We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but a bit dated to be a 4*”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The free drinks are also a plus! I thought it would be more interesting to stay by the Central train station but unfortunately it seems like a business district where not much goes on at nights and weekends. It's hard to find a restaurant on weekends that's open for dinner! Still it's convenient to be close to the metro so I'm not complaining too much.

The rooms are clean although there are mosquitoes. Also the decor could use a facelift - a different lighting scheme and updated bedspreads could do wonders for this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emileeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,614)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,681 - 3,687 of 6,614 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel was an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. The metro stop was near so it was also easy to travel around Milan. The decor of the hotel is a little tired but the rest of the facilities make up for it, wifi was brilliant, staff very friendly, breakfast was excellent. There was a pillow menu and a free non-alcoholic minibar.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed there this weekend and everything went just perfect. Very helpful and friendly staff (24h), nice room ( we stayed at the depandance, just across the street,which looks looks like a recently renewed building, very clean and comfortable). Touristic bus, tram, metro, trains and city buses just a block away. Breakfast was the best among some 10 hotels in different cities over Europe we ever had. Complimentary non-alcohoolic bar in room, which is a plus. And also the room size and bathroom ( mine was 653) are very nice when you come to european city hotels. Would stay here again, no doubts.

Room Tip: location, room size, clean, friendly
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serbergon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I chose this hotel mainly since it was so close to the train station in Milan ( ~10 minute walk). It's not in a particularly scenic area, but it was very convenient for a one night lay-over. The room was nice, and the breakfast in the morning was good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeeves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Hotel is located directly across the Milano Centrale Station and down the street. The staff was friendly, but the best was Ramy. He was patient, answered all of our questions, and gave great advice. Milan was the last stop of our Italy trip (Rome, Florence, Pisa, Venice). The breakfast had a HUGE selection. The only two things we didn't like was the bathroom was very small and the WiFi was not stable. If you are traveling to Milan, you can complete your trip of the central Milan in just 1 day. The Last Supper should not be missed and Leonardo Davinci Science Museum is great for kids. Be sure to get the 24 hour metro pass. It's hard to walk everywhere, using the metro was fast and easy. BEST restaurant (great food and great price) we went to in Italy was in Milan called Panne and Tulipani. Ask the front desk how to get there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank decon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is one of those situations where it's difficult to understand the super-high ratings. The Berna Swiss deserves better than average marks, to be sure, but be cautioned that the ratings may set too high of an expectation.

My experience was okay, but not great. The room rate was good and there were a number of “extras” that you normally don’t see. The hotel is actually two buildings: the main one and one directly across the street, which they call the “towers” rooms because they are supposed to be better. I would say that my colleagues’ rooms in the main building were actually better.

Most rooms include a buffet breakfast, a great value. This was a main reason I booked this hotel, since most hotel breakfasts are unaffordable. Unfortunately for me, there was some sort of mixup and my room did not include breakfast, which was very annoying considering my colleagues and I had booked the same rooms at the same time and they did have breakfast. Somehow I ended up across the street in the “better” rooms, but without breakfast. When I mentioned the mixup to the front desk staff, he made the assumption that I booked through hotel.com or priceline or something. Not sure who was at fault on this, but make sure you confirm the type of room you have because it may not include breakfast. I did have the buffet one morning, by the way, and it was mediocre.

The Good:

* Free wireless internet, which worked most of the time
* Complimentary coffee in the lobby
* Complimentary minibar (Coke, bottled water, some cookies)
* Clean room, no odor
* Great air conditioning
* Quiet. No hallway noise.
* 5 minute walk from Central Station
* Located in a nice area - Comfortable bed
* Computers in lobby
* In-room safe
* A bellman named Joan (pronounced John), who made up for the front desk guy

The Not Good:

* Tiny room, almost claustrophobic
* Very uncomfortable shower (see photo)
* Safety issues -- No peephole in door, no safety latch for door, and no fire escape that I saw.
* No clock in room
* No washcloths (I don’t care, but you might)
* No ironing board
* Lousy view
* Sullen front desk person, who neither smiled nor spoke unless necessary
* Complex procedure to get into room – there are a number of tasks you are required to complete in order to get in to the building (the one across the street). In fact, I can’t even remember them all as I write this.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Great hotel. Clean and nice. Helpful staff directed us to sites & restaurants that we requested.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#166 of 426 in Milan
6,293 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,848 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#80 of 426 in Milan
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
827 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £106 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing