We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable hotel for budget business or tourism”
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Ranked #172 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable hotel for budget business or tourism”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The best thing about this decent value for money hotel is its location. It's twenty minutes' walk from Cadorna rail station (direct trains to Malpensa airport): barely ten minutes from Sant Ambrogio metro (direct line to the Central Station and airport buses); and about fifteen minutes to the Duomo and main shopping streets.

The are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, including a great "organic" pizzeria - sadly it's mainly a takeaway so you will be lucky to get one of the few tables. The public areas are spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet (downstairs in the basement) varied and good. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but mine (room 401) could have done with refurbishing - the hair dryer had the yellowing plastic look of something that has been there for a long, long time. The lift is a tad arthritic, too. The staff are helpful, and if you are on a modest budget you could do far worse in this expensive city. I will certainly stay again.

Couple of tips. Don't miss a walk along the Duomo roof, especially if it's sunny, and then head to Rinascente department store immediately alongside for the best of Italian shopping and food - it makes Harrods look like Sainsbury's. Try the rooftop bar, if you have deeper pockets than I do. Other tip is to watch out for little helpers at the ticket vending machines in Central Station metro. They lurk sleazily waiting to offer "advice" to anyone who hesitates, and then expect a tip for doing so. If you give in it can double the cost of your (very cheap) ticket, and actually prolongs the vending process. And you really don't need help, as the machines are easy to use and feature multilingual touch screens. Brush them off if you feel assertive, or thank them politely and move on swiftly without tipping them.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room overlooking the (quite busy) street. I had 401 towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    119
    72
    18
    5
See reviews for
37
87
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I'm a terrible hotel sleeper, usually tossing and turning and not getting enough shut eye. But not in this case. Admittedly I was exhausted after a very early start the same day but I slept really well at the Regina. The room (409) was probably the quietest I've ever had with zero external noise at all. So I would definitely stay here again. It's a 10/15 minute walk from Duomo and as some nice restaurants nearby. For the rest the hotel is fine, and the breakfast was really good with excellent service. I will definitely return on my next visit to Milan.

Room Tip: Room 409 was incredibly quiet. And the pasta restaurant over the road looks cheap, but the Arrabiata...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed at many hotels/B&B's etc. recommended by Karen Brown in the US/UK and Europe. We were not disappointed in this instance. The Regina Hotel is ideally located such that we were able to walk to Milan's many beautiful, historic churches including the Duomo, Sant Ambrogio Basilica, San Lorenzo alle Colonne Basilica among others. The many famous works of art in the Pinacoteca di Brera and Leonardo's Last Supper were also within walking distance. The receptionist recommended a very good pizza/pasta restaurant in the vicinity.

Albeit a bit tired, our room was a very good size, particularly by European standards. Wifi was included which was very handy. There was ample selection for breakfast and the lady in the breakfast room was very pleasant and attentive. We would recommend Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianinUK2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

i have been in this hotel for holiday and was really nice. The most important thing to underline is the location, in effect is just 10 minutes walking to the Duomo. The receptionist were really friendly and the helped us and explained something about the city. We had the train to return to Florence very late and they were kind to keep the luggage beyond the time of check-out. The room was normal as a 4 star hotel, the bathroom a lit bit small but ok for two people, it contained everything that was necessary as hair dryer, soap, towels, toilet paper. Breakfast was plentiful. I really recommend to all you this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Santiago S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Old hotel small rooms receptionist at night surly and did not want to return my passport! Room at arrival had nailclippings on the floor, but was cleaned after I asked. The lady at the brrakfast room is a motherly wonderful warm welcoming person- she made the stay !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fainshmeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Hotel Regina surprised me because of its location and services. It's situated very close to the Duomo which makes it an strategical Hotel in the center of the town. The staff is helpfull. The breakfast is great. It's a great option of stay in Milano. The Internet is paid.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acssjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Unfriendly staff - do not expect a smiley face upon arrival! Room was adequate. Comfortable bed with good size bathroom. Breakfast is continental with scrambled egg. Again, do not expect a smiley face! Excellent location 8 minutes walk to Duomo. Tram runs outside the hotel but rooms are quadruple glazed therefore enabling a good nights sleep. The four star rating flatters this Hotel as in our opinion it does not reach above three star plus. Staff need training for customer friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioVDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#171 of 428 in Milan
472 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#238 of 428 in Milan
396 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Pierre Milano
Hotel Pierre Milano
#200 of 428 in Milan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#350 of 428 in Milan
198 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#179 of 428 in Milan
366 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#101 of 428 in Milan
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Property: Regina Hotel
Address: Via Cesare Correnti 13, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Regina Your reference point for your hotel stay in Milan. Hotel Regina, considered among the most comfortable 4 hotels in Milan City centre, is an authentic city "relais" right in the historic centre. If you are tired of large impersonal and charmless hotels in Milan, the 4 star Hotel Regina is the solution you've been looking for and the ideal choice for guests travelling for tourism and business. Absolutely perfect whether you're here to relax or for business trips, Hotel Regina is a 4 star hotel in Milan in Italy, providing everything which is needed to satisfy guests' needs, both in terms of comfort and quality of facilities. Choose the best of hotels in Milan City centre! The warm and relaxing atmosphere in the lobby of our hotel in Milan in the North of Italy, the 4 star facilities, the first class service, the comfortable rooms, the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail will make your stay in Milan unforgettable. Warmth and kindness will win you over right from the start with a rich breakfast buffet, served in a bright room, in a relaxed atmosphere. Hotel Regina offers you the service of 4-star hotels of superior quality. The main goal of all our staff is to provide full attention to each guest trying to anticipate all their demands. Our 4 star Hotel in Milan takes care of its guests from morning to night. The rooms are warm and cosy, equipped to best meet all your needs. Each room has air conditioning, satellite TV, Pay-TV, mini-bar, air conditioning and a safe. What's more, staying in our Milan City centre hotel will also put you at an advantage when visiting the city and its numerous monuments, thanks to the suggestions and favourable offers that you will find at the Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing