We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely lived up to the very good reviews!”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Over the years we have stayed in four or five hotels in the same street or nearby. Others have been good but this is the best to date. It has incredibly friendly staff who are always ready with helpful information and a smile. It is very good value for money, with its good location, clean rooms, very good buffet breakfast and attention to high quality service. We would definitely a) recommend it b) return. We really appreciated the excellent service.

Our only tiny reservation was the tiny shower room which adjoined our 'comfort room' with its large, very comfortable bed. It was really difficult to negotiate the narrow end where a large basin stuck out next to an old shower, without bruising oneself! If you are above average height or weight, you might struggle to get into one of these very narrow small bathrooms without bumping into the fixtures.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,825 - 3,831 of 6,758 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

near central train station which is convenient but gross. i wasn't ecstatic about Milan in general. The beds were so hard and made it difficult to sleep. Pretty small which is standard for most European hotels. Also its a busy hotel and you have to leave your key at the front desk when you leave and usually wait in line to get it when you come back.... kind of annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Dear arae780,

I’m glad to read you have appreciated our location (near the central station, the bus terminals to Milan airports and the two underground lines), which makes us the perfect base
for visiting and exploring the city.

Milan is a very cosmolitan city and there’s a lot to do for everybody: it’s really a pity you were not enthusiastic about it… Our reception Staff would have been more than willing to help you profiting of all it’s attractions and give you all necessary and useful information.

We have invested a lot in information technology but decided to keep the keys, as we strongly believe in the personal relationship with our guests while delivering them, instead of the more impersonal - and in many cases less secure – magnetic cards.

Hope to see you very soon back in Milan!

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

It's just a short walk across Milan Centrale Station- even with 4 bags we were able to get to the hotel after the train trip from Florence. There is also airport bus to Malpensa which we will take. Hotel staff are fantastic & very friendly/helpful. Joan took all our bags to the room since we got here hours before the check-in time while the room is being cleaned as the previous guests just check-out. Paolo tried to make us as comfortable as possible. We stayed 3 nights, with breakfast, wifi and mini bar inclusive. Breakfast is of goood quality ~ staff at the restaurant are very polite too....definately will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very pleasant rooms (and the air conditioning works well!) Location very handy to Central Station so it is very easy to hop on the metro (for only 1 euro one way) so no need to spend money on taxi's. Can't really add anything that hasn't been said before, but stay here...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NordicHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

It was a nice experience overall. Hotel is very close to the main train station and only 4 subway stations away from Duomo. Rooms are clean, staff is helpful and breakfast is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonrocks34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

very good hotel, the staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are clean, good showers, pillow menu, great location, metro just around the corner, near the station (malpensa shuttle). I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

An addition to my review. Just had breakfast. Wow. Fresh fruit in abundance, even fresh carrots and a juicer machine. Good coffee, hot chocolate, eggs, bacon etc etc. Very impressive. Staff was warm and attentive. Kept refilling any platter that was down on contents unlike some lazy places where the buffet looks pretty bad after an hour. Great melon, grapefruit, oranges and fresh yogurt too.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
684 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 428 in Milan
2,733 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
732 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £85 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing