We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, A Bit Overrated”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Good Value, A Bit Overrated”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is one of those situations where it's difficult to understand the super-high ratings. The Berna Swiss deserves better than average marks, to be sure, but be cautioned that the ratings may set too high of an expectation.

My experience was okay, but not great. The room rate was good and there were a number of “extras” that you normally don’t see. The hotel is actually two buildings: the main one and one directly across the street, which they call the “towers” rooms because they are supposed to be better. I would say that my colleagues’ rooms in the main building were actually better.

Most rooms include a buffet breakfast, a great value. This was a main reason I booked this hotel, since most hotel breakfasts are unaffordable. Unfortunately for me, there was some sort of mixup and my room did not include breakfast, which was very annoying considering my colleagues and I had booked the same rooms at the same time and they did have breakfast. Somehow I ended up across the street in the “better” rooms, but without breakfast. When I mentioned the mixup to the front desk staff, he made the assumption that I booked through hotel.com or priceline or something. Not sure who was at fault on this, but make sure you confirm the type of room you have because it may not include breakfast. I did have the buffet one morning, by the way, and it was mediocre.

The Good:

* Free wireless internet, which worked most of the time
* Complimentary coffee in the lobby
* Complimentary minibar (Coke, bottled water, some cookies)
* Clean room, no odor
* Great air conditioning
* Quiet. No hallway noise.
* 5 minute walk from Central Station
* Located in a nice area - Comfortable bed
* Computers in lobby
* In-room safe
* A bellman named Joan (pronounced John), who made up for the front desk guy

The Not Good:

* Tiny room, almost claustrophobic
* Very uncomfortable shower (see photo)
* Safety issues -- No peephole in door, no safety latch for door, and no fire escape that I saw.
* No clock in room
* No washcloths (I don’t care, but you might)
* No ironing board
* Lousy view
* Sullen front desk person, who neither smiled nor spoke unless necessary
* Complex procedure to get into room – there are a number of tasks you are required to complete in order to get in to the building (the one across the street). In fact, I can’t even remember them all as I write this.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,292
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,089
2,774
705
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Great hotel. Clean and nice. Helpful staff directed us to sites & restaurants that we requested.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anndcfc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Berna. It is near to the Central train station and the metro, also the city sightseeing bus stops nearby, so it is a very handy base for getting around Milan. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really nice. Lots of choice and made to feel welcome by the staff. Staff behind reception were also helpful and gave advice for directions etc. Biscuit treats in the room were a nice touch and I was shown a basket full of little snack bars when checking out and was offered to pick one to take with me on my journey home. So for me just about all positive comments, only a couple of small negatives. Yes, the two lifts are very small but were not really a problem for me, a family of 4 with lots of cases might be different story though! Also the room was a little dated furniture wise, but still clean and cared for! So nothing too much to gripe about and I would definitely stay there again if ever I visit Milan again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anndcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Hotel Berna is a lovely hotel situated within walking distance from the train station. The room was very nice and the breakfast was wonderful. But what really sets this hotel apart is the level of service we received from every single employee, from the front desk to the wait staff at breakfast. Definitely the best customer service during our 11-day trip to Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donoh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We picked Hotel Berna for proximity to Milano Centrale and Tripadvisor reviews. We arrived in Milan in the early morning from JFK and took the convenient shuttle right to the train station. It was a short and easy walk to the hotel.

We were exhausted and asked if early check-in was possible. The clerk invited us to relax in the lounge and help ourselves to biscuits, water, coffee, or tea while he attempted to get us into a room. It took about an hour but he did it and even upgraded us to a better room.

We went to sleep on a very comfortable mattress for a few hours and woke up ready to go. Although we'd been in Milan before, it was only to change trains at Milano Centrale. We easily walked from the hotel to the Duomo and the Victor Emmanuel galleria. We were scheduled to depart the next morning for Venice and found the hotel so comfortable and so centrally located that we wished we had scheduled at least one more day for Milan.

Breakfast was very good. The room was very comfortable. All was perfect for two very jet lagged travelers. Wireless was free in the public areas. Additionally, the staff was very helpful (and funny as well),

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Our stay at the Hotel Berna was wonderful. The hotel staff was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, directions, loaning an umbrella, etc. and everyone speaks English. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in our month in Italy and the 'happy hour' appetizers in the bar were great. The room was very nice and had the most comfortable beds we had the entire trip---that's an important point since most of the beds were very hard in the other hotels. The location is great---two metro stops just a block away, as well as good restaurants. Try Limone (one of the hotel's recommendations). It was wonderful. We will definitely go back to Hotel Berna.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A very well-run, clean hotel which is located near the Central station as well as some excellent restaurants and the Metro. We would certainly recommend it to any traveler visiting Milan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,756 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,113 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
606 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing