We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I stayed in!”
Review of The Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yard Hotel
Ranked #4 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very interesting because of details and unique and old things... Like a museum - one has to roam for weeks to get familiar with the precious books and other collectibles!!! Great rooms with terraces! I would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: I stayed in mustang - and loved it tremendously!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Daer Madam,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed our very large collection of vintage pieces and personal collection.
It's true, to see all you need some time, I still discover new things working here.

Thank oyu for taking your time to write!
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Dsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved this hotel. I stayed here with my two daughters, twice, to bookend a trip to Italy in July/August. The design is fabulous, and the rooms are terrific. We had the "Maison" suite on the first occasion, and the Cambridge on the second. My preference was for the Maison, even thought the Cambridge was bigger, as the decor was more interesting and it had a better living space. Easy walk to the Duomo, Galleria, Scala, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank redwah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

we are delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us, and that you got to see two different room sollutions. All of our rooms are completely different, and we appreciate you letting us know your preference and reason.
Our Guests thoughts on The Yard are very important to us, so we can continue to improving The Yard for you.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we had an amazing stay at The Yard. Booked for three nights. Family of four. Asked for the Cambridge room after reading review on Tripadvisor. Very neat room, enough space for all four of us: two adults, 2 children. Staff very friendly and attentive. Owners always around making sure everything is properly done and guests are content.
Breakfast every morning: croissants, bread slices, cookies galore, yogurt and granola/corn flakes; coffee, hot chocolate, juice... enough to start your day!
Still and sparkling water with sweet tray always there waiting for you behind bar in the main floor after a day of exploring Milan. My kids loved it!
Amazing decor. Exquisite vintage pieces all around. A lot of effort put into it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rebel3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our little details to make our Guests feel at home and comfortable.

Thank you for writing and letting us know what you think.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the quirky bar to the individually-themed rooms, the team at The Yard have done an amazing job of creating a truly unique accommodation experience for visitors to Milan. The level of detail throughout the place is amazing and our room (the 'Hunter' room) was spacious and comfortable with a large outdoor space. When checking in I mentioned that I was hoping to catch the F1 so when we got up to our room, of course the F1 was already on the TV!
We really enjoyed meeting other travellers over our breakfast basket around the big table downstairs. The bar is great with about 8 different 'spaces' to hang out and have a pre-dinner drink each night. The staff were brilliant and you can tell that they've been recruited based on a personality-match to the hotel's style.
The hotel is in a good spot for walking up to the Duomo and the main shopping districts of Milan. It is also very close to the canal with it's array of restaurants (although there are some nice restaurants right around The Yard too).

Would definitely return and recommend to others!

Room Tip: I think there may be 'standard' rooms available, but see if you can book a themed room - ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write a review!
We are delighted you liked your room, that we could prepare some personal touches for you and that you enjoyed our structure.

We hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

... great design which it's own themes in the different rooms ... very friendly staff and competent barkeepers ... centrally located and close to the sights (e.g. cathedral) .... and of course the shopping areas

Room Tip: ... take of the design rooms to the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas63x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for letting us know your thought on us.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the location comfortable.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I travel about 70% of the year and this place is one of my new favorites. Really fun place....room was very appointed - completely remodeled new - great bathroom, flat panel TV, free wifi, high quality linens, etc....

Lobby makes you feel like home. I would describe the lobby as super nice "rec room" back home.....comfortable leather chairs, sofas, theatre room, bar, great patio, owners dog, dog bed, etc....feels like home. Very cool place - upscale but comfortable and laid back.

I had a room (fencing theme) right off lobby which probably could have been a loud room to have....but solid construction along with modern split level air conditioning unit I slept like a rock 3 nights straight.

Great neighborhood - walking distance to tons of restaurants and bars....as well as solid gym probably 200 yards away around the corner. My new home in Milan.

Thanks to staff for 2 wonderful stays in June/July....look forward to my next trip in Sept

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir,

What pleasure to read your review!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and felt at home, and would be delighted to welcome you back!

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The lobby of the hotel is really stylish, with an amazing number of memorabiliaplus the staff is always there to help. Breakfast was great and minibar too. Looking forward to go back there for a new stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank naurob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our detailed collection of memorabilia.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back one day.

Lisa
Front Dsek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#3 of 430 in Milan
778 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 430 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Hotel

Address: Piazza Ventiquattro Maggio 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £151 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it happens with all the most fascinating adventures, that of The Yard begins by lucky coincidence. Looking for a place where to live with its family, its owner instead found a vocation. Mixing the enthusiasm for a new challenge with the experience achieved during his many travels around the world, he built a small and comfortable guest house out of thin air. Spontaneously, this initial project became something more, and in a few years The Yard turned into a prestigious boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing