We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Navigli District”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #4 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Yard while in Milano for a business trip. The rooms were huge by European standards and I loved the decor. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was so quiet I could not believe I was staying right at Porta Ticinese which is a very bustling part of the city. Excellent restaurants can be find all over near the hotel and the Duomo is a short tram ride away although I walked most nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Gentile Matt L,

it is a pleasure to have you stay with us during your business trip, and to know that you felt comfortable with the room and enjoyed the area. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on our service delivery of our staff. We will certainly improve the quality & efficiency of our service toward our valuable guests such as yourself. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I booked the hotel for 3nights but needed to check out 1 day earlier. When I informed a day before the owner Alexandro said he could not change my reservation because I had booked through Venere.com. which was all lie. When I checked Venere.com policy they mentioned they could not modify the reservation after the check in, only the hotel herself could change for free of charge. He insisted to pay for whole 3 nights since he could not re-sale for the next day. But the hotel was not fully booked anyway! He promised for the 1 night refund if I could prove that Verene's policy but he had not refund yet.
Also, he asked me to have a breakfast at the room as there would be investigation from official.
I doubt some of their operation is not met the regulation.
They did not change the bath towels nor the sheets for the second day either even thought they charge over 200Euro per night!
It was a nightmare and my Milan trip has been destroyed by this hotel owner!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yurik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore generale at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Yurik0

We are firm belivers in the value of hard work, and we have an enormous respect for our guests. Everyday we do our very best to make sure that our guests have their every need met.
Unfortunately, witnessing your behavior during the request of cancellation, only the night before wanting to leave early, we are not surprised by your judgment of our Hotel.

The reality of the situation is actually quite the opposite of what you say.
Having just recently enlarged our structure, there are certain controls requested by Law, that we have no power of choosing hour or date. This is to ensure the safety of your guests, that is something we have always done and will always do.
The control in question was by the Firemen, and we chose to have our guests enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, to avoid disturbance buy the control or complicate the important work that the firemen do for the safety of us all.
We are sorry, that the ‘in room’ service was not to your liking, since everyone else seemed content.

As for the cancellation of your last night, it is necessary to say that this was only communicated to us the night before, and my first answer was that we would have verified immediately with Venere’s policy of cancellation, because being a small structure makes it a bit complicated with last minute cancellations on the various research sites, they often wary.
If you could see the situation from our point of view, you’d understand that having only around 20 rooms, if a few rooms all would ask for the last minute cancellation, for us it would be impossible to work, therefore our cancellation policy.
Without that a lot of guests could book a longer stay and then just cancel once checked in, and yes! That would give us huge problems.

Your threat of writing us a bad review was very clear in you threatening mail, to reimburse you or you would write a bad review. A shame, since we did as promised and checked with Venere, and they confirmed that they could not cancel. So that would mean, not having you pay, we would have to pay the commission for something we did not earn, to be able to please your needs.
So one would think you’d understand our situation, and we would have been more than happy to give you a special rate for a future stay with us.
I repeat, since the booking was not made directly with us but through Venere, the cancellation request should have been made directly to Venere.
And what do you know… they do NOT give you the possibility to cancel a checked in stay at any hotel!!!

As for the change of towels and sheets, we keep to the regulation of all international 4 or even better 5 star hotels, ( if you place the towel on the floor, we do change it! If not it means you are reusing it and respecting the nature, by not overusing water! )
Of course, all you had to do was to tell us you like your sheets and towels changed every day!
The good thing about being a small hotel is that we can dedicate more time to the various requests of our guests, and make it more personalized. All you need to do is ask.

Of course we are sorry about this situation, and Do invite you to come back and stay with us, since in your “ threats” in the mail also said that if we’d reimburse you, you said you’d write a wonderful review!
This will only teach us more and we will grow and get better on how to handle certain situations.

To finish, you write that “ you had a nightmare trip in Milan “ putting a lot of importance to Tripadvisor review, we find it quit clear that the complaints of sheets and towels is your way of revenge for not having you wish granted.

Your review of our hotel will for sure do us some harm, but this will only make us work harder and even more passionate, in the hope of always welcoming guests at our hotel, even though sometimes rightfully critic, but never as harsh as you madam.

Best regards,

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Small boutique hotel off the touristy area but near to the canal lined with bars and restaurants. It is also very convenient to catch a tram to the Duomo. Absolutely love the decor of the hotel and the room, very classy. Breakfast is a communal affair and you will get the chance to chat to fellow travellers. It is an expensive stay but it is too pretty to resist. Stayed during Summer and we definitely look forward to the air conditioning after a hot day outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank free_sp1rit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Free_sp1rit,

we are really happy to note that you had a great experience from arrival to departure and impressed with the quality and comfort of our service and facilities. I will certainly share it with the team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones back for another memorable experience this summer.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Yard last November. It was an awesome place to stay. The rooms were great. Large for and decorated very unique. Also the staff at the hotel were incredibly nice. The women in the morning who made breakfast would always make us something even if we slept past breakfast. The owner gave us great restaurant recommendations--restaurants also had the unique feel as well. Great location--close to the roman columns, the canals. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jreinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Jreinus,

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We value your feedback and will continuously make every effort to keep our room clean, comfortable, and relaxing. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay and to experience our breakfast à la carte.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very nice place to stay, very friendly staff, design is very different of what I used to see in hotels. You can love it or you can hate it...Very good location for night and day trips out.
What I don't like- the doors are like from paper- so if you have neighbours coming you here every word- they here too I think. And I have never seen safe in the room which is not fixed to the wall- you can take it to your hand and walk away with it :) One more thing- there was a shower in the room and no curtain- so when I take shower water spreads all around so later we had half bathroom with wet floor
I would recommend it and I will come back myself.

Room Tip: Take a room with terase , you can spend wonderfull night there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darius I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Jreinus,

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We value your feedback and will continuously make every effort to keep our room clean, comfortable, and relaxing. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay and to experience our breakfast à la carte.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice parking (20EUR), good breakfast, really comfortable well designed rooms. Wifi is free and good.
Little expensive, but for the moment now - it's my favourite hotel (especially in Milan),
1,7 km walk to Duomo, Chiocolatta and Grom icecream cafe on the way to city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Elena N,

we are pleased to note that you had such a good time and impressed with the quality and comfort of our service and facilities. Thank you so much for sharing your valuable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We chose this hotel specifically because it was within walking distance to the Navigli area and our dinner reservation at al Pont de Ferr. It is an easy walk, even in heels, to all the bars and pubs, and we walked home after dinner around midnight with no worries. Lots of foot traffic, very friendly vibe with lots of young people out. The transportation hub is great - subway and train around the corner, taxi stand outside. Stayed in the surf room downstairs, no noise issues at all! The hotel itself was fun and funky, great modern design that manages to feel like your own home, if you lived in a million-dollar pad. Friendly staff, always helpful and smiling, even patiently helped us decipher the lobby TV and fixed us a toddy as we attempted (unsuccessfully) to watch a movie in our bathrobes. Overall, very fun and interesting, a definite to do again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Emily H,

it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your valuable experience, I will certainly share your kind review with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
721 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#8 of 427 in Milan
1,478 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £166 - £2,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing