We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice family run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is very convenient to Statione Centrale, a key transport hub for rail, metro, bus and both airports. It is also 4 stops by tube to the main tourist area of the Duomo, Castello Sforza etc and all business areas.
The hotel is in a quiet street and near to lots of good restaurants.
The rooms are very good, reasonable space for an inner city location good bathrooms and, unusually, complimentary water & soft drinks in the mini bar and biscuits each day... nice touch!
Breakfasts were great - hot & cold food and wide choice too... the best we've had in Italy.
The staff were very helpful and polite. Good to see the owner talking to guests about their satisfaction at breakfast each day.
Prices are very competeive for downtown Milan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antipodesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,919
    1,631
    273
    72
    37
See reviews for
1,007
2,559
636
751
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

A wonderful boutique-like hotel located close to the train station. A fabulous value for the money. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed a terrific buffet breakfast which is included and had a large selection to choose from. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parnold1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
367 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here four nights and were very impressed with the hotel, its staff, its convenient location and its comfort. The hotel is close to one of the main railway stations and there is an underpass (closed at night) which you can use from the metro / station to get close to the hotel. Whilst the area around the hotel feels a little seedy, we never felt unsafe because it is quite busy. We were checked in quickly (and later checked out quickly) and every member of staff we met always greeted us and seemed to be pleased that we were staying there. The quality of the hotel breakfast is well known and I can safely say that I have never seen such a spread anywhere at any other hotel I have stayed at. Whilst the breakfast area gets very crowded and busy, the staff worked very hard to keep it flowing and to ensure that everyone got seated immediately. When one guest was overheard by a member of staff to say “I have a headache”, he immediately offered to get her something for it – astonishing! Wifi worked fast and the computers / printers in the lobby were good. There are plenty of cheap places to eat at in the area around the hotel. We can find no fault with the Berna, we did not feel we were staying in a routine hotel; it was more like be paying guests with friends. We hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just stayed a single night here. I was a little dubious about the reviews here - were they real or some scam? - but decided that for one night travelling solo it could not be too bad.

It's fabulous. Really. I have no idea how anyone could review it badly: by *far* the best place I have stayed in Europe. The word that comes to mind is 'gem': it's perfectly maintained and luxurious. The room was tiny - gee, surprise - but immaculate; the staff helpful and polished; and the breakfast buffet (with on-tap, perfect hot chocolate) genuinely awesome.

Would it be nicer to be closer to the city centre? Sure. But it's a 10-min metro or 20-min pleasant walk; hardly an issue. And the feeling of relief that hit me every time I walked in the door was how I imagine a hobbit must feel on returning home: welcoming, velvet, pampering. You'll not be disappointed.

[Caveat: no pool, no fitness centre. Sorry :)]

Room Tip: Rooms are sound-proof. I was next to elevator and never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent only 1 night at the Hotel Berna but the service was outstanding and would highly recommend the hotel to any staying in Milan. They treated all of us, especially our 6 year old daughter, wonderfully (like we were long term guests rather than the one-night passing through guests we actually were). Very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
256 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were welcomed by very friendly, helpful staff, who gave us map without asking. All staff members that we ran into had a friendly “hello”. Our room was quite and comfortable. The hotel had complementary hot drinks and snacks.

It is very close to the train station is ideally situated for public transport connections. There are numerous restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Berna for two nights in September and were very pleased with our choice. As promised, it was a short walk from the Central Railway Station - but not too close. We found the staff friendly and very helpful. Our room was pleasant and comfortable with a modern bathroom. The buffet breakfast was something to behold - there was an amazing choice of different foods catering to all tastes. A wonderful introduction to Italy! We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing