We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at The Yard June 20, 2014. We had two connected rooms. Both rooms were decorated differently which was fun. They were both spotlessly clean and very comfortable with plenty seating. Our stay was short but, very enjoyable. All the people who work here are very friendly and nice. My husband watched Italy play in The World Cup in the lobby TV room with lots of Italians! He had the best time! Anyway, we would happily stay in this hotel again next time in beautiful Milan!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hapimarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Madam,

We are delighted you enjoyed your saty! and happy you stayed here during the World Cup, as watching the games with Italians is quite the experience.
Thank you for taking time to write us e review, we apreciate it very much.

Hope to welcome you back some day in the future!

Our kindest rgerds,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    140
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
124
390
34
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This world-class B&B in Milan has it all, and the owners & staff should be rightfully proud of these posh suites adorned with a touch of retro-UK swankiness and sports & leisure-themed rooms. The communal lounge is unparalleled to anything else I've seen in my travels, I instantly felt right at home, and you are - thankfully - within an arm's reach of an artisan-made cocktail or glass of local vino, if you have it in mind to relax for a moment (and you will).

If you can make it out of the labyrinthine parlor (a museum of art-deco oddities and collectibles in itself), be sure to walk down to the Navigli district where restaurants line the sun-soaked canals and offer "aperitivo" from about 5 to 10 in the evening (basically, you order a cocktail, giving you instant access to a mammoth spread of appetizers and food - more than enough to make a light meal).

But back to The Yard: you're going to adore the friendly front lobby staff, the skillful bartenders, and the doting owners, including their mama-like host who's one job in life apparently is to make sure you have plenty of fresh croissants in the morning whether you're coming or going (they are delicious).

Exceptional service, terrific location, complimentary Wi-Fi, and stunning rooms aside, The Yard is pure aestheticism. Oh, and if you get the chance, be sure to pat the house mascot on the back, a cute little roly-poly black dog that sort of just sleeps and roams around where it wants.

Treat yourself, and experience the bliss that is The Yard.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sports-themed except for the two patio suites. It's worth the upgrade. Also, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your very detailed review!
It makes us very happy you enjoyed our Hotel and the area we are in!
Creating a home like feeling is our passion, and when we succeed to create that feeling for our Guests, then we are happy!


Kindest rgerads from all The Yard staff, including Pina ( the roly-poly doggie )

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am staying in Ralph Lauren's Aspen lodge. Nuf said. Perfect and perfectly charming. The mirror had my name on it in lipstick along with an encouraging anecdote. New suite, huge flat screen, modern european bathroom, great ammenitites. The lobby is dominated by an amazing rustic bar with experienced tenders and every libation under the sun.

You must stay here - one caveat, this is not in the city center, near the Duomo. That's a walk, but not too bad. WELL worth it to come back to this retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write a few words about us.
Ralph Lauren's Aspen Lodge, what a wondeful description! It makes us very happy you appreciated our design and style.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Yard in the future!

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Unique, Friendly, Clean, Adorable, New & Good Location
It was a real boutique hotel which was made and designed by love and passion. We had a great night there and would never forget it .
It was one of the best experiences I had in Europe . It worths visiting .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TulipDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It makes us very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and liked our decor and style.

Hope to welcome you back someday soon.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good location in the Navigli district. Just a few minutes walking distance from the river, restaurants, shops etc.
The reception area is really fun, with different styles in the sitting groups.
Good atmosphere.
Every room has a theme, and ours were "Cars". The room was clean and spacious, with a cool design.
The breakfast was really disappointing! We have been travelling much in Italy, and know that the Italians are known for just some sweets and an espresso for breakfast, but this is the least impresive breakfast we've ever had in our trips.
2 croissants and a coffeee is not good enough for this kind of hotel. You can pay for extras, but this should be included.
We had read about the poor breakfast at tripadvisor before, but still expected SOME more. We skipped the breakfast in the hotel the rest of our stay after day one..

Remember to bring the adress for the hotel with you (if you're going to take a taxi). None of the taxi drivers knew where the hotel was, when I told them the name.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilieNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on The Yard!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the design of your room.

As for your thoughts on our breakfast we appreciate you letting us know, and we will take what you said into consideration. You are not the first one to tell us this and we are revaluating.
In the end, the most important thing to us is to keep our Guests happy!

Our kindest regards,
Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel and am amazed with the thoughtful details that goes into setting up the place.
Thoroughly amazed and impressed with the setting.
Hotel/Service staff was extremely helpful and Lisa provided good recommendations for dining.
Love the nutella croissant served each morning.
Each room had a different theme and it was just marvellous.
Pina was well loved by the kids.
Will be back again...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocChocChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear ChocchocChip,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words.
It make sus very happy to read you liked our decor and very partucular breakfast! and that we could give some appreciated suggestions fo dining.

Hope to welcome you back to The Yard!

Kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

So much passion has been put in to the décor of this hotel! The little knick knacks speaks of so much character. The place oozes with warmth and hospitability. We had the Cambridge room for a family of 4 ( 1 teen and 1 pre teen ) and we really loved the Cambridge themed room. Location was excellent as it was about a 10 to 12 minute walk to the Duomo and a short walk from easy dining places, shopping and also a short walk - about 10 mins to the canal which was alive and buzzing in the evening. From the Duomo you could walk on to Fashion District or take the metro. Lisa gave us some really fantastic recommendations for meals that suited us perfectly!
Breakfast was good for us. Choice of jam, chocolate, plain croissants and nutella for the kids on toast if they wished. Hard boiled eggs. Refills of coffee, cappuccino, tea, chocolate and a large cookie jar- home made. You can sit by yourself or share a long table- easy and there was always Pina to keep you company! All the staff were warm and friendly and eager to make our stay a comfortable one! Will stay here again when next in Milan!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scout268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Scout268,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! and very much appreciate your kind words.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family here with us.

Hope to welcome you back to us one day.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
310 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Property: The Yard Hotel
Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing