We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Milano
Ranked #61 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Room”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great service, beautiful dinners (friendly waiter) and room seemed as if it got upgraded.

King-size bed, electronic windows with button by the bed, extremely spacious, free drink bars from fridge (no beer though), everything in working condition, great balcony view towards one of the train stations (and skyscrapers!), double-sink toilets, marble deco walls. What more could you ask for? Probably just a less noisy air-con.

Location, a bit far to walk from the station with hefty luggages though.

Young couple travelling on budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleOfBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    753
    241
    92
    54
See reviews for
270
734
122
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This, as has been mentioned, is a well located hotel between the two railway stations (we are arrived in one and left from the other - both a reasonable walk of 10-15 minutes). We had unfortunately been given a rather unpleasant room (similar to the one in the one star review below). We asked for a change which was no problem and were much happier. It was explained it was because we had inadvertently booked a room with single beds, so watch out for that as the hotel is clearly not completely updated. The new room was refurbished, clean and comfortable with an extra large bed, though the trams were noisy at night disturbing us a bit. It felt like a safe area and there were good bars and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was included in the price and was fine (especially the croissants and pastries!). Reception staff were friendly and had promptly answered emails before we arrived.. All in all a really good stopover.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a refurbished room, away from the tram side if you are a light sleeper, though no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is very nice with public transportation right around the corner from it. Short walk to the center on the city. Nice cafe and boutiques around, we felt safe to walk around the town even at night time. Will highly recommend it. Rooms were nice, I'm still trying to figure out the balcony in the bathroom and the extremely high bathtub, lol. Breakfast was more like a continental breakfast, too bad it's not included. And Milan had the most expensive city taxes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annliz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Last Summer we spent there a week and were completely satisfied with the place. First of all it has a very good location - 15 minutes walk from Central Station, Shops, Restaurants, tram stop in 3 minutes walk and a metro station nearby. We really enjoyed the comfortable room that was always clean, every day fresh towels and the true hospitality of the staff. The only one thing was not so good - the trams that we heard from the room. And, yeath, don't buy coffee and tea in the coffee machinr - it's really detestable!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have never written a hotel review, but the Windsor hotel was so terrible, I felt that it would be wrong for me not to write a review to warn other potential visitors. I have stayed at many hotels both in the US and abroad, and I’m not a high maintenance person by any means, but I can say that this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in every aspect. I don’t even know where to begin. First of all, the service at the hotel was beyond horrendous. Everyone working there was inept, rude, and hostile. Literally, everyone. When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a room that looked like a scene from a horror movie. Seriously, think Jack Nicholson and The Shining…. but worse. There was mold growing in the corners of the room and on the carpet due to water damage (see photos). The room smelled terribly musty, the paint was cracking and falling off of the walls, and the bathroom looked like it was built in the 1920s and had not been renovated at all since then. Due to the fact that they claimed to be a four star hotel, one would expect it to at least look a bit more presentable. I was disgusted and livid, and I asked the front desk to transfer me to a better room (considering they claim to have renovated the entire hotel in 2007, which is clearly a lie). They refused, of course. After a sleepless night, the following day, I was ready to check out of the hotel and go find another hotel to stay at, even though I had prepaid for the hotel for several nights. I asked again if they had any rooms without mold growing, and after a heated argument, they finally caved in and transferred me to one of their allegedly renovated rooms. I’ll admit the renovated room was a significant improvement from the initial dungeon, but still not all that impressive. To make matters worse, I had some personal belongings mysteriously go missing from my room.

In addition to the nonexistent and hostile customer service, the hotel’s advertising is extremely fraudulent. For instance, they claim to have breakfast included in the room rate, but we were charged 11 euros per person for their breakfast, which was subpar. They also claim to have an airport shuttle as one of their amenities, but they fail to mention that it costs something like 55 euros, which is completely ridiculous. I could go on and on. But this review is long enough, and I don’t want to waste any more time writing about this hotel. The moral of the story is that you should STAY AWAY at all costs, unless you have no absolutely no other options. I’ve stayed in better hotels in third world countries. I would ABSOLUTELY never stay here again, even if someone paid me to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler0995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The staff were friendly & helpful. The room was clean & of a decent size. The free water etc in the mini bar was a nice touch. The location was a little out the way, about a 20 min walk to the historical sites. Restaurant selection was limited where the hotel was. Our only concern was the noise from the trams as our room faced the road, luckily we had to be up early for tours so it didn't matter too much but if your wanting a sleep in I'd request a room at the back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melpilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near both stations we had to use - Garibaldi and Centrale.
Both were within reasonable walking distance but would recommend downloading a map of the area. We had a very pleasant stay with a comfortable room and helpful staff. The noise from the traffic was almost completely silenced when the window was closed. in spite of being right next to a tram route.We will almost certainly be staying there again. A very smart hotel at a reasonable price - but remember breakfast is not included when comparing prices; but the breakfast at 11 euros was extremely good and included eggs and mushrooms etc.as well as the usual meats and cheese, cereals and fruit juices, rolls and croissants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#43 of 427 in Milan
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#37 of 427 in Milan
760 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,546 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Milano

Property: Windsor Hotel Milano
Address: Via Galileo Galilei 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Milan
#52 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#57 Business Hotel in Milan
#64 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Hotel Windsor you'll enjoy the most elegant district of Milan: the so-called Quadrilatero della moda and Corso Como are the boundaries of this area; the hotel is also at a short distance from the next coming Porta Nuova business centre that will draw the future profile of the city. The location is strategic because it is just outside of the limited traffic C area, so our guests can leave their car in our parking garage and move freely on foot or by public transport. We are situated at 150 meters from Repubblica railway station, where to get the metro M3 "yellow line" integrated with the railway passing, and we are just at 10 minutes walk from Milano Centrale railway station, a further advantage for those arriving by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing