We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service!”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location, great service!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just stayed in Hotel Berna at the end of April - beginning of May. I had made the room reservation on the hotel's website, which was informative and very easy to use. You can even choose your preferred pillows, blankets, minibar drinks, shower head.... It's also possible to make the check-in on the website before the arrival – great service!

The hotel is located just next to the Milan's central railway station, on a quiet Via Napo Torriani. If you arrive to Malpensa airport you can take the airport express bus to the railway station and walk about 500 metres to the hotel. The nearest metro station is also on the railway station so it's really easy and fast to move around Milan.

I stayed in a single room, on the second floor. Typical European sized room with a flat screen tv, minibar, a good sized bed, safety box and a view to the inner courtyard. The decoration was old style with heavy red curtains and a fitted carpet. The bathroom was missing a proper place to put your toiletry bag and other stuff, a couple of shelves would be a good idea.

The hotel has a central air conditioning which is a problem when you can't manage it yourself. The first couple of nights it was a bit too hot and then it was a bit too cold and noisy.

The breakfast was great with lots of food to choose from. The waitresses were really friendly and polite as well as the gentlemen of the reception.

Room Tip: Do the check-in on the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWithKristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,729
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,770
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

All the positive reviews are true ! This is a real gem in Milan. Not v expensive, great location near CentralFS Metro and by taxi to Brera district ( where we had 2 fab dinners) it is only 8 Euros each way and the people are so friendly and helpful and the rooms are nice ( good bedding) and the breakfast - again, I am not crazy about big breakfasts but after 12 days of croissant and cold hard boiled eggs in Sicily - this was great ! Thank you to all at Hotel Berna!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we couldn't be happier. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood where we were no afraid to walk at night. A few minutes walk from central train station which we had arrived at and close airport shuttles. About 20 minutes walk to central Milan that includes passing through a nice park. Staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was awesome. Room size aw reasonable with spacious bathroom. Beds were decent although they moved around too much since there were on rollers. I would stay here if I visit Milan again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank solotraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I had read the reviews of the breakfast when choosing my hotel and wasnt sure it would live up to expectations but it absolutely did. Everything you could possibily want and then a whole lot more too. Good location close to the station. I stayed in the new building on the opposite side of the road from reception in an executive room. Room was a good size and the booking system if you book directly with them where you can choose your pillows, the temperature you would like you room set to on arrival and what FREE drinks you want stocked in your mini bar for arrival is a pretty special touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gritbits99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I just completed a very short but memorable 3-day stay at the Hotel Berna in central Milano. I was initially concerned that the hotel is not within walking distance of Il Duomo but I realized after checking in that the hotel's location is in fact one of its greatest assets. The fact that one can walk to the hotel from the architecturally stunning (but very busy) Milano Centrale Station makes this hotel very ideal for travelers visiting the city for a short time. The area around the hotel is filled with many restaurants that will suit any budget, a fact that unfortunately may not be true for hotels very near the Duomo as restaurants there charge more for the same menu fare. For shopping, one can easily walk down to Corso Buenos Aires within 10 minutes. If one's budget allows for more luxurious shopping options, then the ultra chic Via Montenapoleone, Via Alessandro Manzoni, as well as the Corso Vittorio Emmanuele can easily be reached by the efficient Metro System which is a 5-minute walk from Hotel Berna. Lastly, The Duomo is only 4-stops away from the station near the hotel.

Upon arrival just before noon, we were allowed to enter our rooms even before the standard check-in time. This was of course appreciated since we could freshen up a bit before enjoying the city's many beautiful sights. The assorted beverages in the room's minibar, a very sumptuous buffet breakfast as well as wireless internet connectivity were all complimentary. In terms of room size, we booked 2 standard singles and felt immediately that it provided ample space for a solo traveler. But the highlight of our stay would have to be the warmth and hospitality which the hotel personnel generously showered to all its guests. From the hotel owner to the front-line staff, all provided a level of attentiveness that in my many years of traveling I seldom come across even when staying at high-end deluxe hotels that charge atrocious room rates.

Another trip to Milano might not be possible anytime soon for me but if given the golden opportunity to visit this beautiful city once more, Hotel Berna will again be my preferred address.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R_D_P_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

5 mins away from the central station, very convenient if you're making Milan your home base for sightseeing the surrounding areas (Genova, Cinque Terre, Verona, Florence, Venice, Torino, the lakes).
On arrival we had fresh fruit and free drinks (water, juice, cokes) in the minibar in our room. There's a small lounge when you get in the hotel where you can have tea or coffee and crackers any time of the day. The breakfast is great, a big continental buffet plus bacon and eggs, fruit, cereals, desserts... The hotel staff was very friendly. We had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is centraly located, near the train station. Our room was small but it had everything. Very confortable bed, clean and the breakfast is just amazing. The staff is very helpful.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,753 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#157 of 428 in Milan
6,101 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
599 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing