We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Remarkable Disconnect..”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Firstly, the positives:

Hotel is located near Milano Centrale, which provides easy access to both Malpensa airport + the rest of the city via Metro.

Nice touches like complementary beverages & biscuits.

Breakfast spread is slightly above average.

I will not comment on the rooms as the configuration can differ vastly & depending on whether you are staying in the newer wing or main building.

Now the Negatives:

Some reception staff can be curt & not very personable. Not everyone is suited to be in the service industry and the owners & management should take note if they value guest feedback on how the guest experience can be improved.

I had a courier package rejected by Hotel Berna twice. One involved the fact that there was no individual addressee (just the hotel's name mentioned), which I can understand.

The 2nd round of attempted delivery was rejected, even though the package was now properly tagged under my name, despite my very close follow-up via e-mail. (I had checked-out of the hotel by then).
The rationale given was that they were concerned that they would be stuck with the package as they could not re-direct it to my home address given that they did not have an account with the courier company.

Fair point - but no alternative forwarding suggestions were proposed then. A take it or leave it attitude prevailed.

A key reason why items are sent by courier is that the need is of an urgent nature & the news that the 2nd delivery attempt was outright rejected by the hotel and returned to the sender, thereby incurring more needless time delay was exasperating & added to the stress of the whole situation.

As genuine feedback, which I hope is taken in the right spirit, I would suggest that Hotel Berna, rather than look to to 'do things right', seek instead, to have more guest empathy & 'do the right thing' instead.

Based on tripadvisor reviews, I thought I had chanced upon the perfect Milan hotel, but after my experience, whatever goodwill from rubber duckys & complimentary beverages has since evaporated & that search continues..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear misha71,

We welcome all customers feedbacks, positive or negative, as we really feel we can learn and hopefully improve upon the quality of our services.

I’m so sorry to read that your good memories of staying with us have been affected by the courier package issue and apologize.

I read the numerous emails correspondence between us and I can honestly say that we tried all our best to provide you with a very timely and accurate information, so that the delivery could have been handled without any hassle from both parties.

As the parcel was still in the hands of your previous hotel in Venice and you had already checked-out, the shipping company suggested us to inform you that the best way was to immediately ask them to change the original address and deliver it directly at your home address. We still don’t know the reason why the hotel preferred to send anyway the parcel to us, because it was simpler...

When the parcel arrived at our hotel, we asked the shipping company – as per instructions - to send it immediately to your address and charge your credit card accordingly, but we were told that this was not possible. They are nor infact allowed to charge a credit card unless the holder has an open account with them and gives a written authorisation.

Also the solution to charge the shipping cost to us and then debit your credit card was not possible for two reasons: first, we didn’t have an open account with that specific shipping company, second – as per credit card networks regulations – we are not authorised to charge a credit card unless the guest is in house and signs the receipt (exceptions are accepted only in case of no shows or prepayments related to special offers).

In cases like yours, we have always been told that the fastest and most secure way is to ask the guest to contact them directly and give all necessary instructions and information (type of content and value insurance, shipping timing, etc.).

I’m absolutely saddened that you felt our attitude to be not suitable to the circumstance and flexible enough: we know we are not perfect and there’s always space for improvements.

Your feedback is important to us.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,060 - 3,066 of 6,613 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Hotel Berna is a very nice Hotel near the train station. I originally chose it because I thought we would arrive to Milan by Train. However we ended up renting a car. We visited the city center - the Cathedral and the Galleria by taking the subway only 4 stops and only a few Euros.

The Hotel is extremely well run and efficient and caters to a business clientele I would say as much or more than tourists. Wifi available along with multiple PC's with printers in lobby and newspapers in many languages.

The room was very modern and sharp. The fridge was stocked with soda and water and was complementary. There were biscuits and cookies also complementary in the room.

The staff was extremely helpful and professional.I would certainly stay there again if in Milan and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Rick

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel our last night in Italy. We wanted to be within walking distance of the train station so we could take the Malpensa Shuttle the next morning. We had a group of 10 and the hotel was great to work with. I would recommend booking directly with the hotel via their web site. They will email you a few days prior to your arrival asking you how you would like your room prepared, ie temperature of room, extra pillows?, type of beverages inside your mini fridge,etc. their happy hour buffet is unbelievable, as is the breakfast. If you check out before breakfast, no worries, they'll pack you a breakfast to go bag!
The rooms are great. Nice size bathrooms. Free wifi and free use of public computers (printer as well) in lobby.
This hotel is a road warrior's dream.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank camps258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Hotel Berna was located near the Milan Central station and that was why we booked it. The Hotel service staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, from the reception to the Bar to the breakfast room. Breakfast was splendid with wide array of choices, including DIY fresh juices. Rooms were clean and the biscuits added a nice touch. A very good deal if you are looking for a hotel near the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLARETAN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Location of Berna hotel is very good, Wi-Fi is very fast, room is very clean and calm, price is very reasonable, service is excellent... anything else?

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verdizelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

From the moment we arrived we were met with friendly, efficient staff. the porter John even carried ALL our luggage to our room!
We were exhausted and so we ordered room service, the food was yummy, hot and arrived quickly just what you want when you're tired. PLUS super quiet rooms.
Breakfast............a big wow!! ANYTHING, and I mean anything one would want for breakfast was served here at the buffet. From hot food to pastries, cereals, yoghurt, donuts, the lot! Great hot coffee and again the same super friendly staff, boy what a difference great service makes!
I would highly recommend this place and we would definately stay there again, do yourself a favor and book this................Brilliant.

Room Tip: we were upgraded and were in their hotel across the road but I don't honestly think there would...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed for two nights. Hotel is in a great location. Close to central station and the metro. Staff are all friendly and extremely helpful. We arrived and found we had a double upgrade! A real treat for us. Room was modern, clean and spacious. Free mini bar which was a nice touch. Breakfast was amazing! Loads of choice. All in all a fantastic hotel and grear value for money. We will definately be returninf. Recommend to all! Not a bad word to say about it!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 426 in Milan
6,281 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,846 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#81 of 426 in Milan
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 426 in Milan
826 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £105 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing