We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed, thank you Trip advisor”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

What is nice in that hotel is the way your are welcome, and basically the contact with the people working there. The hotel itself is not exceptional, as such. But the breakfast was brilliant (and I can compare with hotels at 400€ a night in Austria or many others hotels in Italy or elsewhere in the world). Fresh fruits, cakes, various types of croissants and bread, etc. Free Wifi, proximity to the station, the fact that we could check in early, leave our bags late, were offered this or that along the way, basically loads of little attentions that made us like our stay in that hotel. To conclude, a restaurant we discovered before leaving was "la porta rossa" not far from the hotel. The hotel + the restaurant will constitute a nice basis for our next stay in Milano.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,615)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 6,615 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Berna for two nights with my wife. We spent two weeks in Italy. We flew into Milan and as I had read great things about this hotel I was looking forward to our stay. Well, I must say the staff at the hotel tried to meet every request. Even when they could not help me, they tried very hard to help. I give them very high marks for the first special request I made. We were flying into town and I knew were would be very tired. I realized that we might get to the hotel several hours before check in time. I sent the hotel an email to see if we might be able to get into our room early. They did not promise they would be able to do this, but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived that our room was ready. That made our first day so much easier. After two weeks in Italy I can truly say that the Hotel Berna is a special place. We stayed in some other nice hotels, but I do not think that any of them exceeded the service we got at the Hotel Berna. Great breakfast spread, clean comfortable rooms and a staff that tries to meet every request. If I get back to Milan any time soon I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpsaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked this hotel almost solely on the TA reviews and it didn't disappoint. We spend two nights here in early October 2011.

Rooms: A little on the small side, but nothing to complain about. The bed was very comfortable. Room had great dark curtains and was very quiet which made for 2 great nights of sleep. Bathroom was a bit dated with fixtures that seemed to be out of the early 1980s. Shower was very small and with long legs and arms, made for a bit of an adventure getting clean. The toilet was a little temperamental at times when it came to flushing. The room was very clean and well kept

Amenities: Excellent fast and free wi-fi. Free soft drinks and water in the mini-bar. A great selection at the included breakfast.

Location: About a 5 minute walk from Milan central train station. About a 5 minute walk would have you standing on the platforms for the yellow and green metro lines which would take you all over Milan. We didn't explore the neighbourhood around the hotel. For us, it was a great location just outside of the hustle of the tourist areas of Milan. The metro was super easy to navigate.

Staff: The front desk staff were very, very helpful. They helped make reservations and provided clear easy to follow directions. Everyone spoke great English. The servers at breakfast went out of their way to help my partner find gluten-free items to eat, going so far as to bringing her a few items that weren't even on the buffet. With the buffet breakfasts we were having on our trip, she was usually limited to fruit and coffee, but here they found gluten-free cookies, biscuits and wafers. That was a great touch! The maid on our floor was a lovely older woman who would say hi with a big smile each day. One morning, she was imploring me to put on a jacket (it was about 10C outside) - once I said I was from Canada she seemed less worried.

Value: Exceptional. Compared to the hotels in Switzerland, this was a great value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halifaxns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed two nights in this hotel on 5-6Nov. It was not a good timing as it was wet and cold there in Milan, but it is very easy to locate, just 3-5 minutes walk from the train station. Easy access to almost everywhere. Subway entrance is just 2 minutes walk. Staff are friendly and approachable. Breakfast is fantastic.
The only issue we encountered was the bathroom is very narrow, and the air-condition is off because of the cold weather so we have to sleep with the window open. Also the lift is an old type which can probably take 2-3 medium size persons.

Room Tip: lower floor is better, so you need to just walk up. The lift is small.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongtyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very near the train station and subway. It was a great stay. The service was great and it was the little things that they provided and made the stay so comfortable. Room was cosy and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great....good selection with ham, bacon, pastries, desserts, cereal, etc. Service was fast and good. They provided free wifi and also computers at the lobby for your use. They also provided candies at the front desk and at night, it was chocolates and apples. They provided water, tea and coffee available for you at the lounge. Later in the night and at dawn, some pastries were available. We were leaving very early in the morning to catch our train and missed breakfast and they provided a breakfast bag for us which contained an apple, fruit juice, a bottle of water, yogurt, and pastries.
However, the location (although near the train station) is a little quiet at night. There are not many restaurants near the area and it seems to be have many massage parlours But it still felt safe walking at night....so I don't think that is a major issue. Overall, great hotel and great service for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Simply fantastic! Hotel looks amazing and is located less than 5the min walk away from the central station. Very clean. Service was really fantastic as well (great included breakfast, free minibar, wireless access free and available everywhere, etc). And the most surprising was the value!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazzle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at Hotel Berna for 1 night and in many ways it was one of the best hotels during our 10 day trip. Super comfortable bed, free drinks & snacks in room fridge came in very handy. Were able to check-in 2 hours early. Wonderful breakfast - so much to choose from. Easy access to the train station & Metro. Room was small but workable - and very quiet facing the courtyard versus the street. But don't go to the little shop next to the 'new' section of Hotel Berna to eat. They charged 3 euros extra for cream in the coffee and their prices for coffee, tea and gelato were ridiculous.

Room Tip: Room on 6th floor in new building was very quiet. Choosing the extra comfy bedding made it like sle...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalatineILKathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#166 of 426 in Milan
6,295 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,849 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#81 of 426 in Milan
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
827 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £107 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing