We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressed”
Review of Melia Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Milano
Ranked #65 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The beds were hard as rock and made my back ache. The decoration was gaudy and stuffy and not very stylish. A bit run down also. On the plus side the hotel was located near a subway station which made it easy to get into the city center and the room service was nice. I would not stay at this hotell again.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Folkbitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Melia, the reception area is one of the largest I've seen! Check in was fine, we were allocated a double room. I thought the room may have been a little larger for a 5*, but the bathroom was lovely, all in marble. As previously mentioned, if you don't have the breakfast in with the rate, its 30 euros each, which is quite astonishing. We were directed to the seating area, but weren't told if we had to get our own coffee or not, so sat for a little while, before calling over one of the staff who were more preoccupied with changing the table cloths.. Had pancakes freshly made each morning, which were really nice We tried the bar, quite pricey, I had a prosecco which was 9 euros and my husband had a small beer for 7 euros, and expected some small snacks with the drinks for that price, but none forthcoming. Nearest subway is Lotto, which is about 5 stops from the centre. Not a great deal of shops etc near hotel.

Room Tip: Just be pleasant to the reception staff and smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel last week as we have an exhibition - the hotel was a good location for the exhibition centre.

Rooms are pleasant and the bar is very nice room services was of a good standard - both meals were very nice.

I would recommend for business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

As a previous reviewer, my employer has a contract and I stay here about once a month. I would never choose it for a personal trip.
Rooms temperature is usually too hot and windows cannot be left open unless wedged. If you do leave the window open it is likely you will be woken early by deliveries etc.
Reception staff smile and nod but arent interested - ask for anything and the answer is usually no.
Never get a good night's sleep here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This is a comfortable spot to stay in Milan located reasonably close to a Metro station which provides access to the city. The facilities are all good and service is fine but we found the room to be overheated and needed to open the door to the balcony which made it a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Unfortunately the company i work for has a contract with this hotel, as such i have to stay here nearly every month. I have stayed here 20 times and i really hate it. Reception is usually competent but that is it. Concierge gossip to each other about my non italian speaking colleagues who have the nerve to ask them in English for information. The room floors are poorly laid out and signage is limited. The rooms vary from tiny to average size, they are all dark and heavily furnished in a Rococco style. Windows open but you need to wedge something in to keep them open, the a/c CANNOT be individually controlled in the room for temperature but can be switched off, the rooms are either stifling or chilly. I have had no problems with cleanliness but the shower does spray a puddle onto the bathroom floor. My colleagues have had things "lost" from their rooms, usually ipods and cell phones. Breakfast is a very poor buffet, i will never eat dinner here again after the rude service i have recieved from the wait staff, room service portions are small and pricey. Coffee and drinks are hugely expensive in the bar, Internet is 24euro for the day. Location is out in the suburbs and it is a 20 minute train ride into Milan. As an Italian speaker i find it an exhausting hotel, i know from my colleagues how pointless it is trying to communicate in English with the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank giodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I have't left a review for quite some time but decided that Melia needs a little help as recent reviews were "off the mark" in my opinion.

It's more of a conference hotel and the location is not in the tourist zone but blows the doors off of Starhotel Rosa Grand in "overall stay" category.

Service was excellent - Front desk was fast and accurate! Grazi.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
0.8 mi away
Enterprise Hotel
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 430 in Milan
1,732 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milan Suite Hotel
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 430 in Milan
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Visconti Palace
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 430 in Milan
1,930 reviews
2.1 mi away
nhow Milano
nhow Milano
#29 of 430 in Milan
2,045 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#64 of 430 in Milan
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Milano

Address: Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Milan
#20 Spa Hotel in Milan
#56 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#69 Business Hotel in Milan
#77 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £80 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Milano 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Milano is so tailored to your needs that it may deserve an entirely different name: yours! Located in the most dynamic and fastest growing district of Milan, near the EXPO 2015 pavilions, the district of CityLife, the brand new area of Porta Vittoria to which AC Milan moved its legendary museum, LG, Vittoria Assicurazioni and many other international companies, next to Lotto underground station and 10 minutes from MiCo Congress Centre and San Siro Stadium, the Melia Milano is proud to present its newly renovated hotel designed with only you in mind: the brand new THE LEVEL Lounge, the largest in Europe with services including private check-in & check-out, private breakfast and afternoon cocktails; 56 brand new THE LEVEL rooms & suites with exclusive services and amenities; the brand new Jigger Food & Cocktail Bar where fresh Mediterranean cuisine is combined with an exclusive selection of premium drinks and signature cocktails; a brand new plenary room for up to 520 delegates. The Melia Milano has reinvented everything. Or almost everything. There is one thing it does not want to change: its characteristic personalized customer service and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Milano Hotel Milan
Sol Melia Milano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing