We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value close to the station and wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
244 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Amazing value close to the station and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hotel is a little unusual - not quite what you expect. It is slightly eclectic in style , but we thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay. We were desperate for good sleeps after being in several noisy rooms in Italian cities. Although we booked a superior room we found ourselves in a small junior suite overlooking the courtyard in the "old building". It was great - although no view to speak of we had lots of space and it was sooooooquiet! ( Room 22 if you are interested). It was on the ground floor in a very secure area just behind the reception - very convenient. It also had recently been refurbished. We did have a problem with maintenance whilst there and they were slow to deal with the issue - really their mistake. Within 15 minutes of them sorting out the problem a manager turned up with a bottle of Prosecco and some snacks to apologise...now that is good service.

The service is a little over the top but having worked in customer service all my life, I think this is how they want it to be, and is part of their business positioning so my view is that it is good to enjoy it even if it is a bit twee! Well done Hotel Berna if you ask me!!Wasn't hugely impressed by the breakfast but it is OK, but I can see others loved it. Definitely ask for a coffee to be made for you, the one in the flask is dreadful! Plenty of choice and plenty of food! Internet was very fast and reliable at all times.

Easy access from the station for the metro into Milan and day trips - we went to Como and Verona for the day....it made it all so easy. Overall great - thoroughly enjoyed Milan and definitely would return to the Berna - not flash but great mid range price. ( Got a great price by the way pre-paid on Hotels. com and 10% cashback on Quidco for the Brits!)

Room Tip: quiet rooms overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,078
    1,675
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,049
2,632
671
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed in many hotels around the world and the Hotel Berna is one of the best for service and friendliness. The staff are very helpful and happy to assist with any need you might have. The breakfast is varied and plentiful, with the dishes replenished regularly. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jevered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Just spent one night here, as a transit stop. the hotel is located about two blocks from the main train station, which is an excellent travel hub for airport access or trains. the Italian train system has improved greatly since our last visit about 3 years ago, long distance high speed trains now compare with their French or German rivals with new rolling stock and cleanliness. Milano also has excellent air fares both within Europe and elsewhere.

back to the hotel. there must be 20 hotels within the immediate area of the main station, so the Berna seems intent on working hard to stand out in the crowd. besides ample sized rooms (at least the superior category) and equally large bathrooms, everything is perfectly clean and maintained. nice larger beds and quality bedding and linens. lots of extra towels and large bathrobes. the wireless internet is fast and worked fine... it was great to be able to connect the laptop, the ipad and the iphone all at the same time! adding free non-alcohol beverages from the mini-bar was a very nice gesture. breakfast was very complete including scrambled eggs & bacon, very crowded but tables quickly cleared and re-set. finally, we found every person of the staff to be relentlessly friendly and efficient.

summary: not a deluxe hotel but not trying to be. i can understand why they consistently get top ratings from guests. wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

What makes this stay memorable is the hotel's personalised attention to guests' comfort and convenience, such as online check-in, free minibar and even the choice of pillow. The staff were very helpful and always greeted us with pleasant smiles. The only downside is that the rooms are not so sound-proof. Will recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ning03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I were there for 4 nights Easter Week, stayed in the new tower across the street, room was smaller but very nice. The location is excellent and the breakfast daily was the best I have ever had in Europe! The staff was very friendly and helpful.......we ate at a little restaurant across the street 1 night and it was very good pizza.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhase243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We travelled Paris , Italy and Switzerland during a quick 11 days. The Berna Hotel is definitly a class of its own. You cannot fault the reception staff, they were extremely polite, well spoken and helpful. There was a waiter in the restaurant who was also great but unfortunatley did not get his name. The rooms are small but comfortable with free wi-fi. A lot of hotels say they have wi-fi but 3 out of 4 of the hotels we stayed in charged for the service. If you have a drink in the bar they serve you amazing complimentary snacks. There is also a glass panel that only guest can pass through for extra security. The hotel is about 3 minutes from the main station and 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street - Bounos Aires. Coffee and pastries available 24 hours. Great stay, recommend it!

Room Tip: Whole group seemed happy with rooms all over hote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

What a great stay we had here. from the time we were greeted with a bonjourno to the time we left I would have to say this place was perfect.
i suppose I'm biased as they upgraded us to a superior room at no cost. we actually stayed across the road in a seperate part of the hotel, which was modern with good security. The room was large, with queen sized bed and large bathroom and finally, wait for it , a decent size shower with plenty of hot water. The fridge was stocked with complimentary drinks that we had picked from our personal on-line reservation page, and included , coke, soda, fanta and orange juice.

Our reservation included breakfast, which was varied and appetising, including hot and cold dishes, fresh fruit and sweet and savoury pastries.

The location is perfect, 50 metres from the metro and 200 metres from the Milan Central station, so getting around is easy.

All the staff were really helpful and pleasant and we were greeted like old friends, not just customers, all in all a 10 out of 10

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing