We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #7 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel that's not too far away from the duomo. The rooms are incredibly interesting with themes for each individual room and the service was also very good. Indeed, when we went to the hotel for the first time we were very surprised by where it was and what it looked like. The rooms are also very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coollawyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore generale at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Coollawye,

Thank you for taking tome to write a review! We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and liked our style.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back some day!

Our kindest reards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    131
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
121
359
31
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Feels like staying at home - a luxurious, stylish, exclusive home. If you like design, good taste and chilled out luxury, this is for you. Don't think I'd stay anywhere else when coming back to Milano. And if possible I'd take the same room: Jab. Amazing bed, linen, decoration. Just right.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaRachel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The design of the ground floor is very nice, but in the room it was too noisy and the airconditioning didn't work for two days. The room was not cleaned properly. The shower doesn't have any door and the toilet which is just in front of it is always wet!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Due to bad weather in the mountains we decided to go to Milan. My husband drove and I checked the Trip advisor on the way. We decided for the Yard and were very happy with our decision. What a cool place! We stayed in the tennis room which was great and so was the bathroom. There was even a picture of our great Swedish tennis hero Bjorn Borg! The location was good with 10-15 min walk to the cathedral and a lot of good restaurants in the neighborhood. However, I agree with other reviewers that the breakfast was nothing to write home about and the balcony was a bit cramped. The parking was also made for small Italian cars and not big German ones. All in all a great hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenMep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore generale at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for! We are very happy you enjoyed you stay with us!
We very much appreciate the kind words, as for the Parking.... you are right! it's not the most spacious....but somehow we always manage, even with big German cars.
And the chance that we accomodate Swedes in our tennis room with Bjørn Borg...

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Yard in the future!

Kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights at start of May, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. As everyone else has commented, it is based in a very good location, probably around 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre. There were a number of excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, so no need to walk too far in the evenings.

The room itself was very spacious (The Polo room). Slept well every night, which is unusual as i generally struggle to sleep in hotel beds! The shower was also excellent. My only small negative about the room was the size of the balcony - it felt very claustrophobic with the plants that were growing all around it (i understand this was to try and give you privacy from the next balcony, however it did make it feel very confined).

A number of other reviews commented on the size of the 'free' breakfast, and although it didn't bother me, i would tend to agree that it wasn't quite what i'd been expecting. Not really an issue as there are so many excellent eating places within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Overall, i would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Milan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britinbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore generale at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much appreciate the feed back.
The only way we can keep improving is when our Guests suggests some pointers!

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Kindest regards
Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First, I just wanna give a special thanks, to all those who made my stay as well as husband's stay so warm and welcoming. Well had the longest flight ever and I was just ready for the shower and bed lol! Upon arrival I was a little surprised at the location of the yard suite. It was in the middle of two large buildings, I would've never found it by myself. Anyway, We had a very quick check-in and sat in what was vintage barber chairs. How cool is that! I swear everyday we were there they were bringing in new furniture and I loved all of it. Vintage louis V. luggage I wish I could've made a purchase. My only issue was there was a class that was being held in the room directly by the walls in our room, and all morning the professor spoke in a loud tone. It drove me crazy!!! But we were leaving out so I needed to get up anyway. I know long winded I am LOL!!!! Shout out to both bartenders I think his name is Christian sorry if its not his name but I wish have could've came back home with me. I say this because his charm as well as my favorite drink he made the same way everytime with my bag of chips at night. To the ladies Stephanie, Alexandria, Gina, and the cleaning staff, you are all the best. We will be back! My husband says hello and thanks for the hospitality. From the Darby's Al and Tiffany

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdarby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Darby,

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasent stay here with us, evethough we had a loud talking proffessor disturb you.It was a little workshop the Bar held, and the loud man is actually on of the worlds best bartender! We sinserely aplologize for that!!!

It gives us such pleasure you enjoyed our Hotel and all of are many details decorating The Yard and making it more of a home.

It's a pleasure to have Guests as yourselfes and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to us some day soon.

From all of The Yard team, thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing us!

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I found The Yard on Tripadvisor and decided to try the hotel on a business trip to Milan. The fact that the taxi driver did not know the place made me a bit suspicious - but once I arrived I was amazed with what i found: Quietly located in a backyard and still in the centre of Milan close to the Navigli canals with all their restaurants and bars. Once entering the courtyard it feels like being in a different place - a few steps up and you find yourself in a living room atmosphere with all facilities such as front desk and bar. Thousand impressions meet your mind, furniture, books, great design - and last but not least friendly, uncomplicated and welcoming people. An easy check-in (so refreshing after the endless procedures in many chain-hotels) and you are being guided to your room. I had booked one of the basic suites and was nicely surprised to find it well sized, originally and cosy designed with a big bathroom and walk-in shower and a small private terrace with two seatings. It goes without saying that the room was well maintained and immaculately clean. A great bed provided a great night's sleep. Breakfast next morning in the 'living room' was just as personal and taylor made as you would have expected - a choice of hot drinks juice and pastry may be complemented to ones needs with fruit, ham, salami or cheese selections. You either sit with other guests at the breakfast bar or share one of the big tables. A nice way to start the day and get into a chat if you feel like it. Again people / hosts at breakfast make the real difference - welcoming, friendly and really nice! What did I forget: The great drink selection and quality at the bar with its great service? The efficient - but yet very personal - check out? Should you go to Milan I can definitely recommend to stay at The Yard. This time it was for business - I am already looking forward to my next leisure trip to Milan with more time to spend in this marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Direttore at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Michael B,

It gives us great pleasure to read your review! And we are delighted for your kind words.
What you describe is exactly what we want to achieve! and we are very happy we made your stay with us a great one.

Looking very much forward to possibly welcoming you back to us soon!

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
285 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing