We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to be in Milano”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

It was our second stay in this Hotel and it was great. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfastbuffet is large and very good, usually it`s not normally in Italy. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferientechniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,729 - 3,735 of 6,613 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here at the end of recent business trip prior to flying home from Milan. As noted by others, the staff and service were superb and the free juice and sodas in the mini-bar were a plus. However, make sure that you are not assigned to rooms 21 or 25 next to the elevator. The hotel touts their superb soundproofing, but I was awakened about once every hour by guests talking loudly outside my door as they awaited the elevator. This was followed by a thump as the doors closed and the whine of the elevator machinery. I am not a light sleeper and the noise in the room was a problem. They should either convert these rooms to linen closets or only assign them to guests with impaired hearing. Will not stay at this hotel again on future trips to Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel Berna is very close to Milan Central Station, super-convenient for business or pleasure travel. The staff was completely on top of things from the time we made our reservation online thru our stay, including attention to details (for example, the bellman ensured that we had bottled water when we were going out on a hot day!). This is a professional operation with real attention to customer service, a clean comfortable [superior] room, and generous breakfast with a selection of international newspapers available for the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lehualani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel staff was right on top of everything and very helpful for my recent visit to Milan. The hotel is just a short 2 block walk from Centrale station. One block from the underground pop up. Lots of good places to eat close by. It felt safe although there are several message parlors on the street. I did not seem to introduce a bad clientel on the street. Breakfast was good and the room was nice. For Italy, it was very nice. At one of the resturants they said oh you are staying at the Hotel Berna? That is a very nice 4 star.

The WiFi was good and unlimited. From Centrale station you can get anywhere pretty quickly. I rode the Metro to Fira Milano for a trade show. It was pretty easy but took about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricofisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Although the rooms are small, it's a European thing. Friendly staff, water and soda in the room, clean, able to check in early, had power adapter for 10 Euro, great variety for breakfast, even a carrot juicer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llbarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Great hotel across from the train station. The only negative was the size of the rooms---very small. But very clean. Refrigerator with free beverages a plus. Very large, delicious breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Among all the delightful aspects of the Berna Hotel, perhaps the most notable is the commitment to personalized attention by the staff. A couple days before our arrival, we received an email asking if we would like to expedite registration and providing the opportunity to do so. In addition, we were invited to provide our preferences -e.g. if we would like an extra pillow, etc. At check-in, we were greeted by name. Our room was made available to us, despite arriving before the designated check-in time. We were invited to partake of the non-alcoholic refreshments in the minibar in our room - for free. Or, if we wanted coffee or tea, those were available in one of the hotel lounge areas - where picture-loaded books also awaited us, introducing us to the Cities of Italy or to an in-depth look at Vincenza.
The rooms themselves are immaculately clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast offers an amazing array of choices - everything imaginable, including peeled carrots for those who want to use the juicer to make fresh carrot juice. Need something else? The staff is ready to help. Travel cards for the public transportation system and tickets for the shuttle from the train station to Malpensa Airport are available for purchase at the reception desk. The train station is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel.
We had a wonderful stay at the Berna Hotel and will plan to stay there any time we visit the beautiful city of Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tempo Allegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 426 in Milan
6,283 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,846 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#80 of 426 in Milan
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
826 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £106 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing