We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERIOR BUFFET BREAKFAST AT THE 4 STAR HOTEL BERNA”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR BUFFET BREAKFAST AT THE 4 STAR HOTEL BERNA”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

SUPERIOR BUFFET BREAKFAST AT THE 4 STAR HOTEL BERNA

We stayed at the 4 star Hotel Berna, Via Napo Torriani 18, Milan for 11 nights. 2 minute walk to Centrale FS Metro Station and 4 minute walk to Stazione Centrale if you get the red light. Complimentary non-alcoholic mini bar in your room. Guest Lounge has complimentary coffee, cookies, chocolates, apples, fruit juices and mineral water. There are 4 complimentary computers for guest use, all the staff spoke very good English and were always very informative. The kitchen staff graciously prepared, a very fine breakfast for us, to take on an early train trip.

MY TOP 10 BEST OF MILAN, LARGO di COMO & LARGO di MAGGIORE, ITALY.

#1 – Largo di Maggiore - Isola Bella (Beautiful Island) a sumptuous palace, bound by formal gardens that terrace down to the lake. Fountains and sculptures make the garden even more alluring with white peacocks. Isola dei Pescatori (Fisherman’sIsland) is an enchanting island with twisting, narrow, alley like streets and colorful fisherman’s cottages.

#2 – “The Last Supper” (1495-7), at Cenacolo Vinciano in Milan, was a miracle. This room should be a Meditation Room. Our guide spoke very poor English, the accoustics was very poor, 3 women sat at the door chatting, it was very distracting. We barely viewed “The Crucifixion” on the opposite wall during the 15 minutes, the voice came over to leave. It would be advisable to play an English tape, in the 1st or 2nd waiting chamber. There is another version of “The Last Supper” by Berdanino Lanino at Basilica Dei Santi Apostoli e Nazzaro Maggiore.

#3 – Duomo – Milan. The elevator ride to the top is worth the trip, to be one with the 135 spires and the 3,500 statues. The 14 ft Maddonnia on the highest spire, religiously overlooks the city of Milan.

#4 – Cimiitero Monutale, Milan, is a Garden Cemetery (1866) of Art Nouveau & Italian Artists. The expresssions and positions of all the sculptures are a delight to watch. An Artist's delightful paradise.

#5 - Castello Sforzesco - Milan. This castle houses several Art Galleries, including the Trivulzio Tapestries of the 12 months of the year by Bramantino.

#6 – Parco Sempione, Milan. A 116 acre English Garden and Arco Della Pace – The Arch of Peace, on the top is a huge bronze chariot of peace & the 4 victories of Napolean, overlooking the most beautiful and elegant wide boulevard of Corso Sempione.

#7 – Villa Belgio Bonaparte / Museo dell Ottocento, Milan. A Villa (1790) with a monumental staircase & chandeliers, an Art Gallery and a glorious English-style Garden.

#8 – Teatro Alla Scala & Museo Teatrale Alla Scala, Milan. Seats 2,015, has a massive stage, with the world's best accoustics. Was able to watch an afternoon rehearsal from atop in the dark.

#9 – Pinacoteca Di Brera, a 30 room Art Gallery & The Orto Botanico, Milan. A Gardener’s joyous paradise, behind with herbs, vegetables and ginko biloba trees.

#10 – San Lorenzo Maggiore, Milan. The octagonal 4th century basilica and the Capella di Sant’Aguilino.

We were very fortunate, to be in Milan for "Milano Cortili Aperti", Heritage Day of Historic Houses open to the public free, with live concerts.


What dumbfounds me, most about Milan, is the extensive graffiti on the Streets, Trams & Metro, also the over-priced and out-of hand shops, without customers, without lines & without crowds, they need a reality check.

What delights me, most about Milan, is the street signs, named after the Famous Residents, their Professions and the year that they lived and died, also the Milanese women wearing 4-5 inch heels, and riding their bicycles.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INDRABOSTONMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,772
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very well equipped room, slippers, gowns, the lot. Quiet despite our room near lift. Breakfast buffet gargantuan. Free wifi in room. Pity we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We got a very warm welcome and the whole Hotel Crew was always friendly and helpful. The room we slept in was clean and of a good size. The beds comfortable. At the breakfast it had a big choice of good things to eat. The place of the hotel is in my opinion very good. In 5 minutes you reach the hotel from the railway station. Also the metro station you can reach in 5 minutes. There you have a metro line with wich in 7 minutes you are at the dome / in the center of Milano. I would rebook a room at this hotel and recommend it to other guests, which like to have a pleasent stay at Milano.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel is across the street from the main strain station. There is a metro station around the corner from hotel. Lots of restaurants nearby. The staff is very friendly and eager to help. Housekeeping is great. Very clean rooms. Huge bathrooms compared to most European hotels. Their breakfast buffet was excellent and more like a brunch than breakfast with all sorts of dishes. Probably the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel. Free wifi was an added bonus. I definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eosinophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were delighted with the quality of service at this hotel which is five minutes from Centrale Station. Everything was clean, well organised and based on the needs of the guests. There were some nice touches e.g the free availability of coffee and snacks, the easy access to computers and the packet of biscuits awaiting guests upon arrival! All very good-we can recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriss2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a three week holiday in Italy. It was by far the best 4 star hotel we stayed in. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful presenting us with maps, tourist information and a list of services in the hotel. The room and bathroom were spacious (for an Italian hotel) and had tea and coffee making facilities which we appreciated having not had a HOT cup of tea or coffee in 3 weeks. The in-room minibar had free softdrinks which were replenished daily. We also appreciated the free WIFI. There was an enormous variety of hot and cold, sweek and savoury dishes at the buffet breakfast. It is well located about 200m from Central Station with easy access to the metro to go to the main tourist spots. There are numerous restaurants close by and a small grocery store across the road..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in the Berna for 3 nights and have to say that this is the best hotel for customer service I have ever been in. Without exception, the staff are courteous, knowledgeable and very attentive to the needs of their guests. Special mention to Max in the bar who sorted us out for a very nice restaurant to eat on our first night and also plotted our metro route to the San Siro for our 2nd. Very decently located for the station and the excellent metro/train facilities of Milan-you can even buy your metro tickets at the hotel reception. Breakfast first rate, as has already been stated. Free WIFI coverage and also an easy- to- use safe in the room which cannot be said for a lot of other hotels. Good restaurants and bars in close proximity.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyHorseOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,754 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#158 of 428 in Milan
6,105 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing