We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly, yet trendy!”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and friendly, yet trendy!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We are familiy of five and we had a fantastic stay at the Yard in Milano. The friendly owner and staff did their utmost to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was great, rooms clean, and the interors were super cool and trendy! Location was great too, close to a range of nice restaurants, and 100 meters from the tram which quickly took us into the Duomo and the main shopping District. Recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin_Nordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Kristin_Nordal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for complimenting our hotel family-friendly destination. We are really happy to note that you and your family had a great experience with us, and also to hear that your children had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back for another inspiring stay.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    140
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
124
389
34
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

is a decent hotel- but as we are more conventional in our tastes we found it a little uncomfortable. the rooms were very good- the staff very, very friendly- but the boutique nature made it difficult to cope with their restrictions. Like the gate closes at 12.00 at night and then we have to access it with a card- which might work and which might not.
At the breakfast you have to sit on a big bench type of table with all the other guests- it is like forcing us to be friendly with totally new stranger... we saw a young korean couple feeling very awkward with this forced amiability.
But my family members were more happy than me. they found the art curios just fantastic. The location in excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Rajnihiro,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. Our aim is to respond to the needs of every guest on a personal level so each guest leaves us rested, energized and renewed; and we regret that we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. We will continuously strive to meet the personal needs of all our guests. Thank you once again to share your valuable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed in this small, boutique hotel for one night while passing through Milan and wish the stay had been longer. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the service is top notch. Great value. Hope to be back for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmap723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Jmap723,

We are very pleased to note that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us, and really appreciate your plan to return. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more special and memorable.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed in the fisherman room it was lovely. The staff is very warm and helpful. My favorite part was the breakfast it was absolutely delicious. Very chic and cool decor!

The owner was very nice, friendly & hands on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew78CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Matthew78CO,

It is a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your valuable experience, I will certainly share your kind review with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This boutique hotel has earned its place at the top of the Trip Advisor list for Milan. What a wonderful experience. Stefania and Maria and delightful hostesses without being intrusive. Each room is individually decorated - ours was the hunting room which had an interesting array of antlers on the wall, perhaps not for everyone but we enjoyed the novelty. The fittings and furnishings are interesting and excellent quality. The bathroom is modern and also spacious, the shower had good water pressure. The bed was absolutely comfortable with excellent quality linen and good pillows. Breakfast was terrific - the food amazing and they went out of their way to offer something special for my gluten allergic husband (a terrible thing to be in Italy!). The table decor was beautiful. The decorator of this hotel really knows their stuff as does the chef. We walked to the Duomo - about 20 minutes, and the canals are about 5 minutes away. Maria recommended an excellent restaurant - I can't remember its name so do ask Maria for the recommendation. There is also a well behaved and friendly dog at the hotel. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Elizabeth T,

We are very pleased to note that you and your husband had such a great time enjoying the variety of our service and facilities as this is the best reward for all of us. I will certainly share it with the team especially those you have mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable stay and to experience with our 10 brand new hotel rooms.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a two night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. You enter through large wrought iron gates into a courtyard. Up a short slope and enter through open sliding doors into a magical world of bric a brac, momentos, collectables all beautifully presented with obvious attention to detail. Warm smiles greet you as you are eased though registration. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a self contained suite. Beautifully appointed, LOVELY bed with feather pillows offering a great night's sleep. Immaculate bathroom and I could go on, but by now you will have got the drift!

Put simply,, there is nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's expensive relative to Australia but not relative to Milan - particularly during fashion week; which is when we were there.

The location is perfect as it's really close to some great restaurants bustling with people enjoying their al fresco dining, adjacent to one of the canals. As well, you are a short, interesting 15 minute stroll from the Duomo and it's piazza - that seems to be the beating heart of the City.

All the staff at the hotel go the extra yard to make your stay memorable.

Exceptional hotel, strongly recommended.

Room Tip: The seemingly strange name of this hotel was explained to me. The Yard.......as it is located in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Dudley C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us. It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such a memorable experience in our hotel and enjoyed your trip in Milan. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed there with my wife for 4 nights. It is one of the best property we could have found in Milan. The location was perfect as it was close to Navigly which is a great area with abundant restaurants and bars and full of life.
Our room was good size with a small balcony. The room was done very tastefully and was just exceptional. The breakfast was home-cooked and was just delicious.
BUT the best thing about the hotel are the two fine ladies, Maria and Stefanie, who go to any lenghts to make your stay comfortable. They make the place feel like your own home and are always smiling and have great knowledge about the Milan as well other places as were travelling to Florence after that. These ladies are truly exceptional and the best I have ever met!
In all, we will surely stay at this hotel anytime we are in Milan again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Dpak7,

We are really happy to note that you and your loved one had a great experience from arrival to departure. We truly appreciate your kind recommendation of our hotel, and we do look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back again for another memorable experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
606 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing