We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Berna. We loved the attention to detail right down to the choice of pillows and room temperature. Unfortuntely we had to leave very early the next morning and did not get to experience the buffet breakfast. We were however provided with a breakfast pack to take with us which seemed to have been missing some items but we appreciated the gesture. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Berna on our next visit to Milan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,206
    1,707
    279
    76
    38
See reviews for
1,070
2,708
696
800
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Milan was our last stop in Italy. We planned our trip around a La Scala ballet performance and tickets to the Last Supper. Hotel Berna was a delight. Our room was in the 4-star tower across the street from the main hotel entrance, the upgrade I would recommend. Everyone at the front desk bent over backwards to help us. We purchased the "Love Bird" package, where they decorated our room with chocolates and provided us with a bottle of champagne. How neat! Our room was modern and clean with the most comfortable bed, towels and pillows of our trip. It also came with luxurious terry cloth robes, and bath slippers. The management emailed us with many choices to make prior to our arrival, and the housekeeping staff was terrific.Breakfast buffet was the best we had in all of Italy and came with a huge selection of eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, fruits, hot and cold drinks, even fat-free milk and chocolate almond wedges which guests wrapped in napkins and surreptitiously (they thought) pocketed to take with them. Oops. We did that too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37774ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We chose Hotel Berna originally (about two years ago) because of it's location close to the railway station - our first stay was just an overnight between a flight and heading on by train. Even thought we were only "one-nighters" we were welcomed warmly, and felt at home from the first minute.
The staff is extremely kind and flexible, the service is excellent and the hotel has a personality you don't find in the chain-steered "look similar all over the wolrd" -hotels. I also appreciate how they build up your expectations by sending you a welcome-mail before arrival amd how they contact you after your stay just to ensure that you direct your possible complaints directly to the hotel.
After the first stay we have returned to Berna - it's a must when in Milan! It's mayby not the best hotel locationwise if your only purpose is to view sights, do some shopping and avoid using public transportation. But if you want to stay in a hotel where you really feel at home, then I warmly rewcommend Berna.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorkfroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is ideally situated only about 5 minutes' walk from the Central Train Station. The reception staff are friendly, efficient and informative. The room was spacious except for the bathroom. The breakfast was possibly the best we have encountered in our travels throughout Europe. There are ample taxis to the centre of Milan that cost less than €10. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We would, however, request different pillows if we stayed for more than one night.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was a great find. It was a five minute walk from the central station and the subway was at the end of the street. Ten minutes on the metro to the Duomo and central Milan. Fantastic breakfast. They even emailed us to ask what type of pillow and blanket we wanted and what we wanted in the free mini bar. The owner was constantly on site watching over things. Eat at Momma Rosa's at the end of the street. We stayed three nights and got a great rate on their website.

Room Tip: They are renovating part of this hotel. Some rooms are across thecstreet so if you want good wifi as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newplacestofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I chose to stay at Hotel Berma based on TA reviews as well as it's proximity to the train station. We arrived by train from Venice and had a short 5 minute walk to the hotel from the station. The staff were very welcoming and greeted us by name throughout our short stay. I was able to choose the temperature of the room, type of pillows, and complimentary drinks for our in room fridge and was very appreciative of these details since it was over 90F during our stay in Italy. The hotel offers an exceptional breakfast as well as free tapas in the lounge in the evening. Our room was comfortable and clean, nothing fancy but that wasn't what we were interested in. Overall Hotel Berma is an excellant value and although it is a bit outside the city center, you are steps away from the metro which will get you to the Duomo very quickly. Would definitely stay here when returning to Milan in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa_L99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

however, not so good for the central attractions of Milan (c25 min walk to Duomo, etc). The hotel itself has some good qualities - helpful staff, clean rooms and a rubber duck! It is slightly dated though and the rooms are a little small, with thin walls that enable you to hear a lot of what goes out around you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexjharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#154 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing