We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but not superior” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed a month in Europe, and this was the least of the double superior rooms. It was fairly cramped and oddly configured, so that the couch and the television faced the same direction. Impossible to reconfigure. The free mini-bar was nice (but don't think of it as a bar). The breakfast buffet was excellent (although that room was a little cramped, too). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood, being within walking distance of the train station, was a little seamy, but by no means scary - just a way too many massage parlors.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schoens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,081
    1,675
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,050
2,632
671
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Being the no. 4 hotel in Milan, I guess it is natural to have a bit higher expectation on this hotel. But pls don't.

Pros:
-close to Central station, which is also served by 2 metro lines, meaning it's less likely that u have to change lines.
-good breakfast and friendly breakfast staff (yet the reception during check-in and out is nth more than average).

Cons:
-A MAJOR MAJOR drawback here: My room is located in another building, the so-called Berna hotel tower, opposite to the check-in counter and breakfast room across the street and i have NEVER been informed about this, which means I have to bring the luggages once more after check-in and goes between the buildings for breakfast every day. This is not the worst yet. This building is heavily protected (as there is no staff at the door). First you have to insert the key card, then u enter a tiny space between two doors which you will have to wait till the first is closed before u can open the next one. Wait a sec! You can't use your key card to open the next one coz you have to press a button to wake the reception up to open it for you. In short, its like opening a safe box in a bank. This is so inconvenient, particularly if u see somebody coming out, u dont know whether you should wait until the whole process is completed or squeeze together into that tiny space. PLUS, you only got one key card, which means even a member of your group prefers to rest in the hotel, you still couldn't enter your room coz you will be stopped by this brilliant security system at the main entrance!!!
-My room is a triple room with a rollaway bed (which i know it before hand to be fair) but it has to be the most uncomfortable rollaway bed i have ever slept on.
-The room is clean but dated and tired, especially the bathroom. Toiletries provided (the liquid soap and bath and shampoo mixture <-i dun think a 4 star hotel cannot afford to provide separate shampoo and bath gel) are horrible! Bring your own instead!

Afterall, you get what you pay for considering it is already cheaper than similarly ranked hotel (but i bet you can find a better 3* tho). In retrospect, i read the reviews once more, most of them are accurate but don't just look at the good ones. Read the 3/5 reviews, they are so true!!!

I would prefer somewhere else next time and wouldnt recommend this hotel to my frds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaviryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is closed to Milan central station and easily to be find. Though the hotel is not modern, its room is pretty clean. Also, it offer a variety of food / drinks for breakfast. Most important, its staff are friendly with great service. Will stay in this hotel aain if goin to Milan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

It was our second stay in this Hotel and it was great. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfastbuffet is large and very good, usually it`s not normally in Italy. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferientechniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here at the end of recent business trip prior to flying home from Milan. As noted by others, the staff and service were superb and the free juice and sodas in the mini-bar were a plus. However, make sure that you are not assigned to rooms 21 or 25 next to the elevator. The hotel touts their superb soundproofing, but I was awakened about once every hour by guests talking loudly outside my door as they awaited the elevator. This was followed by a thump as the doors closed and the whine of the elevator machinery. I am not a light sleeper and the noise in the room was a problem. They should either convert these rooms to linen closets or only assign them to guests with impaired hearing. Will not stay at this hotel again on future trips to Milan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel Berna is very close to Milan Central Station, super-convenient for business or pleasure travel. The staff was completely on top of things from the time we made our reservation online thru our stay, including attention to details (for example, the bellman ensured that we had bottled water when we were going out on a hot day!). This is a professional operation with real attention to customer service, a clean comfortable [superior] room, and generous breakfast with a selection of international newspapers available for the guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehualani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel staff was right on top of everything and very helpful for my recent visit to Milan. The hotel is just a short 2 block walk from Centrale station. One block from the underground pop up. Lots of good places to eat close by. It felt safe although there are several message parlors on the street. I did not seem to introduce a bad clientel on the street. Breakfast was good and the room was nice. For Italy, it was very nice. At one of the resturants they said oh you are staying at the Hotel Berna? That is a very nice 4 star.

The WiFi was good and unlimited. From Centrale station you can get anywhere pretty quickly. I rode the Metro to Fira Milano for a trade show. It was pretty easy but took about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricofisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#151 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing