We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a two night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. You enter through large wrought iron gates into a courtyard. Up a short slope and enter through open sliding doors into a magical world of bric a brac, momentos, collectables all beautifully presented with obvious attention to detail. Warm smiles greet you as you are eased though registration. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a self contained suite. Beautifully appointed, LOVELY bed with feather pillows offering a great night's sleep. Immaculate bathroom and I could go on, but by now you will have got the drift!

Put simply,, there is nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's expensive relative to Australia but not relative to Milan - particularly during fashion week; which is when we were there.

The location is perfect as it's really close to some great restaurants bustling with people enjoying their al fresco dining, adjacent to one of the canals. As well, you are a short, interesting 15 minute stroll from the Duomo and it's piazza - that seems to be the beating heart of the City.

All the staff at the hotel go the extra yard to make your stay memorable.

Exceptional hotel, strongly recommended.

Room Tip: The seemingly strange name of this hotel was explained to me. The Yard.......as it is located in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Dudley C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us. It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such a memorable experience in our hotel and enjoyed your trip in Milan. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    140
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
124
390
34
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed there with my wife for 4 nights. It is one of the best property we could have found in Milan. The location was perfect as it was close to Navigly which is a great area with abundant restaurants and bars and full of life.
Our room was good size with a small balcony. The room was done very tastefully and was just exceptional. The breakfast was home-cooked and was just delicious.
BUT the best thing about the hotel are the two fine ladies, Maria and Stefanie, who go to any lenghts to make your stay comfortable. They make the place feel like your own home and are always smiling and have great knowledge about the Milan as well other places as were travelling to Florence after that. These ladies are truly exceptional and the best I have ever met!
In all, we will surely stay at this hotel anytime we are in Milan again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Dpak7,

We are really happy to note that you and your loved one had a great experience from arrival to departure. We truly appreciate your kind recommendation of our hotel, and we do look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back again for another memorable experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This 20-room boutique hotel is located in the trendy Navigli district of Milan. The hotel is tucked away in a small courtyard making it difficult to find but definitely worth it. The eclectic decor is filled with multiple artifacts. For example, seating in the reception area consists of barber chairs; there is a drum set in the front window and hunter’s boots and ski racquets in the lobby.
The hotel is in close proximity to good restaurants along the canals, and about a half hour walk (or 8 Euro cab ride) to the Duomo.
Our accommodations (penthouse, suite 2) were tastefully appointed, comfortable and spacious. We also had a private balcony facing the front of the building. It rained while we were there, so unfortunately we didn’t get to enjoy the balcony and outdoor furniture.
The Yard is a family-owned establishment. Service is extremely personalized albeit casual. Stefania and Maria went that extra mile to make our stay extra special by getting us tickets to Da Vinci's Last Supper (a must), recommending local restaurants and arranging for a driver to take us to Malpensa.
Breakfast is set up in the lobby area. Guests sit together at a large harvest table which is impeccably set with fine dishes, utensils and linens. The offering consists of savoury and sweet foods; your choice of coffee is served at the table. I was told that the delicious sweet treats are homemade daily by Stefania. Complimentary bottled water, juice and snacks are available throughout the day. A very nice touch.
Overall it was a wonderful stay, although not inexpensive.
A word of caution: if you plan on dining on a terrace along the canal, beware of mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Agnes_Pierre,

We are very delighted to hear that you and your loved one spent such relaxing days here at our hotel and enjoyed the selection of our breakfast, and our relaxing Maison. We look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another inspiring moment with us.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you are looking for something different this is your place. A B&B tastefully decorated with a modern touch, hosts that are extremely friendly, a highly convenient location, rooms that are equipped with the newest faucets and showers, everything comes together in a place that makes you feel at home. Worthwhile to be mentioned is that the whole building is not at the street, therefore everything is quiet, Add to that a super breakfast, the proximity to Naviglia and some good restaurants and you don't need to look anywhere else.
The only critique is something that happens in many hotels. Why do they need to charge 6 Euros for a can of Sprite in the room fridge? This should be a convenience for the guest, not a profit area.
To their credit I have to say that when I mentioned this, the charge was cancelled!
Bravo for them!

Room Tip: We had Winch which is large and comfortable. They have now several new rooms to be inaugarated as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Carlos L,

We are so pleased to note that you had such a good time and impressed with our hotel and felt comfortable with the room and our breakfast. Your valuable feedbacks are really appreciated. We have taken into account the aspects you mentioned as we continuously strive to bring a better value of our service delivery. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Believe me this place is worth trying to find! My husband and I drove past the entrance three times EVEN when our navigation system told us we had arrived! My best advice it to look for the McDonald's on one corner and a coffee shop across the street at the Piazza 24 Maggio and then proceed one half block and look for a small black name plate on the wall. There are gates that must be entered and then even when you get into the parking garage you cannot find where to proceed for check-in. This, however, is the only bad thing I can say about this quaint, boutique hotel! The rooms were beautiful - so different! It is a place that you will not forget! The service from Stephania and other staff members was wonderful. They were very kind - always ready to help with a smile. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious and the hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Duomo and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dascfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Dascfp,

We are pleased to note that you and your loved one had such a good time at our hotel and to hear that both of you were impressed with the service delivery of our team. I will share your kind words to the entire team and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your loved one back again at the hotel for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Like almost all reviewers, we found this hotel a bit difficult to find. In fact, our taxi driver from the local Metro station did not know where it was. Eventually we found it, and it is in fact in a very nice location. It's away from the center but only a 5-10 minute tram ride away from the Duomo (however, it is not very close to any of the metro stations). It was a very interesting neighborhood with many nearby restaurants.
Our room was large, though a bit quirky, with lots of memorabilia. It did not open to the outside so we had to use the air-conditioning 9(which we don't like to do) even though the weather was perfect when we were there. The shower was very nice; though the sink did not drain properly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was OK, but not as extensive as it could be for a hotel of that price.
The hotel is just finishing a large addition, that will make it more of a 5-star facility and it will be interesting to see if it changes the character of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Richlo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of your valuable experiences. We appreciate your valuable feedback which we will continuously strive to bring a better value and quality of our service delivery for you to enjoy on your next visit. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and to experience with our 11 brand new hotel rooms.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Originally planned to spend only 2 nights in Milan but the hospitality and comfort and design and collection of odd "objets d'art" around the premises seduced me into extending my stay to five nights. Stephania, who seems to be the manager of the hotel, couldn't have been warmer and the owner himself was delightfully charming to chat with. I can see why he said that The Yard wasn't a hotel: it was so much more personal and personable than any I've ever stayed in. The Yard is about a 20 minute walk to The Duomo but just across the large square that it is on are a series of canals which seems to be a hub for artists and new restaurants. For a perspective on Milan that is different from the ones offered by the same old hotels i would highly recommend trying The Yard .
Glyn. New York

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Glyncas,

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation for our service and facilities. We consider all your feedback very valuable and will strive to meet the specific needs of our valuable guests such as yourself. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
599 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
310 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing