We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #9 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

After having flown for 21 hours from Australia, the hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious. Hotel is well situated and not a long walk from where we alighted from the airport bus near the central station. What stands out about this hotel is the great array of breakfast foods - beautifully presented. The dining room staff were very friendly and accommodating also.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LitsaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,038 - 3,044 of 6,864 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Used this hotel for a short week-end stop in Milan after a two week stay in Lake Garda. Everything about our short stay was perfect and made memorable by the hospitality of the staff during that stay.

Booked a family room ( 2 adults and 1 teenager ) and the room we were given was really comfortable & clean. Many small touches like free mini-bar and some free snacks made it feel really nice. And the staff were just so helpful at every point of the stay from taking the car from directly outside and parking it through to many unsolicited offers of assistance with any information or help with choosing a restaurant to sightseeing tips. It really made a huge, positive, impression on us in that short 2 day stay at this hotel.

I've got to say the location is great - short walk to Central Station which means full access to just about anywhere in Milan is fast and relatively easy. And if you fancy walking to the centre of Milan it's only a 2km walk ( under 30 minutes ) taking in the Public Gardens park which was really pleasant when we walked through it.

I've got to mention 2 elements that come to mind when I recall our visit here. Firstly the complimentary food in the bar at the front of the hotel each afternoon/evening - it was so beautifully presented and quality was superb. And secondly the selection of foods available for breakfast was also of a very high standard.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Milan and I will certainly consider for both business and/or personal trips in the future. I certainly hope to return and savour more of Milan - the short weekend provided a taster for what a great city Milan is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milan
1
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Excellent accommodation with air conditioning in the room .Friendly ,helpful staff, Hotel conveniently situated with central station and metro very closeby. 10 minuits by metro to main tourist attractions and the Duomo.

Breakfast NOT included however a bottle of water and non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar and biscuits are suppkied

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

For our 3-week trip in Italy, we flew into Milan and stayed the night at Hotel Berna (about 10-15 minute taxi ride from the Linate airport; 18 euros fare). This hotel has a fantastic location (about 5 minutes walking distance from the train station). We had a very early morning train ride to Rome so this hotel was perfect for us. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly, and the relatively cheap by Milan standards (free Wi-Fi and breakfast). If you are looking for comfort and convenience, this is the hotel for you. By the way, it is close to the metro station (3-4 stops will get you to the Duomo). May be the only minor complaint we had was the bed is a little firm - perhaps due to our stiff bodies from flying all day from the States.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWino76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I’m not sure if this is THE business destination for everyone but Hotel Berna is a genuinely nice property. It has elements of both a business hotel as well as a more intimate boutique property. It is not a 5 star palace but it offers exceptional service with a lean toward supporting the business traveler. Certainly a nice touch is the pre-check-in portal that is available to allow you to select most verything from pillow style to room temperature. The hotel is conveniently located less than a five minute walk from Milano Centrale with easy access to Milano’s Metro network. Management and staff are very helpful and customer focused. The staff is also very knowledgeable, well rounded and helpful with respect to local restaurants, tourist destination reservations, as well as scheduling business meetings etc. The property itself has some wonderfully charming older but totally functional and well-maintained Euro infrastructure from plumbing to hardware. It’s exceptionally, clean. Hotel Berna provides a terrific wifi connection as well as an outstanding breakfast buffet to start your day. I’m not exactly sure why this place makes me smile but it does. This is a well-priced property a little larger than a boutique hotel but still delivers an intimate, efficient and charming experience. Great property for both business and personal holiday.

Room Tip: Don't eat at the restaurants across the street. The staff can provide much better recomendation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oberjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel has a number of things in its favor. It is a short walk from the central train station and from the Metro, which my wife and I used several times during our stay. The room was very quiet. The staff tries very hard to please. We stayed there on a weekend, so we got a good rate at a property which seems to be a business-oriented hotel. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the best of our trip. There were a few problems, which prevent me from giving it a rating of 5. The room was relatively small compared with the other hotels in which we stayed while in Italy. The key was the old-fashioned mechanical type, unlike the electronic cards at most other hotels of this caliber. Finally, there was an odor in our room which got progressively worse during our stay. I brought this up during checkout, and the staff quickly looked into the problem and determined that the sewer vent from that room had gotten plugged. This was probably a fluke issue, but nonetheless it along with the other factors cause me to rate this a 4 and not a 5.

Room Tip: Immediately upon entering the room, check if there is even a hint of an odor. If there is, then req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Tripadvisor reviews score again with the Berna. So close to the Central Station even pulling two 23KG bags and a great place to base yourself for the Milan experience. In front of the Station the hop on off bus service and also the underground is there too. If traveling to other destinations by train you are there too. But it is not all about location a good sized very clean room sure dated but great value for money.Drinks supplied in the fridge and the complete breakfast and great service level there as well.The front desk is very helpful and always on hand to help.The use of a computer is free in the lobby a big advantage too. The Berna is a great value hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 431 in Milan
2,799 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#6 of 431 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £102 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing