We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Milan Hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Arrived by Taxi from Linate airport. There is a similarly named Hotel close by, so make sure you are in the correct place. Berna is in a lovely little area, close to the train station. A few nice places for food and drinks nearby. We ate at Mama Rosa's..it was my first meal in Italy, and it was fantastic.
My room was in the annex building across the street. Breakfast is held in the main hotel building, and was very good. Eggs, pastries, yogurt, toast,..even a juicer!
The room was clean, and on the smaller side, but just right for me. Bathroom clean, and a different shower than I have seen before, but it worked fine, so that is the main thing.
It was just right..quiet location, yet centrally located.
The concierge will call you a taxi.
The front desk staff were very helpful when I needed my passport photo faxed to the rental car place. (You need your passport to rent a car, and I had left mine in the safe at the hotel).
All in all a great stay for the rice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,221 - 3,227 of 6,613 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

we arrived to the hotel at midnight, from the trani station - right after a long flight and a bus ride.
despite the fact that we booked our room online several weeks in advance, and received numerous confirmation emails - the hotel was overbooked!
the receptionist was kind, but we had no room...
so they transferred to another nearby hotel for the same price.
when the other hotel heard the room price we expected to pay Berna, they actually gave us the deluxe room! you can find excellent hotels for much lower price in the same location.
terrible experience.

Room Tip: make sure you actually have a room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank guyronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Den079,

we are sincerely surprised to read your comments, as we are absolutely not used to overbook our hotel.

Unless this policy is commonly used by all major hotel chains and airline companies in order to maximise their occupancy, for the great respect we carry for all our guests - who trust us deciding to book and stay in our house - we would never apply an overbooking policy on purpose.

We are certainly aware that arriving in a hotel and not finding the reserved room is the worst way to start a relationship.

And if this situation should ever happen for an emergency or another situation totally out of our control (last year one of our guests was not able to check out on the planned departure date because of the hospitalization of the companion, causing us an overbooking ), we would certainly do all our best in order to contact and inform the guests before arrival , unless we know this could be quite difficult if we don’t have a mobile phone to reach them.

We don’t have on file any overbooking case in 2012 and I would kindly ask you therefore to contact me personally in order to receive more details.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The service of Hotel Berna is exceptionally very good as they make the guest feel very special. All staff , from the front desk personnel to the housekeeper, cleaning staff, food servers and cook, are very helpful, warm and efficient. Even the owner is always around to make sure that each guest is comfortable and happy. The free wifi in the room, the free drinks and delicious breakfast buffet add to the pleasant experience one has staying in the hotel
However, the rooms and bathroom , though very clean , functional and comfortable, are smaller compared to other hotels in the area and given its price point. For the same category of room, rates of the hotel are higher by at least around 30 percent compared to 3 other hotels in the area that we stayed in in the last 6 months. This price difference can be a huge savings if you are staying for a long period in Milan. For short trips,though, a stay in Hotel Berna is still worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evillaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

As a former airhostess I spent many many nights in hotels, but the Berna hotel is something special. The rooms are comfortable. The staff helped us very quick and efficiently with a little discomfort (smell in the bathroom) and made it up with a lovely little surprise when we returned to our room (we won't tell...). The hotel is ideally situated nearby the central station when you arrive by train or airport shuttle (they stop next to the station). You can walk in a few minutes to the hotel. There are lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood and you can walk easily to many nice places in Milan or take the subway which is also a 2 minute walk. The service is awsome, the breakfast is too good to be true and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We were very happy to stay at the Berna Hotel and would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old Berna, at the street side and no problem whatsoever with the traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at the Hotel Berna in January 2012. We found the hotel to be well located with just a short walk to a nearby metro station, giving easy access to all the sites of Milan.
This well-appointed hotel delivers to both tourists and business people, of whom we saw many at breakfast. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with good bathroom facilities. We had some difficulties with the television set, but these things happen in large hotels.
The breakfast was the best we had in on our Italian trip, featuring a full range from bacon and eggs right through to every healthy option you could think of.
Staff were welcoming, courteous and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Internet facilities, including computers in a room off the foyer, made our travel easier.
Juice, mineral water and coffee/tea was available in a very comfortable room off the foyer.
The parking attendants were very kind and efficient and had our car parked and retrieved right on time and quickly.
This is a very nice hotel, with touches of prestige in a nice neighbourhood in Milan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The staff at this hotel was very helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. Fast, efficient internet service. Great breakfast also.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was going to give Hotel Berna a very positive review, but then we had a credit card emergency and the help we received was so over and above what we expected that now I can't praise them highly enough. We discovered on the morning of our departure that we'd left our credit card at a restaurant the night before. We explained we had to use a different card and were planning to try to contact the restaurant ourselves with our limited Italian, but the very nice man at check out (so sorry I didn't note his name!) agreed to call for us--and did so as soon as the restaurant opened. I hope this isn't a concern for anyone else, but if you do have a problem, you'll be in good hands.

As for the hotel itself, we were so pleased with everything that my husband refused to believe we were paying as little as we did. He assumed we'd be charged extra for things like the reliable wifi and huge, delicious breakfast spread, but we weren't. (We were lucky to be there on Easter Sunday morning and see the special ceremony of the first child to arrive at breakfast getting to break open a huge chocolate egg.) We've stayed in enough European hotels to know to expect a compact-sized room and a shower my husband can barely fit under so these weren't problems. Everything was very pleasant, but the kindness of the staff tipped the scales over into a real treasure.

It's true the area near the Stazione Centrale isn't the loveliest neighborhood in Milan, but we weren't looking for lovely--we were looking to be able to roll our suitcases two blocks from the hotel to the station for an early morning train and that's exactly what we did. And the Milan Metro is close by and efficient so we were able to get to the lovely part quickly and easily.

A huge thank you to the kind man who helped us with our lost card! We highly recommend Hotel Berna and still can't believe how affordable it was.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 426 in Milan
6,283 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,846 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#80 of 426 in Milan
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
826 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £106 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing