We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berna is good”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Berna is good”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The other reviewers cover the highlights of this hotel well.
When we booked we asked for a quiet room knowing that Italian hotels have paper thin walls. We were given a room on the ground floor. The room was medium sized, for Italy, with all the things we needed. The room shared a wall with one other room and it was also well away from the lift/elevator. Yes it was quiet what a relief...but of course there were no views to speak of and that was OK as we were out for most of the day. We walked into the city centre or caught a tram or metro train.

Room Tip: The ground floor is quiet if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,772
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

After reading so many positive reviews, our expectations of this hotel were very high. The location is good, very close to Milano Centrale train station in a quiet street, but a bit far out of the city center. The first disappointment came at arrival when our room was not ready at 15:00 although check in time was 14:00. Instead of apologizing, the person at the reception tried to convince us that check in time was actually at 15:00. Finally we were offered a drink and needed to wait until 15:45 for the room to be ready.

The website to check in before arrival and select room options is a nice idea, but in the end useless as the options we selected were not executed.

Overall the hotel was not bad, but way too expensive for what it is and more of a 3 star hotel.

Milano is a wonderful city with lots of great hotels, so we prefer to try another one next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Touristas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Touristas2,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We are saddened you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We realize that when expectations run too high, because of other comments, it becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our guests.

We sincerely apologize your room was not ready upon arrival (from May 1st check-in time 3.00 p.m.) and take full responsability for making you wait thirty minutes - while offering a free drink at our Bar - before the room was ready. Unfortunately the previous guests, who were supposed to leave at 11.00 a.m. (check-out time) simply decided to prolong their visit in Milan and totally forgot to ask the permission for a late check-out. As soon as they came back and packed their personal belongings, two of our ladies immediately rushed to prepare your room in the shortest possible time and forgot to add the extra pillows and towels requested through your personal page (by the way: if informed, the Reception would have immediately reacted).

It’s also fair to say that that during the time of your stay it were taking place in Milan many important exhibitions – for this reason all our competitors had a higher pricing level - and that we were more than glad to offer you a free upgrade into one of our Superior rooms (instead of the Comfort one booked).

We are glad you mentioned as a point of strenghts our convenient location. We are very near to the central station, Metro (4 stops only to city centre) and shuttle bus stops to and from all Milan airports, which makes us a perfect base for visiting Milan.

Hope you will give us a second chance to show you how important you are.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna.

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A great little hotel, perfectly positioned with great restaurants within walking distance. The service is impeccable - from the reception staff to the extremely knowledgable bar staff.
Breakfast is abundant and of high quality although breakfast room is a little cramped.
Rooms are fairly basic (particularly the bathroom) but the amenity packs were good and the rooms were well cleaned during my 2 night stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We just concluded out visit to Milan and could not wait to get home to write the review on this hotel. It is just a short walk from the Central Station in Milan and the subway entrance. The staff was friendly and attentive and spoke English well. As our flight landed at 8 in the morning, we were prepared to have to leave our luggage and come back to check in. However, our room was ready upon our arrival. It was an average size for European hotels but very clean. We had a "gift" in our room (pen and penlight) and a stocked minibar (water and soda). The front desk staff sold us our bus/subway passes and gave us a map and suggestions for lunch. When we went downstairs for the breakfast that was included we were shocked to see the bountiful display. They had the usual assorted meats, cheeses and breads, but also scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, fresh juices (including a juicer so you could squeeze your own fresh carrot juice - a new one for us!) They even had some chocolate pieces!! Well worth the money. We would not hesitate to book with them again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The best service of all in Italy....every staff member was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb, fresh fruit, numerous breads, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals. Rooms were a great size, spotlesslssly clean and a free minibar!!!!! Closes proximity to station. Free business services such as printing, faxes, and scanning. Expensive, but excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEMJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Good:
- free minibar in room with softdrinks (coke, san pellegrino, water), and free biscuits
- really close to centrale f.s. and shuttle bus to Malpensa airport
- friendly staff
- you can buy subway tickets at the reception desk
- free wifi (but did not work all the time for us)
- at the time of our booking price was reasonable, especially compared to other hotels in milan.

Could be better:
- 15 minute walk to central part of town (Duomo) or take the subway
- area around hotel full of 'massage salons' and some homeless people (but still felt safe walking around)
- room was quite small
- interior was nothing special, but all right.

Conclusion: this hotel was easy to travel from and to Malpensa Airport, but not the most interesting part of town. Hotel it self is all right, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humuhumu_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel has lots of good points and few bad ones.
I chose it for an end of holiday stay for several reasons. It is only 5mins walk from the central rail station and the airport express coach service. The hotel is modern, rooms clean and spacious for the class, nice bathroom, free wifi, aircon, quiet rooms ( if requested).
The staff were very much "on their toes" and efficient, friendly and helpful ( maybe a little too much so in the breakfast room in that items were whisked away too soon)
The breakfasts were good and comprehensive, of the buffet type with a choice that should satisfy most travellers. My only reservation was over the rather bustling nature of the room in that the tables were not laid out in an informal nature, and it was too small to prevent a degree of crowding of guest movements around the tables and so removing a relaxed atmosphere. This was not helped by the staff hurriedly clearing tables at the first opportunity.......obviously they didn't want to have guests waiting.
The local area was pleasant enough, within walking distance of good restaurants ( if you search them out) and the central area of Milan is walkable or easily reached from the nearby metro lines.
Overall I enjoyed our stay, would use it again as a convenient, good value hotel for a short visit to Milan

Room Tip: High is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,754 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#158 of 428 in Milan
6,105 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing