We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel- learn from our mistake, do not go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Milano
Ranked #62 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel- learn from our mistake, do not go!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Recently stayed for three nights at Windsor Hotel, unfortunately they were pre paid so we could not leave after the first sleepless night.

We arrived to a less than friendly welcome at the reception and were abruptly told that we would have to stay on the second floor because the hotel was booked- we didn't realise at the time what a misfortune this was.

Staying on the second floor facing the main street means that you are directly positioned in front of a busy tram stop with regular trams throughout the day (and night) also sirens to be heard at ALL times of the night, sure this is less than relaxing but we were happy regardless to be in Milan so let this slide.
Lucky for us it wasn't too hot because the air-conditioning barely works OH and the shower can't even be considered a warm heat.
Ok again we were willing to let this slide until the roof in our bathroom started to leak- imagine being on the toilet and drops of water spraying your legs- not happy! Upon telling the reception nothing was fixed at all, our bathroom was piled with towels as to not slip on the growing puddle on the floor.

Lastly, the general manager is one of the rudest staff members i have ever had the displeasure of speaking with, as seasoned travellers we were disgusted in the attitude of someone in this position and have never been in a situation like this.
On all occasions he was cold, abrupt and not willing to provide help- especially on our check out after we calmly explained the issues we experienced he ignored our complaints (AGAIN) and simply shrugged his shoulders and waved us off.

Please please heed our advice and find another hotel- there are plenty of better hotels in Milan.

Ps. our room looked NOTHING like the photos provided on here!

Room Tip: DO NOT take a lower level room facing the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophiemlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest Sophiemli,

We appreciate the time you spent providing your feedback but at the same time we are truly disheartened that we failed to exceed your expectations ant that our staff did not make a welcoming impression on you on this occasion.

However we would like to point our that the room you reserved was a double standard room(which genereally is situated only on the first floor), and we managed to give you a free upgrade to an Executive room at the ckeck-in.

Moreover we told you the night of your arrival that we couldn't change your room since we were fully booked and at 22:00 pm there wasn't empty rooms anymore . That's why we invited you to check the availability to change your room at the reception the following day but you never came.

Anyway, still remains the fact that we could'nt make you feel comfrotable, so please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experience.

We certilny take your feedback into consideration in order to take appropriate action.

Our kindest regards

Guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    749
    239
    90
    54
See reviews for
264
722
122
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very good staff. Comfortable room, large bathroom, free WiFi in the room.

Very good quality breakfast although some more cakes could be added. The only objection is the orange juice, which was not fresh, but a large variety of fresh fruits is available. Also, the availability of gluten-free food must be mentioned.

Location very close to a metro station of line 3.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest Antonis A,

Thank you very much for finding the time to write your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with wharm and friendly service and we are so pleased that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our rich buffet breakfast and we will surely pass your suggestion to our chef. However mind that we do offer fresh oranje juice as extra for the guests who request it.

We truly hope to see you again here at the Windsor Hotel Milano.

Our kindest regards

Guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would stay here again. The Windsor Hotel Milano is in a brilliant location. Very close to
yelow line metro. The hotel was clean, lovely large room with super bathroom. Very comfortable and staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Get the X73 bus from Airport and metro (yellow line) from Duomo, two stops to hotel, total cost €3.0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caesarStVlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest caesarstV,

We deeply appreciate the time you spent reviewing your recent stay with us. It is our sincere goal to read that we made you feel comfortable and enjoyed the experience in our beautiful apartments. We will pass along your beautiful compliments to our staff!

We sincerely hope to welcome you here at the Windsor Hotel.

Our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was just one night to visit Milano and was a good choice. It´s close to the center of the city, and close to the train station too. For a short visit is perfect. I wil repeat if I have opportunity in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guest Fran P

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It was great to read that we met your expectations and that our location was perfect for your needs.

We will be happy to welcome you back again soon.

Our kindest regards

Guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caruaru, PE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I'm a travel blogger, then I travel around the world knowing hotels, restaurants, spas, then I'm professional about giving feedbacks.
I'm always invited by hotels around the world but at this time I've preferred to stay "anonymous". I had a very bad experience since the beginning.
I had to arrive early, about 10am and the receptionist told me that I had to wait until 2pm to go to my room, even though a lady was leaving the room and said that if the cleaned up fast I could go early to the room.
Then I went to my room and I was surprised because it had in max 20m2 just with a single bed, I felt claustrophobic!
The I've asked for a late check out and again they refused it to me.
The breakfast is O.K.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AntonioSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Direttore generale at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest AntonioSantos

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Windsor Milan.

We remember you well, since the first moment you walked in our Hotel you threatened that you would have provide a negative review on Tripadvisor if we had not given you a room immediately. Travel what? Professional of what? How an expert travel blogger, according to you, can not know that Check in and Check out politics do exist at any hotel all over the world?

Even in your own reservation was indicated that the room would have been available only at 14:30 in order to make every room just perfect for our guests.

You yourself requested a late check out! What time do you think the folloging guest that wanted to check in at 14,30, would come into the room since we were fully booked? And you wanted the room at 10:00am?! What were we supposed to do according to you? Should we have asked to all our guest to leave their rooms immediately just because the famous travel blogger Antonio Santos arrived and wanted his room?

One more clarification: you slept in a single 25 sq. m standard room at a promotional rate. Claustrophobic??? 25 sq. m Claustrophobic??? No comment...

We could have moved you to one of our 40 sq. m Junior Suites or our 50 qsq. m Suites, but we immediately understood that the problem was not the space of our rooms, but the fact that you wantend to pay as little as possible, or to pay nothing at all.

Anyway we thank you for your sincere review and we hope we will able to welcome you back to the Windsor in the very near future.


G. Mazzaferro

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Staff are helpful and polite. Rooms are immaculate and spacious. Excellent location in relation to Repubblica metro station, two stops to Duomo on the met and one to Centrale (the main station). Overall, the Hotel Windsor Milano is an excellent hotel, which is both elegant and practical! Would definitely like to stay here again!

Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaneManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear guest ShaneManc

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to leave us your kind words and we are delighted to read that your stay with us lived up to all your expectations. It is our sincere goal to impress you with our comfortable rooms and our friendly staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Our kindest regards

Guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Hotel for 1 night in May. I had booked and prepaid on booking.com several months ahead and the rate was very good so I wasn't expecting much from the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Although small (which is to be expected in a European city) the hotel room was very confortable and the staff was nice and helpful. The hotel's convenient location close to the train station and close to metro and tram made it a winner for us. Only downside was only one small elevator working and lots of traffic. We used the stairs as much as possible and we were all the better for it. I definitely recommend this hotel if the price is right!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrduguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_WINDSOR_MILANO, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Windsor Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest mrduguay

We greatly appreciate the time you spent sharing your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and the level of service and friendliness of our staff. We suppose that you stayed in a Executive room, and we are glad that you appreciated its 19 sq. m. of tastefully decorated space.
At the same time we apoligize for the inconvenience that the elevetor out of order may have caused to you. We managed to fix it in the shortest possible time, and now it works!

We sicerely hope to welcome you back again.

Our best regards

Guest relations team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#44 of 428 in Milan
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#36 of 428 in Milan
751 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Milano

Property: Windsor Hotel Milano
Address: Via Galileo Galilei 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Milan
#53 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#57 Business Hotel in Milan
#64 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Hotel Windsor you'll enjoy the most elegant district of Milan: the so-called Quadrilatero della moda and Corso Como are the boundaries of this area; the hotel is also at a short distance from the next coming Porta Nuova business centre that will draw the future profile of the city. The location is strategic because it is just outside of the limited traffic C area, so our guests can leave their car in our parking garage and move freely on foot or by public transport. We are situated at 150 meters from Repubblica railway station, where to get the metro M3 "yellow line" integrated with the railway passing, and we are just at 10 minutes walk from Milano Centrale railway station, a further advantage for those arriving by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing