was not very large and filled to the brim. The owner (?) and his assistant were friendly and the food didn't take long to come after we ordered.

Their complimentary bread was great and they even brought us a second basket once we almost finished the first basket they brought :) Hubby and I shared an ensalata caprese which was very creatively presented in a tower. Fresh mozzarella cheese was used throughout even on hubby's pizza. My spaghetti with clams was very tasty and I enjoyed every morsel. And of course - the homemade tiramisu was heaven. Not surprising at all!

All this and the bill was very very reasonable. Highly recommended restaurant off the tourist track.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RozSallehudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Borromeo also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Ristorante Borromeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing