We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Berna”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Berna”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Great hotel across from the train station. The only negative was the size of the rooms---very small. But very clean. Refrigerator with free beverages a plus. Very large, delicious breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,345
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,108
2,802
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Among all the delightful aspects of the Berna Hotel, perhaps the most notable is the commitment to personalized attention by the staff. A couple days before our arrival, we received an email asking if we would like to expedite registration and providing the opportunity to do so. In addition, we were invited to provide our preferences -e.g. if we would like an extra pillow, etc. At check-in, we were greeted by name. Our room was made available to us, despite arriving before the designated check-in time. We were invited to partake of the non-alcoholic refreshments in the minibar in our room - for free. Or, if we wanted coffee or tea, those were available in one of the hotel lounge areas - where picture-loaded books also awaited us, introducing us to the Cities of Italy or to an in-depth look at Vincenza.
The rooms themselves are immaculately clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast offers an amazing array of choices - everything imaginable, including peeled carrots for those who want to use the juicer to make fresh carrot juice. Need something else? The staff is ready to help. Travel cards for the public transportation system and tickets for the shuttle from the train station to Malpensa Airport are available for purchase at the reception desk. The train station is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel.
We had a wonderful stay at the Berna Hotel and will plan to stay there any time we visit the beautiful city of Milan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempo Allegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lozzo di Cadore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The 8 euro extra for tea was a little disappointing - it did not include milk! But the room was very clean and everything worked well. I would return one day I hope. For a busy city it was very quiet at night and the bed comfortable.
Unfortunately, due confusion with train bookings, I was only able to stay one night in Milano so I was not able to visit any of the sites that I had originally allowed time for.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Dear Ozzie45,

we are very happy to know you were well received at the reception, as we want all our customer to feel very welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they walk through our doors.

We were instead a bit surprised to read that you paid Euro 8 for a tea, as we offer a 24 hours Tea & Coffee corner, which is free of charge for all our guests as a small thank you for choosing us.

Then we realized that you were referring to the amount charged for the Tea & Coffee making facilities you ordered in your Standard room tipology (by the way the Tea & Coffee making facilities are included in all our room categories, except the Standard single and the Comfort double). Upon request, we would have gladly brought into your room the milk or a lemon juice.

It’s a shame you were not able to visit Milan due the your train schedules: Milan is a very interesting city, reach of life, culture, museums, shopping, fashion and much more.

Please come back and stay with us again!

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

From go to woe the service was top class.
Front desk staff went out of their way to help book taxi etc.
What a bonus .... free mini bar, and included breakfast.
The bar at night was most welcoming,and free nibbles and snacks with your drinks was the icing on the cake.
Location to the train and metro was great, approx 200 m once outside station.
We were very lucky to pick the Hotel,and were very satisfied ..... will book again next time we are in Milan.
Only draw back was no dining at night in the hotel, but you could fill up on the lovely snacks and save money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The staff at the Berna bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant; they were helpful in securing reservations for us, and they helped us with some business matters as well. We can't say enough about their friendliness and efficiency. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and even though we had a room facing the street, it was quiet. The hotel location is ideal for access to the central station for train and subway. And now for the breakfast: in all our stay in Italy, the Berna had the most lavish breakfast, including a carrot juicer, and fresh vegetables for breakfast! My wife loved it. There was everything else you might want as well, including eggs and meat, yoghurt and fruit, croissants, etc... If you count breakfast as part of a really good hotel stay, the Berna gets an A+. We would gladly stay here again. And by the way, those who short change Milan as a destination should re-think that position. Milan is loaded with great things to see and do, and really good dining, and their subway system is simply superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oborozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

From the ease of locating this hotel (close to central train station), warm reception, quick sign-in, very appealing decor, to comfortable bed; we totally enjoyed our stay. The staff proposed a selection of pillows without any "attitude" whatsoever. The breakfast is so complete with hot food right to desserts if you can handle that for breakfast. In the comfortable lobby they offer coffee and snacks all day-wow. Lastly, for the non-smoker, this is a clean no-smoking, no-nonsense, facility.

Room Tip: our friends stayed as well-both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safetyguy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Over the years we have stayed in four or five hotels in the same street or nearby. Others have been good but this is the best to date. It has incredibly friendly staff who are always ready with helpful information and a smile. It is very good value for money, with its good location, clean rooms, very good buffet breakfast and attention to high quality service. We would definitely a) recommend it b) return. We really appreciated the excellent service.

Our only tiny reservation was the tiny shower room which adjoined our 'comfort room' with its large, very comfortable bed. It was really difficult to negotiate the narrow end where a large basin stuck out next to an old shower, without bruising oneself! If you are above average height or weight, you might struggle to get into one of these very narrow small bathrooms without bumping into the fixtures.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,164 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing